My First Giveaway!

How is everyone doing on this beautiful frigid night? I’m staying warm inside my house, when I really should be getting a manicure/pedicure . I hate the cold so my hands and feet will have to suffer another day. Priorities people.

Well, we FINALLY got some snow on the ground :) Guess my inside out jammie trick still works :)

It’s not much but it gave me a little delay for work this morning and time to make a yummy breakfast!

Oatmeal with 1/2 of a melted banana, 2 strawberries, tiny bit of blueberry granola, a drizzle of better n butter peanut butter and this little fudgie brownie I made this morning. The entire brownie that I made wasn’t even 100 calories and I only had a spoonful so it was probably 15 calories for those of you who are shocked I would eat a brownie for breakfast :) I was happy I went back to my roots and made Oatmeal this morning. I missed it and I will never let it stray from my breakfast routine for a week ever again!

How pretty are those strawberries? It’s not even strawberry season and these were the best batch I’ve ever purchased.

Whole Foods, you never let me down. Even if these were $5. Does anyone have a good recipe where I would be able to use the remainder of these fresh strawberries? I don’t want them to go unnoticed in a smoothie, they need to be the star!

When I finally arrived at work the girls and I headed straight to Kids Cooking Club at Whole Foods. They absolutely love this class (as do i) and today we they made Apple/Banana Frosties. After they finish the cooking portion of the class they get a tour around the entire store. Each section gives them a special “treat” for their goodie bag. Todays treats included: babybel cheese, a clementine, a bone shaped cookie cutter, dinosaur stickers, magic pop, kids superfood chocolate milk mix, 2 chocolate chip cookies, a slice of pizza and a mango smoothie.

That’s a lot of food for a 2 and 4-year-old! The class is only $5 too… (as much as my strawberries!?) What a bargain.

Lunch was egg salad (from Whole Foods) on a sandwich thin topped with spinach and a side of grapes.

Love, love, LOVE egg salad.

The girls and I also made this after nap time…

Wellllll, that’s what it started out as. I’ll have to show you our finished result tomorrow.

I headed to the gym for Kickboxing! I used to take this twice a week but the teacher always forgets what he’s doing so I get turned off rather quickly. 30 minutes of cardio kickboxing, 15 of technique and 15 of abs. I got a good sweat in! I haven’t ran yet this week and I think my boring playlist is the reason why… If anyone has a running playlist or a recent song they’ve downloaded that pumps you up feel free to let me know :)

I came home and was STARVED so I walked in the door, dropped my bags and immediately started making dinner. Tonight we enjoyed Turkey Burgers with black bean and corn salsa, cauliflower “risotto” and a couple of slices of avocado.

It may be my favorite meal of the week so far. The cauliflower “risotto” really tastes like a creamy risotto when it’s really just vegetables. Sometimes I have to trick myself :) This risotto is also dairy-free and grain-free for my lactose and gluten intolerant friends.

Cauliflower “Risotto” with Fresh Basil (Grain-Free AND Dairy-Free)

This recipe is Vegan, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Soy-Free, and Sugar-Free.

  • 3 Tablespoons Pine Nuts (about 1 ounce)
  • 1-1/2 Tablespoons Nutritional Yeast
  • ½ Teaspoon Salt, or to taste
  • 1-1/2 to 2 Tablespoons Grapeseed, Olive, or Coconut Oil
  • ½ Cup Minced or Diced Onion
  • 3 Cups Grated Cauliflower (about ½ medium to large head – if you have a food processor, you are golden; I grated by hand)
  • 1 Garlic Clove, minced
  • ¼ Cup Broth (chicken or vegetarian)
  • Chiffonade 6 to 10 Fresh Basil Leaves
  • Fresh Ground Pepper, to taste (optional)

Combine the nuts, nutritional yeast, and salt in your spice grinder, and give it a few pulses. The nuts should grind up, and begin to clump. It is best if it stays a bit powdery and doesn’t turn into a paste, but if it does, no loss. Set aside while you cook the cauliflower.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and sauté for about 3 minutes. Add the grated cauliflower and continue to sauté / stir-fry for about 4 minutes. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute more. Add the broth, reduce the heat to medium-low, stir, cover and allow it to sit for 2 to 3 minutes. This cooks it to the perfect “al dente” consistency for us, but feel free to cook it to your desired tenderness.

Remove the lid, turn off the heat, and stir in the reserved nut mixture. It may clump a bit, but continuing to stir it in the hot pan will help it to distribute and become creamy. Stir in the basil and fresh ground pepper to taste, if using. Serve.

Yields about 2 side servings

I don’t like cauliflower raw, or steamed for that matter but I apparently love it grated and sautéed. This is going in the “make again very very soon” file.

Can you guess what dessert was? I’m surprised that there are even any left to be honest. If you guessed Vegan chocolate chips with better n butter Peanut Butter you are correct.

That’s normal right? Sometimes I “accidentally” spill the chocolate chips into the peanut butter and have to spoon them out. It is what it is.

OK – now for my giveaway! So this isn’t anything very exciting (as in food related) and it is a teeny tiny bit used…but it’s free. Everyone likes free things, right? Remember when I showed you the dress I bought for New Years? I only wore it for a couple of hours and I know I will never wear it again (because I’m crazy and think event dresses should only be worn once) so I thought maybe one of you could put it to good use!

It’s a size 2 BB Dakota Lace Tank Dress that retails for $110. All you have to do is come and clean my kitchen.

Kidddding

To win the dress you must do one of the following and then comment letting me know you have done this.

1. Link my blog to your next post

2. Tell me what you would like to see more of on the blog

or

3. Let me know your favorite current fashion trend, your favorite way to burn calories and your favorite breakfast recipe.

I will pick a winner Saturday at 4pm. Random…I know. Good Luck :)

Ok now who really wants to come clean my kitchen??

 

Questions: Do you have a good recipe where Strawberry is the star of the dish? Any good running songs or entire playlist that pump you up I could download? Have you ever made a risotto out of anything besides rice?

 

Have a great night! xo

21 Responses to “My First Giveaway!”

  1. um can i come to the next kids class with you? that sounds great! ha!

  2. Wow, those strawberries do look really good. We have some in our fridge right now, and they don’t look nearly as delicious as those. I never eat cauliflower mostly because of how it looks, but I always see such great recipes with it in it. Hm…maybe I should get over my fear of it.

    I’d like to see any of your treadmill workouts on the blog. I love getting new ideas. Or if you could post your playlists! :)

  3. I got some strawberries the other day and they were the best I have had in a long time!!

    I go running song?? I play “Ocean Avenue” by Yellowcard when I am getting really tired. It has an insanely good beat and in the music video – the guy is running the entire time! “Believe” by Yellowcard is also a really good one!

  4. Those strawberries look so fresh-yum!!!!! I love bb dakota:)

  5. Mmm your risotto looks delicious… but I think you got me with the pb-chocolate spoon. Now I’m craving chocolate and it’s only 7am!

  6. love, love, LOVE Whole Foods! I just wish there was one closer to where I live. :/ When i was in New Orleans for New Years there was a Whole Foods literally right next to our hotel and it was HEAVEN. I think I went at LEAST once a day. :)

  7. Using cauliflower to make risotto is a great idea!

  8. I would love to win that dress–although I don’t know if it would fit?! But I would be willing to try! :)

    Here a few new playlists: http://www.the-new-healthy.com/2011/01/dance-like-no-ones-watching.html (Christina’s beautiful people is one I just can’t get enough of)!

    My favorite way to burn calories is Zumba! I’ve only done it once but it was so much fun! :)

  9. Oooh I love the dress! I’ll play along! :)

    I really love how lace is back in right now. I mean, lace doesn’t really ever go ‘out’ I guess, but it seems like it’s really popular right now and I love it! :)

    My all time favorite way to burn calories is by dancing like a maniac with my itunes turned all the way up. My dog thinks I’m crazy…

    Favorite breakfast recipe… hmm… probably cinnamon rolls. They are tasty!

  10. That is so nice of you to offer that dress!! If I fit into a size 2 I would definitely want it, but ya know, not a size two! lol Your recipe looks fabulous. If I wasnt sick and unable to taste things right now I would totally make it!

  11. Talk about FRESH, those strawberries look so delicious, I need to look into vegan chocolate chips as well. What brand do you buy?

  12. I saw strawberries the other day @ the grocery store & I was SO excited because they were actually priced really well- only $2.99!! Only one thing came to mind- strawberries & all of the other spring/ summer fruits MUST be coming soon :D Can’t wait!
    That class for kids @ Whole Foods looks like fun!!

  13. Favorite current fashion trend: Sparkled out nails is my favorite fashion trend right now, I love how nail polish colors by Opi are now pure sparkle! :).. A blogger I have been following (not literally, I ain’t no stalker LOL) has this great image of her glitter nails, check it out:

    http://www.apolishproblem.com/2010/11/opi-burlesque-glitters.html

    My favorite way to burn calories… late night nookie… Just KIDDING ;)… but seriously my favorite way to burn calories is to play basketball, I never think of this as being a workout it’s simply fun for me to play and I think that’s why it’s my favorite physical activity (after late night nookie with my boy haha jk jk)

    Lastly my favorite breakfast recipe:
    So Far I’ve tried a bunch of breakfast recipes I’m torn between my Strawberry Pinneapple Pizzert

    http://thefitnessapple.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/a-pizzert-for-breakfast-a-fabulous-start-to-a-friday/

    Or my Blueberry protein smoothie

    http://thefitnessapple.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/blueberry-protein-smoothie/

    Obviously both of these breakfast recipes include my favorite breakfast necessity FAGE 0% yogurt! What can I Say, I’m addicted! LOL… The great thing about both of these breakfast is they take less then 5 minutes to make which are perfect for when your rushing but still want to get a tasty meal in the mornin’!

    Thanks for giving us the opportunity to win that dress! :)

  14. Oh goodness that dress would never fit me, super cuteee!

  15. Hey! I have to tell you what i found out today..apparently a lot of my comments were going into my spam and I finally learned how to check it today and there were ALL of your comments! I don’t know how that happened but I’m sorry I haven’t responded to any of them!! It’s fixed now :D

    That dress is adorable! I’d love to hear more about your fitness routines on the blog!

  16. Um yea, I would so come clean your kitchen if you were near me for that awesome dress! My friends tease me about that kinda thing (cleaning their houses when I am over visiting).

    Right now I love the fashion trend of scarves! Scarves are so versatile, can totally dress up an outfit and be a big statement piece. I received so many great scarves for Christmas and can’t wait to wear them all!

    My favorite way to burn calories is shopping! Ha ha ha, no really, walking briskly through the mall is cardio. And I enjoy the bodyworks class at my gym.

    My favorite breakfast is a dutch baby pancake drizzled with fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar. YUM!

    I love how you confess to eating the peanut butter and chocolate chips out of the jar! I want to hear more about your food confessions!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

