Ab-alicious – Day 2 Vegan

Happy Wednesday! Only two more days until I finally get to see my boyfriend after a long 38 days and of course the 2 days everyone loves so much, the weekend :) I’m happy to say that yesterday was A LOT easier than Day 1! Planning is definitely key!!

Eats on Vegan Week: Day 2

Breakfast: Oatmeal Cinnamon Raisin Crepe Pancakes w/ Vegan Berry “Yogurt” (recipes below for both :) ) FYI – I had 7 of these… not 1! I just forgot to picture them together until the last bite :)


Lunch: Mixed Veggies w/ Brown Rice (Yellow pepper, Squash, Green beans and avocado)


Snacks: Apple, Better n Peanut Butter & clementines

Dinner: Salad from Whole Foods w/ Asian Tofu


Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Crepe Pancakes (adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie)


Ingredients

  • 1/6 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/6 cup Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 pkg of Stevia
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp ground flax + 2 tbsp of warm water to make a flax egg
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup almond milk

Directions

  • Make your flax egg – set to side
  • Heat skillet to Medium – Low heat
  • Mix all dry ingredients
  • Mix all wet ingredients
  • Mix together. Lots of mixing going on.
  • Drop batter onto skillet with teaspoon
  • Cook on Medium – Low flipping 1/2 way through (3-4 minutes on each side)
  • Top with whatever you wish! I used the vegan “yogurt”

Vegan Berry “Yogurt”


Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup silken tofu
  • 1/3 cup frozen berries
  • 2 Tablespoons water
  • 1 packet of stevia
  • 1/8 tsp xanthan gum

Directions:

Blend everything together in food processor. WHAT would I do without this food processor? Seriously, I use it for everything. Thanks Santa ;)

Both of these were SO good… I would consider going Vegan for the rest of my life if I could eat these for every meal. It made my rough Day One no longer exist. Thanks Katie :)

Workout

I met up with 2 of my girlfriends for a Bootcamp class… That class is no joke. I told the instructor I wanted to vomit afterwards and she said that’s what I aim for! 30 minutes of intense cardio, 15 of weights and 15 of abs. So sore today!

Question for you girls (and guys) – What is your trouble area? For me I would say it’s my abs… The exercises are a yawn and just doing crunches and sit ups isn’t going to give me that flat belly I dream of so I usually skip it (whoops!). In the latest issue of Self Magazine they offer up some tips of what foods to eat and things to avoid. Here are some of my favorites.

Sneaky Stomach Slimmers – Have you ever googled “exercises to do while in the car?” Everyone has right? If not, umm…me either. Here are some ways to Slim that belly while doing your normal day-to-day routine.

  1. Working Out: On the elliptical or treadmill keep your back straight, head forward and abs tight.
  2. In the car: Tighten and release abs repeatedly at red lights
  3. At your desk: Gently suck in your gut as if you were buttoning a tight pair of jeans. Then breather without allowing your abs to relax. Do this for 30 seconds. Repeat 5 times.
  4. Walking your dog: Brace against leash tugging and banish your belly: keeping torso upright with shoulders back, engage abs for five strides then relax for five strides. Repeat until you’re back at your front door.
  5. Bed: Place palms right below belly button. Exhale and allow stomach to expand. Then inhale, pulling belly button toward spine, drawing abdomen toward the box spring. Hold for 10 seconds. Repeat 4 times.

Flat Ab Food List:

Avocados: Half of one avocado contains 10 grams of healthy mono fat which stops the blood sugar spikes that tell your body to store fat around your midsection.

Bananas: The fruit packs 422 milligrams of potassium, a mineral that can help limit the amount of belly swelling sodium in your body.

Berries: Antioxidants can improve blood flow, delivering more oxygen to muscles, so ab-revealing cardio is easier

Chocolate Skim-Milk: A glass teams carbohydrates with protein to promote muscle-building. Drink post workout to speed recovery.

Green Tea: 3 cups daily may rev your metabolism and burn 30 calories.

Oranges: Vitamin C in colorful produce like oranges and red peppers can help you zap up to 30 percent more fat during exercise.

Whole Grains: The filling fiber in foods like oatmeal, brown rice and bulgur aids in keeping your body’s insulin levels low. Researchers speculate this may shrink fat cells.

Yogurt: A cup encourages the growth of good bacteria in your gut, crowding out other bugs that can cause bloating

AB SABOTEURS

Booze – 1 glass of alcohol a day or less is fine… Women who drink two or more have larger bellies.

TV time - DVR-athons are great but people who tune in for two or more houses daily have weaker and ab muscles by 10 percent!

Stress - To de-stress and weigh much less, learn to breathe. Slowly inhale through your nose, counting to four. Then exhale from your mouth for a count of eight. Repeat until refreshed

Bread Basket - Fluffy white rolls are flat ab foes! If you see whole grains in the basket go for it! Dieters who did lost so much more stomach fat than those who merely cut calories and ate refined grains

Late night munchies - Hate to be a Debbie Downer but when you eat PM snacks your body does not burn those nibbles as efficiently as it does to those during the day. Declare “last call” two hours before bed. If you’re really hungry have a 150 calorie snack. If not, sip tea, cut the lights and bid farewell to the fridge until morning.

So if we follow these rules we should have abs like this in no time!



Day 14: A picture of you last year – how have you changed?

Last year this day I was at an Open Bar in NJ with one of my best friends getting wasted… I was semi-single so it only seemed right to celebrate Valentines Day that way.

Ways I have changed:

  • I rarely go out to bars and drink – Last year I did that once a week.
  • I am in a serious relationship – Last year I was semi-single.
  • I now blog.
  • I worked for an event planning company… Now, I nanny.
  • I eat a lot less processed foods and cook a lot more than I used to!

Check out these awesome giveaways by some of my favorite bloggers

Shanna is giving away a pair of wedges… Yes, ladies…SHOES!

Kristina is playing Oprah and giving away her favorite things… Some yummy eats :)

24 Responses to “Ab-alicious – Day 2 Vegan”

  1. Aww thanks for the shout out!!! =)

    My tummy is actually an area I can tone up quickly and keep fairly slim, though I do love me some booze (read: wine!) at night..haha.

    My trouble areas are my thighs..ugh…bain of my existence!

  2. Love all the recipes and thanks for the mention:)

  3. Whooohooo! Keep up the good work! =) Loved the ab tips… though I totally do all these things and I don’t look like i’m chiseled from stone! hehe! <3

    I looked at the shop style site and it seems like all you need is to download the image you create and upload it or to paste the html code on your page… though I know zilch about wordpress so i'm not much help! sorry love! I would google the crap out of hacks and tips for wordpress? The interwebs are sure to tell you the answer! <3

    xoxo
    jenn

  4. That vegan berry yogurt looks really delicious! Glad day 2 was easier for you than day 1.
    Ahh, I can’t give up the bread basket. But I do need to learn better moderation. My trouble area is thighs and butt. Of course forgetting the bread basket would help that out too!

  5. I loved reading about how you have changed since last year! I’ve changed a lot, too! I don’t eat processed foods like I used to!

  6. 38 days since you have last seen your bf!? I hope you guys have sexy skype dates!

  7. The vegan yogurt looks so good! Great color!! My problem area is definitely my abs too. Crunches are so…blah! But the car workout idea is so great! Thanks girl!

  8. Good job keeping up with the vegan diet!

  9. Oh that vegan yogurt looks great – such a pretty color too! :)

  10. Love the recipes !

  11. Love your vegan eats! And yes my problem is definitely the abs. Since my stomach has been so sensitive lately they look bloated most of the time. Love your little belly tips although meal timing doesn’t really matter so much. I eat 400 calories 2 hours before bed and my abs are right there when I wake up :)

  12. How exciting that you get to see your bf after so long :) WF salad bar rocks!

    Funny–I was just talking to my bf about this today…my trouble area has always been my butt/thighs!

  13. All your vegan eats look so good, especially those pancakes and yogurt. :) I also find that my trouble zone is my abs. Thanks for the tips though, I’m definitely often guilty of late night munchies. I love the car trick too!

  14. Your vegan berry yogurt look delish! I need to get some silken tofu! :)

  15. Your vegan eats look fabulous and I liked the ab tips. I do a lot of core work in yoga and my strength classes and I love how simple things like sitting up straight can help tone up!

  16. Abs are definitely my weak area, too. WHich is unfortunate, because I want nice abs so badly! Haha.

  17. oh that berry yogurt looks so incredibly good! those bright colors!!

  18. Id have to say youve come a long way in a year. in a good way. Looks like you have made positive changes :)
    My favorite ab move that is a sneaky ab move? PUSHUPS! they work everything!

  19. I love reading about how you’ve changed. I’ve changed some too and it’s cool to see that in someone else. I love the pink color that comes from natural berries and not food coloring haha

  20. We literally just learned that tip to breathe in 4 seconds, exhale 8 seconds in my oral comm class today:) I loved reading the ways you’ve changed over the year-sounds like everything is going amazing for you right now!! Congrats for all:) (especially the serious relationship-can’t wait to see what you do for vday!)

  21. I love working my abs–they show awesome results when worked hard!! :)

    Happy Valentine’s day <3

  22. I loved the flat ab tips :) i’ll hold my abs at red lights for sure now

  23. Breakfast looks amazing! I wish I had the energy to make all this stuff. Gosh I’m so lazy haha.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

