Wordy Wednesday

Happy Wednesday friends! It’s almost the weekend which makes us all very happy :) So, this morning i had my first OOIAJ experience.. I must’ve been really excited because I  woke up an hour before my alarm went off! I went downstairs to check them out and they looked interesting… Not sure about cold oats but I’ll give it a shot. Took my first bite (without toppings) and it was surprisingly good! I’m not going to lie though, I did stick them in the microwave for a quick minute to warm them up a tad. It was too cold outside to eat cold food. Forgive me?

Pre-Microwave OOIAJ

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 2 sprinkles of chia seeds
  • spoonful of plain greek yogurt

Post-Microwave OOIAJ

topped with other half of banana and vegan carob chips

45 seconds later: I’d say I enjoyed it?

I’ll be sure to start making these when I know I will be running low on time! Which seems to be every morning…How is that even possible?

For lunch I planned on having a new soup I picked up at Whole Foods

Poblano Pepper and Corn Chowder… sounds good right? I thought so, and apparently so did the cleaning ladies because after they were done their duties it was nowhere to be found. Since I was in the mood for soup I had to settle for this

It reminded me of being a kid! Nothing crazy exciting.. But satisfied my craving.

After work I headed to see my good friend Jim. I jumped on the Adaptive Motion Trainer (i have no idea what these are called?) for 30 minutes and did some abs workout.

Help a girl out – What is this machine called? Whatever it is…It had me huffing and puffing after 2 1/2 minutes!

Dinner was an easy no cook/no clean type of meal.. Trader Joe’s Sweet Potato Gnocchi in a Sage & Butter sauce. Seriously? Phenomenal. If you have a TJ’s near you go pick this up ASAP for dinner. You can thank me later :)

After dinner I realized I was sort of in a cooking rut.. I hadn’t really made anything in a couple of days which is not like me so I decided to make a snack for the week!

I’ve made protein bars before but I wanted to try a no-bake version for time-saving purposes. Success! I picked a bunch of random things out of my cabinets and voila. Easy, quick and delicious.

No Bake Protein Bars (i think they could be vegan as well??)

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe banana – mashed
  • 1.5 cups of oats
  • 2 tbsp of chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp of raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup vegan carob chips (use chocolate chips if you want)
  • 1/2 cup Peanut Butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raw agave
  • Yogi Granola Blueberry  ( i only had a little bit left so I just poured it in but i suggest 1/2 cup)
  • 2 scoops of protein powder (I used brown rice protein – vanilla flavored)

Directions

  • Mash banana

  • Add oats, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, protein and granola

  • Add raisins and chocolate chips

  • Add the peanut butter

  • Add agave, cinnamon and vanilla

  • Mix until combined

  • Pour into 8×8 glass pyrex dish lined with parchment paper (no clean-up!)

  • Freeze for 2 hours (at least)

  • Cut into squares, bars, circles, hearts – whatever!

  • Wrap individual squares in saran wrap

  • Store in fridge for week

Better for you then luna,clif, zone etc… and probably a WHOLE lot cheaper. In my opinion they taste better as well but I could be biased :)

While I was waiting for my oatmeal raisin peanut butter chocolate chip protein bars (longest name ever) to harden up in the freezer I melted my last two pieces of dark chocolate and peeled a clementine… Obviously, I dipped the clementine into the dark chocolate and called it dessert.

I should do this more often instead of pouring chocolate chips into the peanut butter jar. I’m sure it’s healthier!

Day 27: Original Photo of the city you live in

Annapolis, Maryland – Somehow I found a picture that didn’t include my friends and I stumbling around causing trouble :)

Now onto something a little more serious… Are you aware that it is National Eating Disorder Awareness Week? 30% of women feel stressed about food EVERY.single.day. and 5% will be diagnosed with an eating disorder at some point in their lives. Life’s sweetest memories and toughest struggles revolve around what goes into our mouths. Crazy, but true. Some even compare their relationship with food as a dysfunctional romantic relationship. However, there’s always that option to walk away from those – but you and food? You’re stuck together forever. If you think about it almost everyone has food issues… Whether it’s under/overeating or caving in to cravings for things we know aren’t good for us, or even avoiding foods with certain texture/color and cringing at the site of vegetables and meat touching. A piece of chocolate could be a sin, a reward or comfort…or all three to you. One minute we love food and the next minute we hate it. Once we finally have a clearer picture of what shapes our eating behavior we can enjoy our food a whole lot more. (Side note: What I am striving for with this blog!) Here are some tips to help you befriend food again.

Focus: Turn off the TV, computer and sit at the table

Don’t be hypervigilant: Being too aware of what and how much you eat can turn into a food obsession. Not to mention having a mind-set of “If I walk two miles, I can eat this many chips” is a terrible way to live.

Don’t say NO: Deprivation diets set you up for failure. Moderation is key.

Listen to your gut: If you like steak, order it. Even if everyone else is having salad. Don’t take on others’ emotional static.***

Everyone Can Do...Just One Thing

If we all do just one thing, together we’ll have a huge impact!

1) Host or sign up to be a NEDAwareness Week Volunteer Speaker/Presenter

2) Help spread the word…get the Workplace Kit: Put up the posters and create a take-one table for How to Help a Friend pamphlets, Helpline cards and NEDA pens.

3) Join the Media Watchdogs: The more people that write a letter of protest or praise, the louder the Media Watchdog voice! A great youth activism activity.

4) Donate Healthy Body Image: Teaching Kids to Eat and Love Their Bodies Too! to a local middle school: Get this fun, engaging tool into the hands of your local educators.

5) Maximize the power of your social networking sites: Post facts about eating disorders, tweet the Helpline number, and encourage your Facebook friends to learn more at myneda.org.

6) Leave a pamphlet: Put a stack in your doctor’s or dentist’s office, in the library or in a community center. Choose one or get all three: How to Help a Friend, Do I…Am I…, What is an Eating Disorder?

7) Make it a movie night: Choose a film from the provided Film List and watch it with friends and family. You can use the discussion guide to talk about the issues raised in the film.

8) Disseminate free NEDA Toolkits: Download and give out the Coach & Athletic Trainer Toolkit, Parent Toolkit or Educator Toolkit to coaches, gyms, school personnel, and parents.

9) Recognize NEDAwareness Week at your school: Download the free Educator Packet for resources, activities, films, discussion guides and handouts to educate faculty and students.

10) Choose an activity or event from the Resource and Planning Guide CD-ROM: Organize an activity, event, art project or fundraiser for NEDA to raise awareness in your community.

All of these guides/pamphlets can be found on their website. You never know if someone close to you is struggling…Do what you can to make a difference!

For day number 4 of my self-love challenge I didn’t stress about anything I was eating, how many calories were in what meal and just enjoyed my food to the fullest!

QUESTIONS: Have you ever made protein bars? Dipped clementines in chocolate? Are you doing anything to make a difference for NEDA week?

***March 2011 Women’s Health Magazine

 

40 Responses to “Wordy Wednesday”

  1. I made my own protein bars once, and they were…nasty! Ha – something was just off. Yours look delicious!

  2. yum! i have an empty peanut butter jar! ill have to try your OOIAJ!

  3. That crazy machine you mentioned is called an Arc Trainer. I just researched this after writing a blog post about trying it for the first time…last week I believe. I am in good shape and all but this machine totally kicked my butt, too! Thanks for the OIAJ post! Can’t wait to try it after reading so much about this! I am expecting great things!

  4. I’m so glad you liked your OOIAJ!! I wanted hot the other day so I just put hot oats in the jar! Worked out pretty well for me!! I love any fruit dipped in chocolate!

  5. I always love your posts because your so informative and you always have such easy recipes those bars are so much beter for you than any bar you can buy from a store! totally agree! I love that recipe! :) I still have never tried chia seeds I need to do this! How about giving us some more information on your love life. I’m such a sap for love especially learnin about a pretty gal like u! :)

  6. I’ve never made any type of bars before…I’m such a lame! Lol, I seriously wish there were 48 hours in a day!! I so wish we lived by each other, dude! You have the best posts, and you seem like the coolest girl! Keep being yourself, I love your blog!

  7. Brownies and Fro yo it is…you have the best ideas. Seriously. Those homemade protein bars look really good! I’ve made them before and I usually freeze mine, and grab one as I got out the door to work! I’m going to have to give your recipe a try!! I loved seeing that lipton noodle soup because i’m pretty sure that was it’s own food group for me growing up. I LOVE that stuff. I just might have to get some, for old times sake. Love your blog girl! Keep doing your thing for us :)

  8. Glad you enjoyed those OOIAJ! It looks like they turned out great. :) Your protein bars also look incredibly delicious. I’ll have to try those out.

  9. Girl, everything you make sounds yum. :) That machine looks hardcore, is that the arc trainer I’ve been reading so much about on various blogs?!

  10. I’ve never made protein bars but I want to now!
    And yes, I’ve dipped clementines in dark chocolate. How wonderous they were. I say “were” because they didn’t last long here!

  11. I have no idea what that machine is called but I fail at it miserably. I can’t seem to get it to get kicking…I look like a fool when i am on it… :D

  12. We have one of those machines at my gym too. I have know idea what it is called but it sure gives me a good workout. Yummy eats! :0

  13. I love making homemade granola & protein bars! Cliff bars and Luna bars are tasty, but they have so much sugar! They are, in my opinion, a healthier candy bar! I like cooking and baking because I can control the ingredients [plus I'm a control freak ;)]. I love the combination of orange + chocolate, but have never dipped actually the fruit in chocolate. I love Chocolove’s brand orange peel dark chocolate bar. Delish!

  14. I actually sampled the sweet potato gnocchi at Trader Joe’s over the weekend! It was soooo good…. I really want to try to make my own. Someday. When I’m feeling ambitious…

  15. I’ve tried overnight oats once and I’m not gonna like, it kind of sickened me. The texture and the cold just didn’t mesh well in my book. I don’t get the appeal I suppose haha

    Those no bake protein bars look great! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  16. OH MY GOODNESS, I love the arc trainer machine!

    I had a rough IT band injury at the end of summer/beginning of fall, and I just couldn’t shake it. It got hard to run, then it hurt to WALK. After I had ample rest time, I tried to rehabilitate myself with that arc trainer, because it’s the best simulated run I’ve ever found.

    And it worked woooonders! I love how you can make it an elliptical, a stair-stepper, or it can go forward, backward, you can bounce, glide, whaaatever.

    Pretty obv that I’m in love with the thing. :)

  17. I’ve made “bars” before but to be honest they didn’t hold up too well lol It was more like an oatmeal cereal topping :) Still yummy tho! Your ooiaj look delicious, there are so many ways to play around with it. I wanted to do a NEDA walk but it’s all the way in Tampa :(

  18. I have made protein bars in the past and I am ready for them again! yours look good and I have just about everything to make them at home – veganized :)

  19. Wow what a neat idea…I also should be making my own healthy protein bars! They look DELISH :) Mmmmm

  20. it looks like an arch glider! They work me overrrr! love em! you feel it in your butt as much as a spin class!

    I still haven’t made oats in a jar… I dont know why i’m so slow to hop on the bandwagon with that! Obv. you devoured yours — sign of something amazing! <3 hehe

  21. Chocolate dipped orange goodness. OH MY.

    And Trader Joe’s has Sweet Potato Gnocchi?! What?! How and why was I not aware of this incredible fact?? Must find…

  22. I tried that machine at the gym once and it had me breathless after only a few minutes too! Needless to say, I didn’t last very long. :P

    Your protein bars look amazing! I like homemade bars wayyy better than store-bought ones!

  23. Oh my, those protein bars look delicious and I love how you don’t have to bake them. I baked some a month ago and they came out just alright. I will have to see if I can try these out.

  24. thank you for the neda mention; the gnocchi looks so good! I am going to look for it next time I’m at TJ’s

  25. love oats in a jar looks like they turned out pretty good!

  26. Those protein bars look fabulous!

    I love that you posted so many ways to get active with NEDA. That’s really great, girl!

  27. I’ve totally dipped clementines in chocolate, makes them even more addicting! I put them in the fridge for the chocolate to harden, but I could barely wait 10 minutes to try them. I’ve heard it called an Arc Trainer, but I’m not positive.

  28. I have no idea what that machine is called but I have tried it at my gym too and it was so hard!!! Thanks for posting all the ways we can get involved in NEDA…I havent been doing anything but would like to change that. I have never tried chocolate with clementines but that sounds so good!

  29. I’m not entirely sure what I want to do for NEDA week but I definitely want to do something… Im considering putting up some operation beuatiful post its around campus, haven’t decided yet :) and i’ll probably blog about it or something tomorrow!

    those bars look soooo good by teh way! :)

  30. Those protein bars look awesome! Love all of the ingredients!

  31. Wow, super informative on NEDA! I didn’t know much about it so it was really good for me to read your post actually:) BTW I had literally that EXACT bowl of OIAJ like two days ago! I’ve had OIAJ twice this week…life is good:)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

