Oh, Oh, Oh…It’s Magic

Happy Friday girls (and guys)! The weekend is here, the weather is warm (50 degrees means windows down) and I’ve got lots to accomplish! My weekend should be anything but relaxing…but such is life!

This morning I wanted to test out my first Chobani so I reached in the fridge with my eyes closed and out came a Honey Flavor.

all of my pictures of shadows today…not sure why!

I knew I wanted to do something more than just eat yogurt out of the container so I went on their website and found a recipe for Honey Scented Blueberry Muffins. I changed around a few things to make them even healthier than they already were and they came out fantastic! No oil, eggs, or added sugar which is always a plus! I tallied up the stats for you, but only because it’s Friday and I’m in a good mood :)

Calories – Serving size 1 muffin: 104 calories, 0 grams of fat, 22 grams of carbs, 4 grams of fiber and 3.5 grams of protein

I’ve always loved muffins but after seeing the stats for them at a chain breakfast drive-thru *coughDunkinDonutscough* (470 calories, 17 g of fat, 73 grams of carbs, 38 sugars) I’ve decided that I will no longer be ordering one of those… I’m just as satisfied with my color changing muffins! OK, I’m sure you’re all hoping I shut-up now and show you my magic muffins…so here you go :)

Magic Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 C whole-wheat pastry flour, plus 1 Tbsp flour reserved
  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 6 tsp NuNaturals Stevia Fiber Baking Blend
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp iodized salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp + 2 tbsp warm water EnerG Egg Replacer
  • 3 Tbsp Unsweetened Applesauce
  • 1 tsp real vanilla extract
  • 1 C Honey 0% Chobani Greek Yogurt
  • 1 C blueberries, frozen
  • 1/2 C Unsweetened Almond Milk

Directions

Position a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat oven to 375°F. In a small bowl add Ener-G and warm water and set to side. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, Stevia, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

In another bowl, whisk together egg mix, applesauce, vanilla and Chobani.

In a small bowl toss the blueberries with reserved flour until lightly coated, add to egg mixture.

are you tired of my winnie the pooh spoon yet?

Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture, using a spatula fold ingredients together just until dry ingredients are moistened. Be careful to not over mix the batter, as it will cause the batter to be slightly stiff and not smooth.

Purple Batter!

Violety-Gray batter?

Line muffin pans with paper muffin cups, spray lightly with non-stick spray. Fill muffin cups half way and place in oven.

BLUE batter!

Bake at 375°F for 12-20 minutes until a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean.

Green Muffins!?

Excuse the 100 year old muffin pan.

It’s a green monster muffin!

Serve with a dollop of Chobani Honey Greek Yogurt or The Bees Knees Peanut Butter.

These were so good I decided to have one for breakfast and one for dinner :) I love living solo but I now have 10 blueberry muffins and 3/4 of a banana bread loaf in my freezer because I bake faster than I can eat (well really but not really). Anyone wanna come over for breakfast? ;)

Call me crazy but I wanted to try another Chobani flavor for a snack today… I grabbed the Black Cherry and did a little taste test. I used half a container of the Black Cherry Chobani and half of a homemade protein granola bar. This particular one had fruit on the bottom so I did a quick mix before scooping it into a separate bowl. 3 words – Smooth and Creamy. To be honest, I’m not even a cherry kind of girl and I really enjoyed this! I think adding the granola was kind of like having a dessert – Cherry Cobbler maybe? Healthy pie… I might be on to something here!

Lunch was a can of tuna, a green apple and a handful of raisins mixed and placed in lettuce cups. I’m finally out of bib lettuce – The container lasted me 2 weeks! Every time I make tuna at work the cat rubs against me until I share. I never knew cats were table beggers!

Gym consisted of 30 minutes on the arc trainer (SO HARD for me!?) and 10 on the stairmaster plus 10 minutes of abs when I got home. I hate doing abs at the gym because there is never enough room so I stick with my on demand videos.

Time for my favorite FRIDAY!

3 of my favorite YouTube videos I’ve seen this week… If you are looking for a good laugh definitely check these out!

Funniest video I’ve seen in a while!

The obvious… Such a joke. Yeah, I’m on a drug – It’s called CHARLIE SHEEN!

This has some dirty words so beware…

I’ll just be organizing/cleaning tonight and staring at this appliance waiting for it to magically fix itself… :(

RIP Ice Cream Maker

Zumba and Body Pump or Spin and Body Pump tomorrow morning?? Decisions, decisions…

Questions: Do you have any good recipes that include Greek Yogurt? If so link them! What are your weekend plans?

PS: I get a lot of random searches that lead people to my blog but today I had one that said “Hot teenage girl runs out of gas in the middle of nowhere” UM WHAT!?

23 Responses to “Oh, Oh, Oh…It’s Magic”

  1. I’d go with spin and body pump, but that’s JUST ME :) I love zumba too thoughhhh! HMM!

    Those muffins look delish!!

  2. I’m a sucker for blueberry muffins! Super yum =)

    I tend to do just mix-ins with my greek yogurt…take a plain Chobani, add 2 tbsp pumpkin butter, and 1 tsp of cinnamon. It’s like pumpkin pie!

  3. I will come eat breakfast with you!! If only… Haha! Those look yum, as usual. :) Have a great day!!

  4. Thanks for the creative, super low-cal spin on our recipe. We’ll gladly help you out with the leftovers! ;)

    Emily, Communications Manager, Chobani

  5. I’m pretty sure I’m going to have that song stuck in my head all night now, haha!

    The muffins look great!

  6. Oh boy, do those muffin look good! OMG it’s barely starting to warm here too! I don’t think it’ll even reach 60 until next month. But at least it’s not snowing anymore, just rain. So after two weeks, I plan on finally running tomorrow. I’m excited!

  7. i loved black cherry with granola on top! it definitely is like a cobbler! finally woke up extra early to make it to my hair appointment and probably heading to the canton irish stroll today!

    i would def so spin and body pump. im not a big zumba fan!

  8. omg i just died laughing at the last video! so hilarious, guys are such creeps, good thing we can make the face! hahahahah and ill come over for breakfast and eat muffins all morning long!

  9. Such funny videos!!!

    I’ll come over for breakfast!!! ;) Those muffins look AMAZING! And my blueberry muffins ALWAYS come out grey too! (Very glad to find out I’m not the only one that happens too :) )

    I’ll send some fairy dust to you to sprinkle on to your ice cream machine ;)

  10. These look DELICIOUS with bees knees pb!?! YUM! hahaha love the weird link that led someone to your blog-those are so funny to read! Greek Yog. pancakes are AWESOME! as are super healthy salad dressings. yums!

  11. I make greek yogurt pancakes all the time. They are much more moist! Those muffins look so good too! I used to want to eat muffins at Dunkin but then I saw the actual calorie contents too and never again.

    I hope you went to zumba haha, I’m sure you already made your decision already.

  12. Charlie Sheen just needs to….stop. He’s completely insane and his poor kids are going to suffer because of it. And again, how on earth did he score Denise Richards? It’s one of those mysteries that will never be solved I guess.

    The magic muffins look magical. Send me your leftovers!!!

  13. Mmmm, those muffins look yummy!! What a bummer about your ice cream maker! I have really really been wanting to get one of those, maybe this summer!

  14. Those blueberry muffins look delicious!!! And what happened to your ice cream machine? :( That’s the same one I use. Greek yogurt goes great in that machine, froyo!!! :D

  15. Great idea to use the yogurt in muffins!! I thought the cherry chobani was really tasty too, and yeah I get a ton of weird searches that take people to my blog too haha!

  16. don’t have a recipe for you but you should buy another ice cream maker and make frozen yogurt! Sorry, bad timing, huh? lol RIP little ice cream maker!

    Love those muffins! They look really good- and much better than the no-name chain, right?!

  17. Spin & body pump, but that’s cause I’m a spinning junkie and I still haven’t tried Zumba! The Charlie Sheen interview is a joke, so ridiculous.

  18. I love Greek yogurt wayyy too much to use it up in a recipe, so I don’t know of any! But those muffins look yummy. :D

    I think I’m going to do spin tomorrow morning, so I vote for that one!

  19. Ooooh, those muffins look delish!
    Hope you’ve been having a wonderful Saturday, friend!

  20. HAHA I can’t believe someone found your blog using that search term–sounds like they were looking for something completely different. If ya know what I mean!

  21. haha, thats about how my muffin pan looks, too! Those muffins look YUM! I just got some blueberries maybe I”ll make some, too!

  22. haha I love that jenna video… and I love plain greek yogurt/ lemon juice dip with fresh sweet potato chips ( slice up sweet potato in the oven)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

