Challenges, “Cheese” and Chucky <3

Happy Monday! I know those two words don’t go together.. But I’m trying to be positive people – Plus, Monday is now O.V.E.R. :)

I’ve been a baddd blogger – Only posted two times in the past 14 days :/ It’s been rough getting back into my routine since I got back from vacation. But I think today is just what I needed and I am starting to feel back to normal!

Yesterday I ran a 5k for Colon Cancer in Memory of my Uncle Chuck in Washington DC with my entire family. He lost his battle almost 3 years ago and we’ve made an effort to support this cause as much as possible since then. This is probably the only time you wont hear me complain about waking up at 6am on a Sunday Morning to run in 35 degree weather.

I finished the 3.1 miles in 28 minutes! Last year it took me 34 minutes so that is a PR :) I also stopped to talk to someone so I’m thinking I added an extra minute onto my time. I placed 197th out of 3000 so I’m happy with it. The person who crossed the finish line first finished in 14:43 – insane!

Team Schwink <3 Miss you Uncle Chuck

Friday night was spent with some of my favorite girls – We headed out to Blue Agave for dinner and visited a few bars after. I thought the food was a little overrated but the sangria was delicious! I rarely go out anymore but when i saw that the temperature hit 78 degrees I was ready for a fun night out. Mission accomplished :)

I’m finally unpacked, eating healthy and back to the gym will return to the gym tomorrow!

I haven’t shown a full days eats in FOREVER so here it goes..

Breakfast: Blue Green Machine

I am officially addicted to adding spinach to my smoothies now! I know I’m a little late to jump on the bandwagon with this but I’m glad I finally did – If you have slacked even longer than I have, don’t wait any longer..

Blue Green Machine

Ingredients

  • 1 medium banana, sliced
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 5 ice cubes
  • handful of baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 heaping spoonful of  brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp nunaturals stevia baking blend with fiber

Directions

  • Blend everything together and enjoy in your favorite glass with a straw

I love that you can only taste fruit in this smoothie because let’s be honest…slurping up a leaf doesn’t sound extremely appetizing! This is definitely a breakfast that will wake you up. You can never go wrong with extra energy on a Monday morning :)

Lunch: Dippy Egg, Muenster Cheese and Cinnamon Raisin Bagel Thin

Julie turned me on to Cinnamon raisin bagel thins.. But I decided I didn’t like them with just cream cheese so when I mentioned that to her she told me I  had to have one with melted cheese… Obviously if cheese is involved I’m in! Julie’s a genius… These are perfect and only about 200 calories

Is it just me or does breakfast food taste 100x better than usual when you have it for lunch or dinner??

I was excited to see that my blog had over 6,000 hits on Saturday – That’s another PR! I think I owe it all to Angela for posting my S’mores Dairy Free Vegan Ice Cream Recipe. Angela always has amazing looking recipes and pictures that make my mouth water. The most recent one I bookmarked was her butternut squash mac n cheeze. I made this tonight and it is to.die.for.

Did I mention it was healthy?

Butternut Squash Mac N Cheeze – 2 ways – Oh she Glows

I promise to be back on my healthy eating, fitness and blogging routine tomorrow. Have a good night :)

QUESTIONS: How many push ups can you do in a row? 11! What is your favorite comfort food? ice cream, pizza, and mac & cheese – all things that include dairy which I’m allergic to…awesome.

28 Responses to “Challenges, “Cheese” and Chucky <3”

  1. You are gorg! Love the last pic-that’s so me! haha….
    I have that 2 ways mac n cheese bookmarked and have debated making it-glad to see your take on it!

  2. Real pushups? like 8. Girly pushups? like 30. I’m working on my upper body strength – not so hot. I totally want to partake in this challenge!

    Wow that squashy mac ‘n cheese recipe look awesome! I’ve actually never cooked with squash before – for some reason it totally intimidates me, but after looking at this recipe, I might totally try it!

    Can you get nutritional yeast at Whole Foods? I keep seeing this little ingredient appear, but I don’t know much about it.

  3. I love that your family did this! Inspiring!

    Hmm, girly pushups: 50
    Manly pushups: 18

  4. I’m so happy that you did that 5k – my grandma passed away from colon cancer when I was in 6th grade. Cancer is terrible and heartbreaking, so I love to see these types of races that raise money! <3

  5. Love those pictures, how awesome to get a new PR! Congrats girl :) And I can dish out like 13 pushups lol boo :( Loving the mac n cheese. Comfort food at it’s finest for sure! :D

  6. Love having another awesome recipe for butternut squash! And congrats on the race!!!

  7. that smoothie looks DELISH! And OMG, someone finishing a 5K in 14 minutes!?! That person is a machine!!!

  8. That makeover mac-n-cheese looks so delicious. I’ve never bought or eaten a squash before….maybe it’s about time I tried!
    Congrats to you and your family on that run!

  9. LOVE all your eats!!!!!! my fav comfort food is def icecream

  10. Congrats on your race! My favorite comfort food is probably mac and cheese.

  11. I have actually heard of a lot of people doing that Pipes challenge. I’m personally not going to do it though ha. Maybe I’m just do lazy?

    My favorite comfort food is ice-cream for the win. I love it and seriously cannot get enough.

    Congrats on your race and family for the run. That is seriously so cool to get the whole family involved. I loved it!

  12. The blue green machine and the butternut squash looks amazing. I think I will have to try those out. Wonderful post as usual.

  13. Good luck on your push-ups!! :)

  14. WOO-HOO! looks like it was a weekend for PRs! :)

    that butternut squash looks fantaaastic. I wanna try it asap. :)

    fave comfort foods? yeah.. pizza, french fries, aand brownies.

  15. I made that mac and cheese oooh it was delicious!

  16. we will have a push-up contest in 4 weeks! that pasta looks awesome, minus the peas : )

  17. Totally understand getting back in the groove!
    I love spinach in smoothies- such a great way to get in extra nutrients :)
    You know, I still can’t find those cinnamon raisin bagel things- I’ve been on the hunt for a while. Guess I need to hunt harder! ;)
    Hope you’re having a great day..and YAY for no Monday!!

  18. It can be so hard to get back in the groove of blogging, but I’m glad you’re back! You look so cute in that picture!! :) That’s amazing that your fam does this run in memory of your uncle! And congrats on the PR!!!

  19. Congrats on the PR! I’m trying to decide if I want to do a 5k or a 10k coming up here and hope to PR as well. Glad you’re back and settling back into your routine. I didn’t even go anywhere and am struggling…so whats my excuse!? Haha.
    Comfort food is chocolate & PB in any way shape or form! :)

  20. Congrats on your PR! and wow 100 push ups in a row? That will be a huge accomplishment for sure, I can do like ten :)

    I havent been able to find cinnamon raisin bagel thins anywhere! Im keeping my eyes open. Oh and I am totally slacking on the blog posting these days too…oh well! xoxo

  21. Breakfast for lunch or dinner is definitely so great!!

    Woohoo! 100 pushups! You go, girl! You will definitely rock this challenge! :)

  22. wohoo congrats on the PR!!!! that’s so awesome! and ur mac and cheese makes me miss eating a yummy home cooked meal! college cafeterias are just not cutting meals like home!

  23. I can do about 20 pushups in a row, but only like 8 or 10 if they are tricep pushups! Those suckers are HARD. That mac and cheese looks so so so good! I wonder if I can trick my hubby into thinking its the real deal. I totally want to try it!!

  24. Once again, I will finish last – think I can do 3-4 push-ups!

  25. Oh my, macaroni. Yum. I need to make this. :-)

    Congrats on the PR!! I wish I’d known you were going to be in DC! Let’s definitely make that meet-up happen soon…Maybe the first week of April?

  26. Don’t worry about a shortage of posts! I’m glad you weren’t posting on your vaccay…gotta soak up ‘dem rays while you can!! Glad you had a fun race though, Ahhh I’ve only got 2 more days till break…Florida here I come!!

  27. I love that your entire family came out for the race & the cause! Congrats on your PR! I can probably do like 10 max. I tried a challenge like this but gave up hah. I’m happy with yogi chataranga push-ups for now.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

