Cheese Stuffed Buffalo Turkey Burgers

Hello Friday. I love you.

Am I too young to have a bucket list? It seems morbid, but I have a lot of dreams and I’m a visual person so to me its necessary. I’m 26 years old but I feel as a good portion of my life has passed. 1/3? 1/4? Who knows. I think no matter what age I am I will always still feel as if I’m “too young” to have written a list.

When I was 18 I honestly thought I’d be married by 22 years old with 2 children. (ridiculous) Good thing I wasn’t because a. I’d most likely be a poor single divorced mom and b. I would have never met a genuinely nice guy who knows how to communicate and have a two-way street relationship. Basically my point is, life passes you by and things you thought you would accomplish or dream of doing just don’t get done. So girls (and boys) – I’m making a bucket list. I’ll be adding it as a tab up top so I can cross things off once they are done.

The Bucket List

  1. Visit Italy and speak Italian – I think its romantic!
  2. Volunteer Somewhere for a Full Day Done
  3. Get Married BEFORE I’m 30.
  4. Skydive
  5. Drive up the California Coast and stop at Pebble Beach, LA, San Diego etc
  6. Enter a cooking/baking contest, and win of course
  7. Have 3 children
  8. Run a half marathon (Princess in Disney!)
  9. Run a full marathon, somewhere other than where I live
  10. Be my own boss
  11. Camp in the Grand Canyons
  12. Visit Australia
  13. Stay in Fiji
  14. Vacation in Bora Bora
  15. Take my mom to Hawaii for her 50th birthday
  16. Be a mentor to someone
  17. See a sunrise and sunset in the same day Done
  18. Teach kindergarten
  19. Plan weddings
  20. Take up Salsa, Ballroom or some other type of dancing
  21. Swim with dolphins Done
  22. Experience Brazil’s Carnival
  23. Try the CSD (Crazy Sexy Diet) for 21 days
  24. See a psychic
  25. Paint a picture for my bedroom
  26. Live on a sailboat for a week
  27. Play Football
  28. See the Redskins in a Superbowl
  29. Watch my kids graduate college
  30. Have my 15 minutes of fame.
  31. Touch an iceberg
  32. Bungee Jump Done
  33. Grow and Eat my own vegetables
  34. Spend thousands of dollars shopping in one day and not have anxiety about it. ( I wouldn’t mind if it was grocery shopping!)

I’m going to stop there. I want to be able to add things as I cross things off. That way it keeps it fun. If you don’t have a bucket list I personally recommend you create one. The whole point of a bucket list is to maximize every moment of our existence and live our life to the fullest. It should be a reminder of all the things we want to achieve in our time here, so that instead of frittering away our time in pointless activities, we are directing it more toward what really matters to us.

OK, enough seriousness. Yesterday the 5-year-old and I went on an adventure! Her cousin had sent her a paper robot named Olivia who was interested in checking out Annapolis (they are from Illinois) so we visited a bunch of places Downtown.

State House

Rode Bikes

Enjoyed Fro-Yo (the no sweets thing? not going so well)

Watched the boats

Ooooed and Awwwed at a sweets display

Relaxed our tired feet

While downtown I noticed they opened a Jimmy Johns! I’ve always heard great reviews so I’m excited to try it out soon.

I also noticed that CVS dedicated an entire shelf to me – How sweet.

I’ve been slacking on the Favorite Friday portion of this blog. During the week I ramble on about food (let’s be honest, that interests you WAY more than fitness and fashion) so on Friday’s I like to dedicate a teeny tiny section to them. Today? Fitness.

MY favorite Fitness Apps for the fancy iPhone (backdoor brag)

1. Google Goggles
Snap a picture of a food label on your phone and this app tells you everything you want (or maybe don’t want) to know about that product: Nutrition information, the company’s website, where it’s sold, and more.

2. Map My Fitness
A GPS for your runs, hikes, bike rides and other activities. No running buddy in your city? This application lets you share and compare stats (duration, distance, pace, speed, elevation, and calories burned) with friends around the world.

3. Tap & Track
This comprehensive app calculates exactly how many calories you should be eating each day, factoring in things like your job to determine how active you are. You enter what you’re eating and how much you’re exercising, and Tap & Track creates graphs that make it easy to see your progress, even if the scale doesn’t dip that day.

The first two are free. People love free things… So even if you hate it, feel free (no pun intended) to at least try it out! The second one is 2.99 or 3.99 – but worth every penny!

I think I enjoyed peanut butter in just about every single meal yesterday.

Breakfast:

1/2 0% chobani Blueberry Flavored & Bowl of Peanut Butter Puffins w/ Strawberries

By the way… The strawberries are monster sized. That is just one strawberry in that bowl of cereal!

Snack:

A Protein Disc… Seriously obsessed with these.

Note: There are only crumbs left

Lunch: Flax sandwich thin w/ Dark Chocolate PB and banana slices and Honey Nut Cream cheese squished into a delicious sweet sandwich

Dinner was peanut butter-less… I figured my jar(s) could use a break. However dinner was the best turkey burger I’ve ever made in my life. I love to make turkey burgers rather than regular hamburgers but sometimes they can get dry. These however are juicy, flavorful and make you feel like you’re having a cheat meal :)

I’m going to share the recipe with you since it only has 3 ingredients. Yes…just 3!

Cheese Stuffed Buffalo Turkey Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of ground turkey (Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/3 cup Franks Buffalo Sauce
  • 5 pieces of Muenster Cheese

Directions

  • Place ground turkey in bowl
  • Add 1/3 cup of Franks Buffalo Sauce to mixture
  • Mix well
  • Shape into pattys
  • Break 1 piece of Muenster Cheese into 4 mini squares and place on top of each patty

  • Mold the ground turkey around the cheese so it’s a stuffed burger
  • Grill (look at the cheese oozing out!)

  • Add a slice of Muenster Cheese to the top of each

I’ll probably never make a different type of burger again. I’ve made these 3 times in 3 weeks… They are that good! I gave the leftovers to my brother before I left for vacation and he ate all 3 in one sitting and texted me “Thanks for lunch – Please send Mom and/or Grandma your recipe immediately”. He doesn’t even like Muenster Cheese or ground turkey – I love tricking people!! muhahaha

We rounded these out with some butternut squash fries! I prefer these over sweet potato ones..

Yesterdays meals made me happy and satisfied :)

I also wanted to dedicate a piece of my Favorite Friday to you all! I am going to start a blogroll of my favorite blogs… If you would like to be added just leave me a comment with your blog name and headline. Ex: Fashion Fitness Foodie: Staying fit while eating good food in stilettos

Have a good weekend!

QUESTIONS: Do you have a bucket list? What is your favorite iPhone app? Do you want to be added to my blogroll? Leave your link!

29 Responses to “Cheese Stuffed Buffalo Turkey Burgers”

  1. Love this bucket list..we have lots in commoon ;)

    Visit Italy and speak Italian – I think its romantic! — Done
    Volunteer Somewhere for a Full Day — Done
    Get Married BEFORE I’m 30. — Done
    Drive up the California Coast and stop at Pebble Beach, LA, San Diego etc — Done
    Enter a cooking/baking contest, and win of course
    Visit Australia — Done
    Be a mentor to someone — Done
    See a sunrise and sunset in the same day — Done
    Plan weddings — Done
    Take up Salsa, Ballroom or some other type of dancing — Done
    Paint a picture for my bedroom — Done
    Have my 15 minutes of fame. — sorta Done
    Grow and Eat my own vegetables
    Spend thousands of dollars shopping in one day and not have anxiety about it. ( I wouldn’t mind if it was grocery shopping!) — sorta Done (some anxiety ensued)

    I don’t have a buket list, more like an on going to-do list ;)

  2. Such a great list! I don’t have a bucket list per se, but I do have a list of things I want to do this year! :)

    Looks like you and your little one had fun!

  3. Ohhhh definitely going to make a bucket list I think that is a great motivation tool!!!

    That little paper robot has definitely seen more of Annapolis than me and I live here!! You are on my blog list ;-)

    Chic Meets Healthy – Living a Healthy, Fabulous Lifestyle

    I think next up on my blog bucket list is a vlog! oh me oh my! I can’t believe that was just one strawberry either!

  4. I love your bucket list! I always keep things in my head – where they never stay very long because I’m such a scatterbrain. I’m totally going to make a list. My fiance and I just decided to go to Italy for our honeymoon because it’s totally romantic and I’ve always dreamed of going. Now I must start learning some Italian!

    You should run the WDW marathon! You get to run through all 4 theme parks and stop and take pictures with the characters!

    Such a fun post!

  5. I definitely need to make a bucket list! So much stuff I want to do too! I just need to take the time to write it all down. That’s so cute that you took the paper robot on such an adventure! I’d love to be on your blog roll! You’re already on mine! :)

  6. I think my bucket list would mostly include traveling to so many places. I just want to see it all :) Those burgers look delicious btw! I’d love to be your blog roll too :)

  7. LOVE HUGE strawberries..mmm!!

  8. yes i have a bucket list and italy is definately on it! yes its romantic, and in my mind i would go there with the love of my life, walk around, meet the people, eat good food, dance, drink wine, and enjoy every single moment.

  9. Bucket lists are awesome, and I love how much traveling you have on yours! I would love to travel around the world (you know, if I had all that money). You need to go skydiving!!! It’s amazing – my boyfriend & I went for our first year anniversary.

  10. I love the idea of a Bucket List! I should do a new one! I made one when I was about 15 years old and I’ve managed to hang onto it for the decade plus since then! I should update it!

  11. I think it’s great to have a bucket list, no matter the age. If you start early, you’ll be able to accomplish a lot. It’s good to know what you want out of life, we’re only here once!

  12. It was the title of this post that initially had me excited (cheese stuffed buffalo turkey burgers?! hello, YUM!!), but I absolutely loved reading your bucket list! .Running the Disney Princess half marathon is definitely on my (unmade) list…and so is speaking Italian in Italy, camping in the Grand Canyon, visiting Australia, Fiji, Bora Bora…etc etc. Actually, I wouldn’t mind acoomplishing everything on your list. Sooo, if you ever need a partner in crime, you know where to find me. :-)

    Your protein discs sound like a great pre and post workout snack! Thanks for the recipe! xoxo

    p.s. dinner date soon?

  13. Fabulous list! I’m especially fond of #15! Now that I officially have the recipe for the turkey burgers and they only require 3 ingredients – guess I’ll have to make them! Lyss…you make me smile!

  14. Love your bucket list! I really need to start adding to mine!

    Bucket list as of now:

    -Get to Italy (or Europe in general for that matter)
    -Become an editor at a fashion magazine!
    -Buy my first pair of Louboutins
    -Run a 5k
    -Skydive

    oh and I’d love to be on your blogroll, girl :)

  15. I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish BEFORE I Graduated from college… but now that I’ve graduated, I haven’t made a new list! I need to do that!

  16. DUDE that is the most AWESOME strawberry ever haha it’s HUGE!

    I need to make a list of things I wanna do. I know skydiving is on the top :D

    I’d love to be on your roll!

  17. What a wonderful post! I LOVE this list! I definitely have one too! :) I hope you have a wonderful weekend girl!

  18. I love your list…when you drive up the California coast you must visit me in LA! I’d love to meet you in person. And wait on the 3 children then. I wanted 2 for sure and then I had one and I’m not so sure I even want her anymore. Just kidding! But I’m definitely NEVER having another.

    I really want to visit Russia and Iceland. I want to write a book. I want to live in NYC and Paris and London for extended amounts of time. Gosh, I could go on forever!

    I’d love to be on your blogroll!

  19. I love your bucket list! Definitely try the CSD its awesome!

  20. Oh my gosh, you went bungee jumping?! Girl, you are crazy! I want to- someday :)

  21. I love your bucket list! I definitely have a tons of things that I want to do–but I’ve never put them into words! Now you’ve inspired me!! :)

  22. Love that first picture! I’ve always wanted to make a bucket list too but thought I was too young haha. But with the passing of a friend of mine who was only 19 I’ve decided it is time to make one of my own myself. =)

  23. You’ve bungee jumped?!?! I want to! So. Scary.

    Yum to the burgers. Yum yum yum!

    And you are never too young for a bucket list.

  24. Hey, girl! I’ve been MIA since my parents were in town visiting, but I hope you had a wonderful weekend! :)

  25. I totally think you should drive up the cali coast to LA and come visit me :)

  26. My boyfriend and I were just discussing a bucket list the other night. I want to write one up and he thinks its kind of morbid…haha

    look forward to reading more!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

