Honored

A couple of weeks ago I received an invitation to join my friend Michelle for brunch this past Sunday. I gladly accepted… Hellllo breakfast buffet (side note: best french toast casserole EVER and i plan to recreate this weekend) and all you can drink mimosas. I sort of had an idea what it was for but I didn’t want to pry!

On Friday, Michelle asked me to come over ahead of time on Sunday so I could help her carry some bags she had for the girls. When I arrived she asked me to open mine… I wanted to wait so she asked me to open the card for now. As i read one of the SWEETEST cards anyone has ever given me I got goose bumps! At the bottom it read “I would be more than honored for you to stand by me and be my maid of honor on the day I become Mrs. Mitchell!”

I was so honored and of course said yes :) I’ve known Michelle for 10 years now and couldn’t be any more excited to spend this special day with her. I’ve even started thinking of bridal shower AND bachelorette ideas. Um, MOHzilla much!? Just kidding. But, really… I’m already planning – That’s what happens when you ask a planner to be your Maid of Honor!

Here are some pictures of Michelle and I over the past 10 years… I left out the ones when we were younger because nobody wants to see pink sweaters, with pink chain belts, pink pointy shoes and jeans with a pink outline. I’m sure the visual is enough.

Even though I knew Michelle would be engaged ahead of time – She had no idea. Robby & I had been on the hunt for the perfect ring! Michelle & Robby flew out to Vegas for a friend’s wedding and she came back with a big rock of her own.

Bling Bling

I’m so excited to see you two say your vows and spend every waking second for the next year helping you plan!!

Now that you know how excited I am about their wedding let me tell you what else I’m excited about… Bananas + Pudding + Muffins.

When I went to work today the mom said “Sorry it looks like I’ve been running a concentration camp – I’m headed to the grocery store now” It was kind of true… The only thing there was to eat was bananas, banana pudding mix and cereal. But we made do with what we had and invented the best banana pudding muffins EVER. The 5-year-old said “It’s so much fun cooking with you”. Those words make my heart melt… Therefore I let her have a no nap day! Good idea or Bad? I guess the parents will find out later, whoops!

Banana Pudding Muffins

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter melted
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 box of banana pudding mix
  • 4 medium bananas
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • Mash bananas

  • Mix in sugar and lightly beaten egg
  • Pour in melted butter and stir
  • Make a well in the center and add the remaining ingredients

  • Mix well

  • Pour into lined muffin tin

  • Sprinkle Brown Sugar on top if you’d like

  • Bake for 20 minutes

(The 5-year-old said the elephant couldn’t wait any longer!)

  • Let cool for 10 minutes

  • Enjoy one when it’s still warm!

I usually spread Peanut Butter all over my muffins/breads because well, i guess just because I’m addicted.. But this was perfect without it! These were fluffy with a pudding like taste. I love banana pudding, shakes and candy so these are definitely my new favorite muffins :)

So next time you see some of these…

and some of these…

(we clearly couldn’t use these…luckily i keep some extras with me at all times – that is not a joke)

Definitely make these!!

Now the children won’t have to starve ;) Kidddding

I also wanted to share the cutest cards the girls made today for an 11-year-old they know who just found out she has an inoperable brain tumor. We went to Target while they picked out “pretty paper” with “bright colors”. I hope these make her (and you) smile!!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

P.S. I added my blogroll to a tab at the top of my page. If I missed you – let me know here or shoot me an email alyssakuminski(at)gmail(dot)com

QUESTIONS: What is your favorite muffin? Have you ever been a Maid of Honor in a Wedding?

31 Responses to “Honored”

  1. Congrats!! My best friend just asked me to be her maid-of-honor too! She probably won’t get married for another 1-2 years but still, I’m so excited! It’s going to be my first time too! :)

  2. What a great friendship! The only advice I can give you is be there throughout the whole wedding planning…my mom made me ask a cousin rather than my best friend to be my MOH and it was the WORST decision!
    Can’t wait for that french toast-I looooooove bfast buffet style food:)

  3. Standing in AWE of your beautiful spirit and gifts (all God given, of course)! I was Aunt Kathy’s MOH.

  4. What a wonderful relationship you and your friend have! And how exciting that you get to be her maid of honor! How fun!

  5. Congrats on being her MOH! I’ve never been a moh before but I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun planning and doing exciting things with your friend.
    Btw amazing Banana muffins! You got some baking talent girl :)

  6. SO EXCITING!! I’m so happy for you! Just wait till you see how fun it’s gonna be. :) Eeeek!

  7. I have been MOH and I loved it. Congrats on the honor!

    Fave muffins: blueberry with a crispy muffin top..nom

  8. Yay! Congrats on being the MOH! I’ve never been one yet – my best friends aren’t engaged yet, but I’m planning my wedding and got to be the lucky one choosing the women standing next to me. I’m a terrible planner, so if/when I get to be a MOH, I’ll have to do some serious studying-up!

    BTW, your muffins look so yummy! My favorite muffins are banana chocolate chip or pumpkin or zucchini.

  9. I like any kind of muffins! These look amazing :)

    I’ve never been a maid of honor- none of my friends are married yet! I can’t wait to be when the time comes. I made my sister promise that I could be hers!

  10. I am maid of honor in my sisters wedding next summer but I have no idea what that entails haha muffins look delish I bet theyre super moist yum!

  11. My mom called me the MOH-zilla for my sister’s wedding! …I just had strict way bows need to be tied for her shower favors. ;) such sweet cards, too :)

    -courtney

  12. I’ve been in 2 weddings, had my own, and in my third this coming summer! It’s always such an honor to be someone’s maid of honor! I know you willll be such a loyal, helpful, and supportive MOH! Mine was the best! She was always helping me with everything! The perfect right hand “woman.” haha

  13. You are going to be the best MOH! Her bridal shower is going to be amazing filled with lots of decorations and cakeballs! I am imagining it now!!

    Blueberry muffins have always been my fav, I made them all the time in college. I’ve been a bridesmaid never a MOH.
    :-) Hope you have fun planning! Can’t wait to see all your fun ideas!

  14. I always get excited when someone close to me gets engaged- I’ve been a bridesmaid for each of my 3 sisters, and a maid of honor once (underage drinking induced emotional speech and all haha)
    We happen to have some very very ripe bananas on the counter today… good timing with the muffin recipe!
    Cheers!
    meri
    merigoesround.blogspot.com

  15. I have never been a maid of honor or a bridesmaid, mainly because Indian people don’t really have that custom. So I am so envious that you get to be one! I’m so excited for you and your friend!

    The muffins look delectable…I love the addition of pudding!!

  16. That is such an honor!!! Congrats on being MOH!!!!!

  17. That’s so exciting and even better that you’ve known each other so long! I can’t wait until my friends start getting married in a few years and me (?!). It’s so weird to think about though!

  18. Oh my gosh I’m obsessed with muffins. I could never pick a favorite. I have been craving chocolate chip lately though. I totally forgot about using pudding mix in baked goods, but it gives such a great texture! Chocolate chip cookies with pudding mix is a favorite.
    I just spent some time exploring your blog, and I have to say I LOVE the abundance of funfetti themed recipes on your recipe page. I’m obsessed with anything related to cake mix and sprinkles.

  19. Thats so awesome!! I was the MOH in my daddy and stepmoms wedding, which was pretty cool. Obviously I didnt throw the bachelorete party because I was like 10 years old, but it was a backyard country wedding, so it was special to be standing up there with them :)

  20. awww yay congrats sugar!

  21. that is too fun!! I can’t wait to be the MOH in my friends wedding. I’m a bridesmaid next summer :)

    Making those cards for the girls friend is beautiful & so kind!

  22. CONGRATS to you & Michelle!! You know you two really like alike :)
    I’m so excited to see what you plan for her! I know you will do a fantastic job!!
    And those girls you baby sit are just too cute- the elephant couldn’t wait- haha :D

  23. Congratulations! That is awesome!
    I’m sure you get this a lot, but you and Michelle look like you could be twins!

  24. I was the Maid of Honor at my best friend’s wedding and it was amazing. The only stressful part was writing the speech, but no matter what you say will be heartfelt, so don’t let it trip you up :)

  25. I LOVEEE THAT IDEA FOR MUFFINS! and wow thats so awesome about your friend….but who wouldn’t want such a pretty lady as their maid of honor!!!

  26. ah congrats!! that is soo exciting!!! i can’t wait to be in one of my girlfriends wedding one day!!! i think im going to have to wait a little bit tho.. hmmm good question im going to go with banana chocolate chip!! my two fav foods!

  27. What a sweet way for her to ask you to be her MOH! And I can’t wait to hear all about this divine French toast!

    Those muffins look SO yummy! They are making my tummy rumble, haha! And I just love that the 5 year old’s elephant couldn’t wait any longer. Too cute!

  28. And thanks for blog rollin’ me!! You are so sweet! Your blog is definitely one I enjoy reading every day! :)

  29. Congrats to Michelle and you for gaining MOH status! Im sure youll have a blast planning the wedding :)

  30. I love pudding recipes- they turn out so much better!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

