Chocolate Blueberry Granola

Clearly Friday didn’t follow my rules because Monday came WAY too fast. The upside of this Monday? It’s 88 degrees!!!! Over the weekend the sun was basically non-existent so today is a real treat!

Saturday morning I woke up early and headed to Washington DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival. I never take advantage of being a tourist in my own city and there is SO much to see. I’ll definitely be taking another trip when it gets warmer!

Look at that sky… Gloomy! After walking around the parade (so we could see it faster) we were frozen cold. So cold that we thought our feet would shatter like glass every time we took another step. (We’re not dramatic or anything) We decided to head into the Smithsonian of Natural¬†History to warm up – which is free = score! I haven’t been here since I was 10 years old so we defrosted in the cafe before choosing what exhibits to explore.

Cherry Blossom Cookies

Umm i forget what type of animal

This was all made from yarn!

How do people survive shark bites!?

Seriously… I want to know how anyone has ever survived a great white shark attack. That mouth is twice the size of my entire body! Our favorite exhibit had to do with diamonds… Diamonds really are a girls best friend ;)

The Hope Diamond – 45.5 Carats.

Hello 1000 diamonds…700 carats! I wonder how much this thing weighs? I would be willing to wear it to test it out ;)

Walking around for 5 hours in Tory Burch flats was a horrible idea. I guess I didn’t learn from my mistake in Boston. Seeing the historic landmarks, cherry blossoms branches, and enjoying my day off from the gym outside was all worth it.

By the way – have you ever been to corner bakery cafe? Apparently I’m the last person to experience it. I’m obsessed. I enjoyed half of a grilled vegetable Panini and a cup of chili. It was realllllly filling but my sweet tooth got a hold of me so I ordered an oatmeal raisin cookie. Sweet tooth 38 Alyssa 0.

Sunday I started my morning with a good sweat from a 60 minute spin class so I could spend the day with my favorite 4-year-old! We got manicures/pedicures, bought new makeup, went to Trader Joe’s, got some new baby doll’s and did lots of snacking! It doesn’t get any better than that :)

Seriously, how cute is she!? I hope one day I have a daughter as pretty and fun to be with as her!

When I got home I decided to whip up some granola… This was my first time making my own! I’ve really been moving out of the cookies/cake/cheesecake sweet phase and into the granola, dark chocolate & yogurt covered pretzels stage. ¬†I go through stages of eating the same thing over and over until I get bored and move on to the next thing.

The granola is SO good, SO healthy and SO perfect to use as a topping on anything (like frozen yogurt :) ). Or just to eat handfuls of… I wont judge since I will be doing anything and everything possible with this.

Chocolate Covered Blueberry Granola

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cups Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw flax seeds
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 3/4 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/2 of a 73% dark chocolate bar chopped
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 4 tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 heaping tbsp of natural peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce

Directions

  • Combine dry ingredients (first 8) in a bowl

  • Combine wet ingredients (last 5) in a sauce pan and simmer until melted

  • Pour wet ingredients into dry while still hot and mix well

  • Line baking sheet with parchment paper and spread granola mixture evenly across

  • Bake in 250 degrees for 60 minutes turning every 15 minutes

I ate a piece straight from the oven and burnt my mouth…i couldn’t resist! I love how crunch this turned out – it’s sweet but not too sweet. Make sense? I also quickly put some in a bowl and poured milk over it (lactose intolerant who?) because it seemed like the right thing to do. I was right…100% the right thing to do.

This made so much I might have to start gifting it! Anyone want some? :) Available to Maryland residents only.

Sorry for the picture overload but some were just too cute not to share – Get out and enjoy an activity outside tonight…Who knows how long Mr. Sun will stay.

 

QUESTIONS: Do you ever play tourist in your own city? Have you ever made your own granola?

30 Comments to “Chocolate Blueberry Granola”

  1. Too bad it was so gloomy for the Cherry Blossom festival, but it looks like it was a fun day, frozen toes and all!

    I live in Chicago, and have hit most of the touristy stuff by this point, but I’m sure I’m missing something…

    I haven’t made my own granola yet because the idea of having to attend to something every 10-15 minutes is just too much. I’m okay with popping something in and baking, but I hate having to constantly stir, turn, flip, etc. I’m a lazy cook!

  2. Aww, Sunday sounds like a perfect day with that little cutie!! :)

  3. very cool…and the garnola is to die for!

  4. YES! SF is a great place to play tourist. Your day in DC looked incredible and makes me want to participate next year for sure!

  5. What a fun day in the city. well apart from the gloominess that occurred! Being from Miami, we have tons of tourists so your bound to be a tourist at least for a day :)
    Yummy granola! :D

  6. I’ve never made my own granola before!! I need to though! The cherry blossoms are so pretty! I only play tourist in my city when I have relatives in town :)

  7. I play tourist all the time. There are still so many things I”m yet to see in Chicago… it’s crazy!

    So mad I didn’t get to see the hope diamond when I went to DC. Honestly didn’t know it was there! :(

  8. I live about 45 minutes away from Dc, but never go there. I really should. There are so many great places to go.

  9. What a perfect day in the city!!!!!
    ps-want to send that mason jar my way?

  10. I’m going to have to try this granola! Looks awesome! I love making my own granola!

    We play tourist where we live all of the time, I love finding new stuff close to us!

  11. DC looks gorgeous! I love playing tourist because it gives me an excuse to go to my favorite places & restaurants. 4 year olds are adorable – my favorite 4 year old who I’ve babysat since she was 2 always tells me, “Lauren, you’re being silly today!” It’s the cutest thing!

  12. I’ve always loved touristing my own town (or even state), but my interest has definitely grown since I’ve gotten more into photography. It makes everything more interesting! I’d love to see the cherry blossoms, the photos are always so pretty!

  13. You can send some of that delicious looking homemade granola my way! :)

  14. what a FUN weekend!!!! a ton of my friends went to dc for a missions trip over spring break- they LOVED it!

  15. Okay, next time you’re in DC we’re getting together! K? Good! :-)

    Even though the sun wasn’t shining, it looks like you had tons of fun! I love the Smithsonian museums and need to take advantage of them more often. It’s so easy to take attractions in your own city for granted!

    Love that granola recipe! The combination of blueberry + chocolate sounds deliciously fabulous. <3

  16. being a tourist in your own city is much needed sometimes!! looks like fun :D she is soso cuteeee!!

  17. So that cherry blossom cookie was adorable. And I thought it was going to be my favorite thing in this post. Then I saw the diamonds… Bow Chica Wow WOW! Love ‘em! :D And then I saw your little girl… so precious. I know what you mean. I love the little girl I watch and I hope my future little girl is as good natured as she is! :)

  18. omg such a good idea blueberry granola! AND loving that tiara ;)

  19. holy cow, I want some! I need to move up a state! waaah!

  20. Aww she is terribly adorable. And I love the diamond exhibit. I think I would have stayed there as long as I could lol. Wonderful photos and story as usual :)

  21. Those cherry blossom cookies were gorgeous!

  22. Just wanted to tell ya that I made your Vegan Banana Bread and it was so good! I added walnuts and subbed out applesauce for coconut oil since my applesauce had gone bad but great none the less!

  23. I want those cookies…and those diamonds….and your granola : )

  24. aw what a lovely sunday! and i am always playing tourist in pittsburgh! sometimes there is just so much to see!!

  25. I LOVE all of the pictures :) & the cookies with the cherry blossoms?! SO cool!!
    Looks like a really fun trip- sorry that your feet were killing you though :/

  26. holy diamonds look at those! wowzers. Im not that crazy about being flashy, but I SO wouldnt turn any of that down! The granola looks SO good. I totally just made some last night :)

  27. This granola looks AMAZING! I love dried blueberries, so I know I will love this :)

  28. sooo jealous of your weather its been raining here for 24 hours ahhhh granola looks to die for amazing im a sucker for all things blueberry!

Leave a Reply

