Motivated

Helllllo world :) Thanks for all of your sweet comments on my pictures from Easter weekend and all of your motivation tips!

I think all of the positive vibes you guys sent me really got me going yesterday morning. I woke up at 6 – went for a quick 3.5 mile run, did an arm & a buns workout and ate healthy all day.. I also had another quick workout before dinner that included 15 minutes on the elliptical and a legs and abs circuit. I already feel SO much better. Isn’t it crazy how getting off track can make you feel so blah? I’m thankful for all of you to keep me in check :)

BrittFit left a comment that hit home with me because I used to say this to myself ALL the time. “I’ve never regretted a workout”. It’s so true… The hardest part is getting to the gym – Once you are there its easy breezy. Well, kind of! I was thinking of things I usually do to motivate myself to get back in the gym/eating healthy routine and here is what I came up with.

1.) Make a new playlist on my ipod — Music determines how hard I work out… If I have a good playlist I will run and run and RUN.

2.) Break up your workouts — If 60 minutes of cardio is intimidating do 30 minutes when you wake up and 30 minutes after work. Chances are you will push yourself a lot harder in those 30 minutes than you would in the 60.

3.) Create a plan — Plan your meals, plan your workouts and plan your grocery list. A plan always helps you stay on track!

4.) Take a new class — Sometimes doing the same thing over and over will drive you crazy. Sign up for a yoga, pilates, bootcamp or a spin class. I guarantee it will push you to get back into your routine.

5.) Change your scenery — If you spent all winter in the gym, head outside for a run, find a trail to hike, bike your neighborhood or Rollerblade around a park. 

So now that I’m back on track I’m ready to show you some healthy recipes :)

1.) Protein Pancake

2.) Orange flavored Cranberry & Feta Chicken Burgers

Both are so easy and quick that we should rename me Rachel Ray!

Protein Pancake

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 2 tbs vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbs flaxseed
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 2 frozen strawberries, defrosted
Directions
  • Combine all ingredients into a bowl
  • Heat a skillet on medium high and spray with olive oil cooking spray
  • Pour batter into skillet as one big pancake
  • Cook for 3 minutes on each side (or until browned)
  • Eat up!
  • Add some agave if necessary but this pancake is pretty sweet without it :)

You could certainly use fresh strawberries but I think the defrosted frozen strawberries really give it that sweet flavor where syrup is unnecessary. This might be my new favorite breakfast! If I workout in the morning I would probably add a scoop of vanilla protein powder :)

One of the perks of working as a nanny is that I have full use of a kitchen ALL day. So for lunch I made these chicken burgers for the girls and I… They were delicious!

Orange Flavored Cranberry & Feta Chicken Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb ground chicken breast
  • 1/4 cup orange flavored dried cranberries
  • 1/6 cup feta cheese
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
Directions
  • Combine ground chicken breast, cranberries, cheese and egg white in bowl.
  • Shape into 3 patties
  • Heat 1 tbsp of Olive Oil in skillet
  • Add patties and brown on each side for 5-6 minutes or until fully cooked
Bleh – hate to look at raw meat but wanted to show you them being cooked.

Serve warm on a whole wheat bun with lettuce

The girls asked me if I would make these EVERY day… That can be arranged :)

Here’s to making it another healthy day! Happy Wednesday everyone.

QUESTIONS: What new healthy recipes should I make this week? Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner options needed :)

23 Responses to “Motivated”

  1. I definitely feel the same about my workouts, I’ve never regretted having going to the gym to exercise. I always plan out my workouts and my meals so that it’s easy to keep track of everything. Yummy pancakes! They look delicious :D Love your use of berries

  2. Congrats on your run and healthy day! I live by that quote “I’ve never regretted a workout.” It’s so true! :)

  3. These are great tips! I have been testing out “raw” recipes lately which has been very fun! I have also been looking for recipes with spring fruits and veggies (hoping it will encourage Spring to pop up in Chicago!)

  4. I vote fajitas! Nothing new or fancy but always delicious.

  5. Glad you are getting re-motivated!!

  6. Great job on the workout girl!! Maybe you could try some type of healthified pizza? I know it would be amazing!

  7. Love the pancakes!

    and good job on the workout!!! yay

  8. Motivation is the hardest part! Glad to hear you got it together. I think I’ll use some of your tips and get myself back on track too!!

  9. Maybe a cold veggie salad- you could make the veggies with a grain for dinner, then chill it overnight with a marinade and eat it for lunch the next day!

  10. Britt is so right! I’ve never regretted a work out. So true.

    Pancakes look great, girl!

  11. Yay for you! Super proud of you. I’ve also been eating healthy with the small misstep of some cookie dough bites that needed to be disposed of. But now they are gone. :-)

  12. Since the weather is getting so much warmer you should just do away with the gym altogether! There is nothing more motivating than being able to go outside for a run or long walk. It totally appeals to me, even when I’m at my laziest.

  13. The feta burgers look amazing. I admire you for getting up and getting your run in so early!

  14. Nice morning run! And you’re right- I definitely think morning workouts help to keep me in line for the rest of the day. Otherwise, I really just wasted getting up and putting in all the effort! And I hate feeling wasteful…

  15. Making a new playlist always does it for me – music is so energizing!

    As for recipes, I know that I’m on a big sweet potato oven fry/overnight oats kick right now. Who knows what that means, really but especially when the seasons are changing, I’m a total believer in eating what you crave – there’s always a reason behind it!

  16. Yes, I hate getting off track! It’s the worst. :/ But way to go, you are awesome. :) I love your tips and will definitely be using some of them!

  17. Changing the scenery is a huge thing for me. There have been times when the thought of going on the same running route just kills me, so I try to switch it up. Buying new workout clothes is also a great motivator!

  18. Oh, I love that…. never regretting a workout. It’s so true there are many days I regret working out, but never a workout I regretted. I think I’m going to write that down :)

  19. I SO agree.. my music determines my workout if I’m running outside! A new album is always the highlight of my life cause I know I’ll have a fab run. ;)

  20. The chicken burgers look fab!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

