Grilling…Avocados?

Hello out there :) Well, we got through Monday! The rest is easy peasy my friends…

Sunday Night I made THE most incredible side dishes while we grilled out. Grilled avocado stuffed with Strawberry-Mango Salsa and Sesame Miso Cucumber Salad. Strawberries, Cucumbers and Mangoes are SO fresh right now (which also makes them extremely cheap) and there is nothing better than having a fresh and inexpensive meal.

Grilled Avocados & Strawberry Mango-Salsa (serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 1 medium avocado, just turning soft, not fully ripe
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 medium mango, peeled, pitted, and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1/2 pound strawberries (about 1 cup), hulled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
Directions
  • Preheat a grill brushed with olive oil to medium-high, 300°F to 400°F.
  • Slice the avocado in half lengthwise, and carefully remove the pit; do not peel them.
  • In a small bowl, mix the agave with the oil.
  • Brush the avocado flesh with this mixture, cover with plastic wrap and set aside in a cool place (do not refrigerate).
  • In a medium bowl, mix the mango and strawberries with the vinegar, orange juice, and lemon juice. Let the mixture rest for at least 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, so the flavors can blend.
  • Grill the avocado, skin side down, for 2 to 3 minutes, until the skin begins to lightly char and take on grill marks.
  • Brush the flesh side of the avocado again with the agave-oil mixture and place them, flesh side down, on the hot grill for another 2 or 3 minutes.
  • With a spatula, carefully remove the avocado from the grill and place them on a plate.
  • Fill the seed cavity with mango-strawberry salsa, generously dribbling some on top of each half. Serve with a spoon to scoop out the avocado flesh and salsa.
Sesame – Miso Cucumber Salad
Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted
  • 2 tablespoons white miso
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon hot water
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
  • 4 cups thinly sliced seeded cucumber
Directions
  • Combine first 7 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk.
  • Seed cucumbers by cutting in half and taking a spoon to the middle and scooping out the seeds.
  • Slice cucumbers.
  • Add cucumber; toss to coat.

These made the perfect spring side dish for our first official grill night. We are in love over here :)
Sunday is Mothers Day (for all you boys who forgot…I know girls don’t!) and if you haven’t gotten your Mom a gift I’ve put together some ideas for you. My mom reads my blog daily so I will not be adding the gift I my brothers and I got her :)

Kindle

Who doesn’t love to read? The kindle is a great gift because it can hold more than one book at a time on the device and magnifies the pages so you don’t have to squint.

Wine of the Month Club

Let’s face it… We all know why Mom’s drink wine every night now that we are adults. The real world is stressful (especially if you have kids). This Club sends you 2 bottles each month. That should last them about…5 days? ;)

Custom Hand-Painted Wine Glasses (or margarita, beer etc..)

My girl Alyssa over at Life of Blyss paints wine glasses by hand and does an AMAZING job. Check out her site!

Pandora Bracelet

What do you get for the mom who has everything? Start her a charm bracelet from Pandora. They have fun charms that go with specific lifestyles – shopping bags and high heels for the shopaholic, wine glasses and cheese for the social mom and of course their colorful beads to go in between.

Gift Certificate to Spa

There isn’t one person I know who would ever turn down a chance to be pampered. If there is please let me know so I can have a serious talk with them… Get your mom a gift certificate to a spa in the area for a manicure/pedicure, massage or a facial. Or if you’re feeling really generous, all 3!

If you want to make your mom breakfast/brunch I’ve added some of my favorite recipes below to add for your mom’s special day.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread (Healthy)

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes w/ Apple Topping (Vegan & Healthy)

French Toast Casserole

Banana Pudding Muffins

We all know no meal is complete without dessert so here are a few of my favorites

Tagalong Crunch Cake 

Peach Thumbprint Cookies drizzled with Milk Chocolate 

S’mores Cookies

QUESTIONS: What do you usually do for your Mom on mothers day? Have you ever grilled an avocado? DO IT!!

31 Responses to “Grilling…Avocados?”

  1. Ok, so basically that looks AMAZING!!! And I’m totally making it soon, once I get a good deal on avocados..which might just be today at the local farmers market! yippee!!!

  2. My mom and I are going to the spa for Mothers Day, I am super excited! We are getting a hot stone massage and pedicures :)

  3. Grilled avocado sounds so tasty…and summery!! We’re not big on Mother’s Day in my house so usually I get my mom a card, some flowers and a pie from her favorite bakery!

  4. I’ve never grilled an avacado before but I want to try, yours looks amazing! Usually for Mother’s Day we take my mom out for brunch!

  5. Avocados are my favorite! I will definitely be making this!! We always go to breakfast for Mother’s day. I want to take my mom to brunch this year and every year for Chris’ mom’s mother day she picks an activity we all can do together. This year we are going ziplining, rock climbing and more adventurous outings!

  6. Love grilled avocado! My friend makes this amazing breakfast dish when we go camping – scrambled eggs, grilled avocado and grilled portobello mushrooms. It’s so fresh and amazing (and really good for you). Your dishes look fab as always!

  7. All great gift ideas! The kindle is amazing and we gave it to my Mom for her Bday. I often do a spa day because it’s lovely and indulgent and something she wouldn’t do for herself.

  8. My Alyssa ALWAYS makes Mother’s Day special! Love you sweetheart!

  9. Thanks for the great ideas girl! Usually I don’t have a problem getting something for my mom but this year is proving to be slightly difficult! That avocado looks delicious!

  10. Your blog just made me super hungry!!! That avocado with strawberry mango salsa looks amazing:) Can’t wait to try it!

  11. YOU ARE A GENIUS! I would have never thought to grill avocado! This looks and sounds so delicious! :) I will have to try this for sure! Hope you have a great Tuesday!

  12. i wish i could like avocados but i just hate them! i’ve never really liked things that are high in fat so i have to force myself to eat healthy fats in all my meals. i tried adding avocados to things but found i’d rather just eat nut butter & coconut flakes! i will take that cucumber salad, though! i love miso! sometimes i just spread it on toast :)
    for mother’s day i usually bake my mom’s favorite scones – something she’d never make for herself but i know she loves! :)

  13. I never would have thought to grill avocados, they look so good!

  14. Thanks so much for the shoutout and the love, Lyss. :) Lovelovelove it.

  15. I have never even thought to grill an avacado… looks amazing :) and perfect idea for Cinco De Mayo!

  16. I love avocados but I’ve never grilled them before, great idea. I’ll prob end up buying my mom a charm for her Pandora :D

  17. I have never grilled an avocado, I will definitely have to do this! It looks so delish!

  18. I would have never thought of putting avocado on the grill! Is the taste that much different? I have so many questions! lol

  19. I will definitely try the grilled avocado! Also, I’m a cucumber spazz and will definitely try your salad! I think I go through 3-4 cukes a week… Yummm….

  20. Wow…I’ve never thought to grill an avocado before. I can imagine it’s absolutely amazing! I love avocados any which way I can get them!

  21. I have never even thought of grilling an avocado but that is about to change. This looks incredible!

  22. I love avocados but I never thought to grill them! Genius! With grilling season coming up this is so perfect! I will be trying your cucumber salad by the way! I always order that at Asian restaurants but never thought to make it myself! Thanks!!

  23. You really just went there, didn’t you…. you grilled an avocado?! OOOH WOW. I must try- sounds insanely delicious. Not that avos could NOT be delicious but yeah..

    S’more cookies. Make them. Yum.

  24. Grilled avocado sounds amazing!!! I have never even thought to do that!! We always have a big family get together on mothers day!

  25. I don’t really like avocados, but these look amazing! Also, adding strawberries?! Delicious!

  26. Those side dishes sound and looked AMAZINGGGG!!!! I love avocado anything!
    also, great let of mom gifts! hose are some really good ideas! Every year my siblings take my mom out to eat somewhere of her choice for Mother’s Day and as a gift this year we have been putting away money for her to come on a trip to Italy!

  27. I sent MamaSue some very pretty flowers to her work, and scheduled the delivery for Thursday so she can bask in them in front of others for a few days!

    Also, I am allergic to avocados!!! I know, it’s horrible.

  28. 1. I’ve never grilled an avocado, but we’re grilling tomorrow night and have two avocados, so I could be totally convinced.

    2. For mother’s day on my side, we go out to brunch and walk by the river. On Marcus’ side, we have a dinner with the extended family.

  29. oh that is GENIUS- grilling avocado! YUM!

  30. ahh i have never had grilled avocado but it looks absolutely delish! i think anything on the grill is amazing, and your salsa on top just makes it look all that much better!! I am definately going to have to give it a try!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

