Fiesta Fiesta

Happy Friday! Anyone have a food coma/hangover out there? I paced myself so I could wake up at 5am for spin! I’m on a train on my way to New Jersey for a wedding filled weekend :) Last night my family got together to celebrate Cinco de Mayo and also to welcome home my baby brother who is now 21 years old and home from college for the Summer.

He’s all growed up now :(

My family is totally normal.

Our spread included lots of my mexican favorites

Salsa & Guacamole w/ Chips (too interested in eating to take a picture)

Mexican Lasagna

Chicken & Steak Fajitas

Southwestern Egg Rolls

SkinnyGirl Margaritas

Fixin’s Bar

and of course a Mexican flag triple layered cake. No party is complete without cake.

This festive cake was REALLY easy to make and super delicious. Check it out.

Mexican Colored Triple Layered Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 Box Funfetti Cake Mix
  • 1/3 Cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 Cup water
  • 8 oz fat free vanilla yogurt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 small box instant vanilla pudding mix
  • Food Coloring or Decorating Paste (red and green)

Directions

  •  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • With an electric mixer, mix the cake mix, oil, water, yogurt, eggs and pudding mix until well combined; about 1 1/2 minutes.
  • Divide batter evenly into 3 bowls.
  • Add red and green to two of those bowls.
  • Once mixed, pour each colored batter into well greased 9 inch cake pans (3 total).
  • Bake for 15-17 minutes or until cakes are cooked through.  Cakes will be thin.
  •  Once cooled completely, remove from pans and place first layer of cake onto a cake stand.  Spread frosting over top layer then place second layer of cake on top and continue this pattern until all layers are frosted.  Frost top and sides once layers are frosted.
  • Add decorations as you see fit. I’ve added pepper toothpicks to the side and a sombrero in the middle.
Ok so maybe it’s not the easiest cake ever… But it’s pretty darn simple. I like to serve this with ice cream.
Or a glass of milk
Hey, I’m allergic to it all so really, whatever is worth the pain!
It’s Favorite Friday!! In the winter I’m fine with a movie and dinner (at home) because I hate the cold…But when it gets warmer I love to go out on dates. Creative outings are always fun – It keeps the spark in your relationship strong.
Top Date Night Ideas
  1. Attend a cooking class
  2. Go for a hike
  3. Head to the Zoo or Aquarium
  4. Attend a concert
  5. Miniature golf, bowling or arcade at the boardwalk – Make a fun competitive bet
  6. Have dessert for dinner. Make sure this indulgence is worth it!
  7. Take a drive to a city in your state you’ve never explored
  8. Fill up a picnic basket with goodies and share your feast
  9. Go camping
  10. Participate in a wine tour at a local winery
  11. Volunteer at Habitat for Humanity or something similar
  12. Take a hot air balloon ride
  13. Watch the sunrise/sunset
  14. Head to a local comedy club
  15. Learn a foreign language
  16. Get a couples massage
  17. Take ballroom dancing lessons
  18. Go to a farm where you can pick apples, strawberries or whatever is in season
  19. Play a game of tennis, head to the batting cages or one on one volleyball
  20. Attend a sporting event
I really could go on, but this is getting a little wordy!
I’m almost to NYC where my boyfriend is meeting me at Penn Station. Wedding weekend (not ours, duh) here we come :)

What is your favorite date idea? 


24 Comments to “Fiesta Fiesta”

  1. I had my first Skinny Girl Margarita last night and loved it! I will be drinking those from now on instead of regular margaritas. What a fun Cinco de Mayo you had! I wish I had planned a little better, and done something for Cinco de Mayo.

  2. We went out for mexican last night in the lower east side, pina coladas, margaritas, and chips and guac = heaven!

    That cake came out great!

  3. This is so cute, I love the cake, it’s so festive! Everything looked amazing, looks like you had a great Cinco de Mayo especially with your brother turning 21 :D

  4. Hey, your family Rocks! As for normal……great job Liss ! xo

  5. Great date ideas! My favorite is an active date like snowboarding or hiking, or our absolute favorite – sushi night!

  6. Omg that cake is too cute! Since I am a graduate student and funds are low, my fav date is simple and cheap. Homemade dinner eaten outside as a picnic (or at the patio set depending on the meal lol), or a nice walk around the neighbourhood or a pretty park, stopping at starbucks for a treat. I’m so lame :P

  7. Wine tasting — helps break the ice ;)

  8. have a great time in NYC! you looked gorg in your latest pic update! loved the dress!

  9. I think the cooking classidea is a GREAT ONE!

  10. im such a sap for sunsets and cuddling watching stars!!! ahh i love love love date romantic date nights!!!

  11. as lame as it sounds, most of the time im so TIRED by the time the weekend rolls around that I like to stay in (<—–loser!) BUT in the summer I like just hanging out outside when its warm but not hot and relaxing!

  12. Mexican lasagna sounds amazing!

    My favorite date night…usually these types of nights happen when we are on vacation minus Maya…otherwise we are way too tired to think of something to do. Aside from collapsing in front of the TV…

  13. Looks like an amazing party! Lots of good food and drink and that cake is fantastic!

  14. I have yet to have a Skinny Girl marg… wanted one for awhile! Food all looks fabulous, hvae fun at the wedding!

  15. That party looks amazing!! So much delicious food and fun :D

    And I love the camping date idea! :)
    <3

  16. Your cinco de mayo feast looks like it was amazing, I can’t get over how adorbs that cake turned out!

  17. Wow that cake is LEGIT! So amazing! Yay for your brother being 21! I was so excited when my sister finally turned!

  18. You are so cute! And that cake is GORGEOUS :)

    I love the ballroom dancing date idea… oh, and the camping one :) so many fun ideas!

  19. That cake looks delicious! And fun!

    I hope you had a great weekend. And thanks for sharing such great date night ideas. I want to go to a comedy club with my husband sometime soon. Normally the standard dinner and a movie thrills me though.

  20. That cake rocks! You’re so creative!

    What a cute list of date ideas. My favorite date night is ordering dinner in and watching movies on the couch until I pass out. But if I have to go out, then probably mini-golf and this amazing chocolate cafe near us with giant, over-priced vats of chocolate fondue and wine! It’s divine!

  21. Yes! It has been a little while, but the last time my hubby and iI ordered pizza I totally had a food hangover. Ouchies! Your food looks pretty worth it though!

  22. love your date night ideas-I can really use those with my new beau:) you guys had such a feast and it looks fantastic! your lil bro is uber cute:) hehehe

  23. awww, looks like so much fun! And I love your date night ideas!

  24. Ohh I love your top/dress….could you please tell me where you got it from?

Leave a Reply

