Mini baking kick

If you read this blog regularly you know I am pretty much obsessed with peanut butter… Like SUPER obsessed. If I could marry peanut butter, I would. But I haven’t craved peanut butter in 3 weeks. 3 WEEKS!? I told myself this morning if I didn’t want it by the end of the weekend I was clearly sick and needed to see a doctor.

When 3 pm hit today I had a craving… A sweet intense craving for my one and only.

Finally… It was just as good as I remember :) After a couple of finger dips into the jar and a couple of crazy looks from the girls I nanny for we decided to make a treat with the couple of drops I left in the jar ;)

Unfortunately I only had my iPhone today so you will have to deal with these pictures and trust me that when I say this is DEFINITELY my new favorite snack.

Peanut Butter Granola Balls

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 cup rice krispies
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1 Tbsp. flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup raisins

Directions

  • Add honey, peanut butter and butter to sauce pan and heat until melted
  • Pour into oats, flax, rice krispies and raisins.
  • Mix well
  • Spray a mini cupcake pan with non-stick spray
  • Spoon mixture into pan

(This should have made 24…but someone must have eaten some “batter”)

  • Chill for 15 minutes until set
  • Store in refrigerator

I want to figure out the calorie count for these babies. Or maybe I dont…because I had 4? All that matters to me is that my love for peanut butter is BACK! I’m clearly loving mini sized baked treats lately…

None of my other meals were blog worthy… Cereal, Salad, Fish Tacos w/ veggies, fruit…  you know. I woke up at 5am for Body Pump and we did the newest release. I really liked the music and everything about it besides the man next to me who is an extreme grunter. He also takes the Bootcamp class I take on Tuesday mornings… He grunts there as well Super. Awkward.

After work I hit up Trader Joe’s – What I always fear of happening…happened.

OK, so it’s nothing crazy or traumatizing… But I don’t appreciate having to cart my groceries around like a baby.

I spent Around 55 dollars and got all of this

Noteworthy items from this shopping trip include:

Huge Watermelon for $2.99

Mini Ice Cream Cones – Gotta get my dessert in! 70 calories each :)

Chicken-Less Stuffed Cutlet. This looks verrry good to me? Anyone ever had them?

Lentils and Spiced Soybeans

anddd that’s about it. The rest of the items were my normal buys: fruits, vegetables, yogurt, mojo bars and rice cakes. My life is exciting.

Something that is exciting?? I MOVE IN TWO WEEKS!!!! I guess I should start seriously packing??

Something else that is exciting?? This Saturday I’m going out with my girlfriends for one last night in Baltimore. We’re having sushi and then heading to a local club. Sunday I will be with my family for one last family get together before I move. Lots of good food, good company and hugs going on this weekend :)

I have to work an Absolut Event tomorrow night so I won’t be posting until Monday! Have a great weekend.

QUESTIONS: What was your favorite buy at the grocery store this week? Any grunters at the gym??

29 Comments to “Mini baking kick”

  1. THREE WEEKS?! How did you LIVE?!

    Scary times, scary times..
    :D

  2. My favorite buy was a $4 massive container of pretzels. It is glorious. :)

    And I love sneaking the pb into my baking. And chocolate. The two clearly go hand in hand.

  3. I love how we’re both super obsessed with PB :)
    3 weeks?! That’s nuts! Glad it found its way back into your life!

  4. I just got Trader Joe’s savory marinated tofu and I LOVE it. I had no idea it would be as good as it is.

  5. OOOH, LYSS. I have to try that recipe. maybe this weekend :) oooh…..

    p.s. the pb “problem” must be an alyssa thing. that, or we’re twins fo real.

  6. Those are awesome. Healthy and delicious!

  7. I got those cones this week too! They’re awesome, but it’s like they’re 140 calories because I always eat two.

  8. Those stuffed cutlets look so good!
    After being on vacation, when I got home and went to the grocery, I beelined to the fruit and veggies. I’ve been eating celery with peanut butter on it this week, such an old school yummy snack!

  9. does chicken-less mean not real chicken? dont’ try to sneak those in when we live together :)

  10. I’m glad you’ve reunited with PB and all is right again with the world!
    Have a blast this weekend and soak it all in! At least you’re not moving too far away so you can still visit with friends & fam.

  11. Yum! Those granola bars look fabulous!! But no PB for three weeks?! How did you live?! Haha, sometimes I don’t crave PB for a while either (I eat almond butter instead ;) )

    My favorite buy at the grocery store? Hmm, probably my Greek yogurt :D
    <3 <3

  12. Adam is funny! Oh and if you really think that Sunday is the last time you have to see your family….think again my love!

  13. Those bites look AWESOME!!! My favorite buy this week… probably all the heath bars I used to make a cake ;) hahaha not exactly healthy, but the cake turned out good!

    I’m not a grunter unless I’m playing tennis and I’m pretending to be Venus Williams. Which doesnt happen often, since I suck at tennis. hehe

  14. Haha agreed, grunters are AWK.

  15. Haha I don’t go to the gym, I’d rather run on the street and use weights at home. But yeah, “grunters”? That’s hilarious!!

  16. Holy yummm I wish I were on a baking kick, those pb balls look amazing!

  17. that loooks amaaaazing, i want to bake so badly but i never end up doing it haha. I bought goat cheese and i’ve been craving it soo badly so that’s prob my favorite purchase. Grunters at the gym are soo funny/awkward

  18. Where are you moving to?? This week was not my week to hit up the market but next week I am heading to the farmers market and can let you know then what my best buy is ;o)

  19. no grunters at the gym but there is one old dude who listens to the news on his headphones and yells back at the news anchors. it’s entertaining but he’s really, really conservative so i never agree with him and i get tired of listening to him scream at obama! :)

  20. I hate when people grunt really loudly at the gym- it freaks me out! A little bit doesn’t bother me, but when people are screaming… it’s just weird!

  21. omg i crave pb 24/7 haha

  22. I encounter grunters in the weight room ALL the time! Why can’t these burly men keep their noises to themselves?? Geesh. Sweat-spillers are the worst though…More than once a a guy’s sweat has spattered on to me while running on the treadmill. I know, yuck, right?

    Those granola balls seriously look amazing…I’m worried I’m starting to experience peanut butter burnout though! Scary!

    I leave for California Thursday, so if we’re going to meet each other, it HAS to happen this week!!! Let me knooooow! xoxo

  23. I’ve made a similar granola ball recipe and they were a HUGE hit! These look amazing as well.

    Funny, I bought the same TJ’s lentils this week for the first time. I can’t wait to break into them. Let me know if you come up with some amazing way to serve them!

  24. I had peanut butter yesterday morning. I swear, it always puts me in a better mood! Your little pb granola balls look so tasty!! And 55 bucks for all that stuff…that’s a steal!

  25. These look fantastic! I always expect treats like these to be pressed into a pan and cut into squares, but shaped by the mini muffin tin is so creative. They look fantastic!

  26. oh geeze ur pb granola balls look amazing!!!! i feel like i could eat 25 of them in one sitting though!!

  27. So glad your PB love is back! Your little snack looks super yum! Have fun beginning the packing process, girl!

  28. Those little granola balls look SO adorbs! And good luck on moving/packing, it’s always a pain for me!

  29. oooh girl—those peanut butter balls are making me all hot and bothered :)

Leave a Reply

