Spinning and Spud Soup

Yesterday I wasn’t feeling so hot! But, I was feeling a little better this morning so I woke up and made myself a hearty breakfast. I must admit – what I had for “dinner” the night before was not very nutritious. Needless to say, I was happy to jump back on the healthy bus again. I’m sure you’re dying to know what I had…A cup and a half of Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked ice cream… Yikes. Do you ever notice when you eat a lot of sweets before bedtime you wake up extremely thirsty and feeling famished? Yeah…So no more of this.

and a lot more of this…

This mornings breakfast was a winter favorite. Baked apple oatmeal. Super simple to make…

Ingredients: (Makes 1 serving)

1/2 of a fuji apple

Cinnamon or Pumpkin Pie Spice

Raisins

1/2 of a Harvest Spice granola bar

1/2 cup of old fashioned oats

1/2 cup of Almond Milk (unsweetened)

1 tablespoon of better n butter Peanut Butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Chop half of the apple up into about 3/4 inch squares. Add to a pyrex dish with water to coat just the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle with your choice of spice. I prefer Pumpkin Pie or Cinnamon. Put in the oven for 10 minutes or until apples are tender. While the apples are cooking make your oats. I try not to use quick oats anymore because the old fashioned ones are THAT much better for you and they really don’t take much longer to make. Trust me…once you start cooking them on the stove you will never look back at your microwave (at least for oats). Once the oats and apples are done mix them in a bowl. Add your own toppings. I chose a Tbsp. of raisins, a tbsp of better n butter Peanut Butter and 1/2 of a pumpkin flax seed granola bar crunched up on top. YUM. This really is one of my favorite breakfasts!

After I was done licking my bowl clean of the oatmeal I decided to throw something in the crock pot for dinner. I love a home cooked meal on Sundays… Everyone usually heads to my Grandma’s house for football and food but she hasn’t been feeling well and it’s getting close to Christmas so I’m sure she’s busy! I had a recipe I wanted to give a try anyways. Originally posted onΒ Dinners for a Year and Beyond. I’ve of course changed a thing here or there.

Loaded Potato Soup (Serves 6 – 8 people)

Ingredients:

1 bag (2 lbs) of baby yukon gold potatoes (diced into 1″ cubes)

5 cups of reduced sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth for vegetarians

1/2 large onion, chopped

Salt & pepper

Garlic powder

1/4 cup Almond Milk

1/2 cup shredded reduced fat cheese (i used cheddar)

2 Tablespoons butter ( i used brummel and brown)

6 strips of turkey bacon, cooked & chopped (of course you can use regular bacon…was trying to be a tad bit healthier!)

Green onion sliced

Directions:

1. Combine potatoes, broth, chopped onion and seasonings in crock pot. Cook on low for 9 hours.

2. Mash potatoes in crock pot and add milk, cheese, butter, bacon and green onion. Season to taste with more salt & pepper.

3. Serve with extra toppings. Cheese, bacon, sour cream, chives, ham, corn – whatever your heart desires! If my boyfriend was here I would probably add some steak to this because he is a total meat and potatoes kind of guy.

4.) Voila – Easy Sunday dinner! I like to freeze the leftovers and take them out to thaw on a morning where I know I’m going to have a busy day…

Well I’m off to a 60 minute spin class…I haven’t been in weeks and the teacher is hardcore! Wish me luck πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Spinning and Spud Soup”

  1. This oatmeal just sounds comforting. Very nice

  2. I could totally eat that for dessert!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

