Sexy in Safeway

How was everyone’s weekend!? Mine was OK, besides the fact that it was a numbing 7 degrees all weekend. M.i.s.e.r.a.b.l.e. My weekend workouts consisted of

Getting swole. 60 minutes of Body Pump.

Running 6 miles. This is NOT me. I wouldn’t dare wear tube socks to a gym.

Spinning. 60 minutes.

Zumba! 60 minutes.

I tried Zumba with a different instructor and I actually liked it! It all has to do with the music and this teacher knew what she was doing. Little did I know I would be dancing next to Shakira. She almost knocked me over swinging her hips and her long blonde hair whipped me in the face a couple of times. I am SO sore from those workouts that I just might have to take a rest day today 🙂

Some other things I did this weekend were

Relax by a warm fire. (The majority of my weekend consisted of this)

Made some changes to the blog! Do you like it? I have an easier recipe tab now! I still have work to do…

Shopped at my new favorite place. Since when did grocery stores replace Malls in my favorite category?

OH and completely embarrassed myself.

Remember when I told you that I was a HUGE klutz and I always had some type of ridiculous thing happen to me on a daily basis? Today was no acception…BUT, todays klutziness act has topped anything and everything from my past. I ran up to Safeway (grocery store) to grab an avocado and on my way to the payI spotted a sign that said “Blueberries 99¢ Originally $4.99” so I did a quick turn around and my pants fell to the ground. I kid you not. WHY ME!? My pants were too big because Victoria’s Secret thinks the size XS is really an XL and they got caught underneath my UGG boot when I did the turn around and instantly fell to my ankles. This is the part where I want to say “Thankfully nobody was around” but then I’d be lying. There were people around – a woman and a man. I wanted to throw my avocado and blueberries to the ground and run away crying! Instead I walked to the check out line with my tail in between my legs and my face 8 shades of red. I couldn’t pass up 99 cent blueberries. I’m almost positive that nothing more embarrassing could have happened to me…and I also guarantee that these things always only happen to me!

Moving on… I also watched these two monsters.. I’m not a HUGE dog fan, but you have to admit they look cute snuggling.

and made a couple of warm comforting meals.

Breakfast for 1

Roasted Banana with Chocolate Cream Sauce

  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 banana, cut in half crosswise then lengthwise
  • 1 tablespoon dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tablespoon agave
  • 1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place bananas, cut sides up, on the baking sheet. Sprinkle with brown sugar, cinnamon and a tiny bit of agave. Place in oven.

Meanwhile, mix greek yogurt, cocoa and agave in a large bowl. Remove bananas when they are golden brown (about 15 minutes). Place on plate and top with chocolate cream sauce.

Another dessert like breakfast accomplished 🙂 The house where I’m house/dog/child sitting has a TON of cooking light/eating well/martha stewart recipe books so I’ve been in Heaven!

I decided to make Sunday dinner but wanted to keep things simple. The side dishes turned out extremely well as did the main course but I’m more of a veggie girl than meat lover these days 🙂

First up…

Caramelized Zucchini with Parmesan Crust

  • 2 Large zucchini, sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • Pepper
  • Drizzle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese, finely shredded

Heat oil on Medium in large non-stick pan – add zucchini without overlaying any pieces. Sprinkle salt & pepper onto zucchini. Cook for about 8 minutes on each side or until slightly tender and golden brown. Turn off heat on stove. Push the zucchini close together & sprinkle cheese on top. Cover for 1-2 minutes until cheese has melted.

I always make zucchini but adding the cheese was a nice change…and who doesn’t love cheese?

Next one on the list:

Lemon & Cinnamon Sweet Potatoes

  • 3 good-sized sweet potatoes, scrubbed and trimmed of fibers
  • 1 1/2 cups apple juice
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp freshly grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice of half lemon

Preheat oven 375 degrees. Prepare a large baking dish by spraying with Olive Oil Cooking Spray. Place sweet potatoes in saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer just until tender. Drain sweet potatoes and set aside. Let cool. Cut into rounds 1/4 inch thick and lay them in prepared baking dish.

In a heavy saucepan place apple juice, agave nectar, nutmeg, cinnamon zest and salt. Simmer over low heat for several minutes. Add olive oil and lemon juice. Stir well. The liquid should now be syrup.

Pour syrup over potatoes. Place the baking dish in the oven and bake sweet potatoes for 20 minutes or until hot. Serve hot.

These were SO SO good. It had a sweet touch without having to add butter and brown sugar to it like a restaurant would. I wish you could smell it through the screen because it gave the most pleasant aroma throughout the house for hours. It made me want more dinner instead of dessert. Say it isn’t so……..

Delicious sunday dinner meal 🙂 (Also pictured is a pomegranate balsamic turkey breast)

I’ve seen a lot of posts about what to make a boyfriend for Valentines Day – I recently made a hardcover picture book for my boyfriend (Don’t worry Adam, none of your friends read this 🙂 ) through iphoto of every picture we had together from the past year. You can put as many pictures as you would like on a page, arrange them to your liking and even write captions or make a story out of it. It turned out really cute and if you are looking for something creative to do I highly suggest it.

Cover.

Random inside page.

I’m off to figure out my meatless monday meals and find the tightest pair of pants I own so there are no more mishaps! I hope everyone has a great week 🙂 Below are sunset’s from Friday, Saturday AND Sunday! Enjoy.

QUESTIONS: What is the most embarrassing thing that has happened to you? What did you do this weekend? Do you like my new set-up on the blog better than the old?


 

22 Comments to “Sexy in Safeway”

  1. 7 degrees? yikes?? and I was bitching at 40 degrees!

  2. First of love the new set up. Second, the horizon pictures are gorgeous. Third I Always manage to fall in front of my boyfriend which is both good and bad good because he helps me up bad because I still get embarrassed in from of him lol…. Great Idea for the Iphoto picture album I have iphoto on my make did you just print the book from your home? or what? I need details on the way you did the book because I’d like to make one for him too!

    • Hey! You know in iphoto on the left hand side where it says untitled book? Drag the photos you want to use to that “untitled book” and then it will come up with options on how you want to design your book. Then at the end it will say buy book – it charges to your itunes account and ships it – pretty easy 🙂

  3. Love the new set up-your weekend looked great! The food, photo album-everything amazing!!!

  4. That is way too cold!! I was complaining when it was in the 50’s and I live in Miami lol

  5. Love the new layout, much more organized! I went to Safeway last night for the blueberries and they had grapefruits for a dollar!

  6. Great post. And I must say I love the sweet potatoes, yummy. I will admit though, I just try to look decent while in the gym. I don’t really care about looking ubberly cute. BUT when I leave the gym, I do have to look cute lol.

  7. Wow, you had a ton of great workouts this weekend 🙂 Lovin’ your new layout too, by the way. LOL about pants! At least you got a great story out of it! Your Caramelized Zucchini with Parmesan Crust looks amazing!! One of the most embarrassing things that has ever happened to me has to do with me pulling out the gas pump out of my car, and not realizing that gas would pour all over me. I was with a bunch of guy friends (including my bf, who was just a friend at the time). I got gas all over me, and i was MORTIFIED!

  8. Looks like you had a weekend filled with great workouts! I ALMOST tried zumba this weekend..it was right after my bodypump class, but I decided I would rather go home and have breakfast, haha. Awww I’m sorry about your embarassing moment…Stuff like that totally happens to me too. I have so many embarassing stories I dont even know where to start!

    I like the blog changes by the way!!

  9. I totally would have ran away crying!! Good for you for toughing it out for those blueberries!
    Sounds like a great weekend for working out though! I wish I had a gym member ship so I could try all those cool classes!

  10. Wow, your post makes me want to try all of those cool classes! Classes are so awesome because you get to work different muscle groups! Way to go!

  11. I would have been so embarrassed. Props to you for sticking around for the sake of blueberries – although that is a great price!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  12. You had some great workouts and some great eats! Roasted banana and chocolate cream sauce?!!? Yes, please!

  13. Oh my goodness, girl, that’s rough! At least you can laugh about it, though, right?

    Aww, I made one of those books for Christopher when he proposed. Like, I knew he would be proposing any day and I wanted to give him something too (’cause I got to have the ring, hehe). So I made him a photobook and in the back wrote a letter about how happy I was to be engaged to him and etc. So the same night he proposed, I went back to my dorm and got the book so I could give it to him! 😀 They do make a really great gift!

  14. Sounds like an awesome weekend of workouts! And I can’t believe your pants fell down in the store! Ah, at least you can laugh about it now! 🙂

  15. oh dear that is crazy!! I feel embarrassed for you! 😦 I would be mortified, esp. since my undies don’t exactly cover my bum if you know what I mean! I hope you were wearing a boy short version or something which makes it a little better lol Chin up! hopefully you won’t see those people again!

  16. Ooo, so jealous you have palm trees in your sunset pictures! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

