3 brownies – 1 pan

First of all, I totally forgot to wish you all a happy national peanut butter day yesterday. Did you get your fix in? Of course I did… 3 times πŸ™‚

My morning started off a little stressful… I am still house sitting and getting a child off to school, feeding dogs and doing the rest of my morning routine was a little much for me. I forgot to pack my breakfast and after I dropped the boy off at school I was so hungry i thought my stomach was going to eat itself. Somehow I made it back and was able to make a quick breakfast.

See, I told you I was hungry (half eaten apple before bagel popped out of the toaster) Cinnamon Raisin bagel thin *new obsession* – one side with better n peanut butter and strawberry sugar-free preserves, the other side with goat cheese.

Work consisted of ballet classes, crafts and birthday party planning! We made a Β Valentine Day wreath… They love their crafts πŸ™‚

Lunch for Meatless Monday was a whole bunch of veggies stuffed in a pita and a side of cottage cheese with blueberries.

Drizzled with some hot sauce – This might be my new favorite go to lunch. I have been obsessed with pitas lately!

I skipped my workout to watch Oprah and because my back was in a lot of pain from the weekend workouts. Did anyone watch Oprah? I occasionally tune in when I have time but yesterday’s show was a good one… It was sad yet happy – Does that make sense? If you saw the episode you will know what I’m talking about.

The 16-year-old that I am watching while house sitting had a long day at school so I decided to make him some brownies πŸ™‚

Those looked kind of boring to me so I decided to try and make 3 different types of brownies in this one pan. Double Chocolate, Smores and of course Peanut Butter Chocolate.

Did you know the average brownie has almost 400 calories!? Ugh…sorry to be Debbie Downer. While browsing through Cooking Light magazine I saw this recipe and made a few changes – These brownies are about 145 calories each…Much better than 400 and still just as tasty!

Fudgy Brownies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa (I used ghiradelli)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 2 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup 1% low-fat milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1 large egg
  • Cooking spray
  • All natural Peanut Butter
  • Ghiradelli Chocolate Chips
  • Graham crackers (1/2 sheet), crushed
  • Mini marshmallows

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Weigh or lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, cocoa and salt in a medium bowl. Stir with whisk.

  • Place butter and chocolate (dark, chopped) in a medium microwave-safe bowl, and microwave at HIGH for 45 seconds, stirring every 15 seconds. Stir until smooth and set aside. Cool slightly.

  • Add 1 cup sugar, milk, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, egg yolks and egg; stir with a whisk to combine. Add butter mixture to flour mixture stirring just until combined.

  • Pour batter into an 8 inch square metal baking pan coated with cooking spray.

  • Take a knife full of peanut butter and swirl it through 1/3 of batter

  • Take crushed graham crackers and SOME of the chocolate chips and swirl through 1/3 of batter with knife.

  • Last but not least add chocolate chips to the last part of batter and mix in with knife.

  • Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

  • 2 minutes before the brownies are done sprinkle marshmallows on top of graham cracker section and place under broiler to melt/brown.

Yum πŸ™‚

Peanut Butter section

Smores section

Double Chocolate

I tasted every single one but I couldn’t pick a favorite! I liked that these had a nice crunch to the top and a fudgy mid section (without giving me a pudgy mid section πŸ™‚ )

Since it WAS National Peanut Butter I had a square or two of the dark chocolate topped with some better n peanut butter.

Cheers!

QUESTIONS: Did you celebrate National Peanut Butter day? If so, with what? Have you ever made a low-fat brownie? Could you tell the difference?

26 Comments to “3 brownies – 1 pan”

  1. Wish I had a brownie!

  2. Haha! I love that you made all these different versions of brownies in one pan! So great. πŸ™‚

  3. I did watch Oprah and felt sorry for all parties involved. I was also inspired by Oprah’s story though – if she can get through such horrible obstacles in life to become a success than I have no excuse! I’m glad they found each other.

    I wish I had a brownie too!

  4. Delicious looking brownies ❀

  5. I definitely did celebrate National PB day! I mixed it with yogurt, cottage cheese, strawberries, and some cocoa almonds. And still haven’t made any brownies! At least not without the help of Betty Crocker lol *embarrassed*

  6. What a cute idea of having three types of brownies in one pan! πŸ™‚

  7. I didnt even realize it was national pb day… Guess I unknowingly celebrated! LOVE the brownies, they look incredible and are pretty awesome on the health scale too. Thats exactly how they should be! Nicely done Debbie downer! Heehee πŸ˜€

  8. What a fabulous idea, 3 in 1!!! I did not have peanut butter on National PB day, I blame 13 hours at work for that!
    I love the “No Pudge” brownies in a box that they sell at Target. You can make individual servings by mixing the batter and a bit of yogurt or water. So yummy!

  9. Your pita pocket looks so good!! I wish I could my veggies to stay put when I try this! I’ve never made a low-fat brownie before. I’m sure it will taste pretty good. I celebrated peanut butter day over the weekend with cookies yum!

  10. I did enjoy national Peanut butter day with some homemade goodies! I havn’t had marshmellows in a while I miss those little guys! Breakast looks good I need to look for cinnamon bagels!

  11. Brownies with marshmellows?? Ummm yes please!

  12. Oh goodness gracious! Peanut butter brownies?! Sign me up!! These look and sound amazing!

    I think it’s National Peanut Butter Day EVERY day for me. Seriously…I probably consume at least 3 T./day…It’s my healthy fat of choice. πŸ™‚

    That’s so cool that your sister was on The Bachelor last season!! What’s her name? And I completely agree–Jake was a bad, bad boy! The fact that he chose, shall we say it nicely, a not-so-classy woman, says a lot about his character! So I guess it’s good that your sister wasn’t picked!

    Where do you live?! We should get together!

    • I consume that much (or more) of PB a day too… Whoops!!

      Her name is Ashleigh – Yeah…Vienna was an interesting choice! I’m not sure what he saw in her!!

      I live in MD – We should def get together…try some good eats around DC, obviously πŸ™‚

  13. MMmmm those look fabulous!! I adore brownies. I love them all hot and fudgey. And I totally celebrated national pb day, ALOT πŸ˜‰

  14. Love all the dif sections! I would try out each one…and have to try them out again just incase!

  15. I had no idea it was National PB Day earlier this week until it was too late. No worries, though- I more than make up for it on a daily basis. πŸ™‚
    Nice work on getting all your cravings into one pan!

  16. your settin yourself up for making me birthday brownies! πŸ™‚

  17. HI! Just wanted to introduce myself, because my name is Alyssa too πŸ™‚ Coincidence, eh?? Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

