Operation NICE

I stumbled upon this website today (thanks to Self Magazine) and it really caught my attention. The website is called Operation Nice and it simply encourages people to be proactively nice. There are a lot of positive upbeat stories about how an act of kindness affected them and “assignments” for you to do every couple of days.

Wouldn’t it be great if EVERYONE in the world was nice? I can’t stand when I go to the grocery store or the MVA and someone miserable/rude checks me out. If you hate your job that much find a new one…and if you’re in that bad of a mood go home and take time to yourself, don’t try to bring me down too :)! Monday was “Pay a compliment day” – since I was too busy celebrating “National Peanut Butter Day” I missed it… So I am going to do it today! My goal is to compliment 5 people today – I am kind of shy so this will be a step out of my comfort zone but I am up for the challenge! I’ll let you know how it goes πŸ™‚ If you want to try it too and can’t think of anything nice to say (which I’m SURE you guys can!!), just head to this website for a list full of compliments.

Yesterday’s eats were simple – but every single one tasted SO good. I don’t know if I was starving by the time I finally ate them or if they were really that good but I was a happy girl come bed time πŸ™‚

Breakfast – PB&J Oats

1/2 cup oatmeal, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 tsp Better n Peanut Butter, 1 tsp Sugar free Strawberry preserves and a handful of blueberries

Lunch: Apple & Avocado Spinach Salad

1 apple, 1/2 of an avocado, 1 1/2 cups of spinach – Balsamic Vinaigrette

Snack: Home made Protein Granola Bar

Dinner: Buffalo Chicken, pepper jack cheese and spinach Panini

Dessert: Vegan Chocolate Chips – I swear…after this bag is done I’m not buying these!!! For 2 weeks, maybe πŸ™‚ I left my Peanut Butter at work… this could be a good or bad thing. Good that I wasn’t able to mix my chocolate chips in and scoop them out and bad if this snow keeps up and I cannot get my peanut butter fix today.

Buffalo Chicken Panini

Ingredients

  • 1Β lb of natural chicken breast tenderloins
  • 1/2 block of pepper jack cheese (shredded)
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • Bread of choice (I used a wheat sandwich thin for myself – white for the 16-year-old)
  • 1 cup Franks red hot buffalo sauce
  • Olive Oil Cooking Spray

Marinate the tenderloins in the buffalo sauce for 30 minutes. Spray skillet with Olive Oil cooking spray and heat on medium high. Saute tenderloins for 8 minutes or until cooked throughly.

Transfer to plate.

Turn on Panini maker on low (200 degrees or so) and start stacking your sandwich. Sprinkle cheese on one slice of bread, add 1 1/2 – 2 buffalo tenderloins and top with spinach. Top with other slice of bread and place on panini grill…

Cook for about 3 minutes.

Inhale. Easy and delicious, no better combo than that…besides choc and peanut butter and maybe pancakes with bacon – but you get my point.

I should’ve never used the Breville Panini Maker because now I need one…and I don’t have $180 for one. Sigh.

Workout for the day was a Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown video. My back was still sore so I decided to take it easy…but this video was everything BUT easy. I think I’m ready to get in a good run today!

I’m going to a girls night out on Saturday in DC (finallllly, much-needed) with some of my best friends and I need a cute dress to wear so I was going to take the girls to the mall but it’s icy so I’m going to have to look online. I found this one…

Thoughts? It may be too “wedding”ish.

Also yesterday at the grocery store I got a HUGE bag of twix and an even bigger bag of Valentines M&Ms – I want to make a fun dessert out of them…Any ideas/requests?

I’m going to post a new challenge tomorrow that seems like a lot of fun!

Happy Hump Day!

You can’t live a perfect day without doing something for someone who will never be able to repay you.Β  ~John Wooden

 

39 Responses to “Operation NICE”

  1. Love OPERATION Nice! Get out there and make a difference in somebody’s life~

  2. That dress is pretty, but the white satin makes it a little too weddingish like you said.
    But, no matter what you wear, you will look beautiful!

  3. have you seen those pretzels with the m&m’s and the melting chocolate?

    http://www.marthastewart.com/photogallery/your-best-valentines-day-desserts#slide_9

    They are so good!!!

  4. Operation NICE sounds amazing! I’m off to check it out!

    And buffalo chicken paninis sound AMAZING!! YUM!

    That dress is super pretty, but I agree…it might be a bit weddingish!!

  5. love love love sandwich thins! i am going to try out the bagel thins one day! you should try lulus.com for dresses! cute and inexpensive!

  6. Did you jus say – “I am kind of shy…” Hmmmm….

    Anywhoooo, thanks for the tip to Operation Nice, what an awesome concept. I’m going to check it out.

  7. It’s nice to be nice lol Cute little quote. I should start implementing that everyday πŸ˜‰

  8. The other day I informed everybody in the household that is was “Be Nice to Tom Day” – mostly because I had been not very nice the day before. The kids thought this was great fun – especially on picking up my every failure from the be nice mission.

  9. Love the dress but it is a little fancy for a club, but depends where you are going? I just had blueberry oatmeal yesterday morning. How funny!

  10. The dress is super fabulous. I love it!

    And I also love this idea of being “Nice” It makes my day when people are kind for no reason. I’ve been the receiver of a lot of “nice” in the last week and it makes me feel so good =)

  11. I love the idea of Operation Nice! I definitely know a few people who need to practice this!! I will also try to compliment people MORE today than I usually do…but I always love giving compliments (that are sincere).

    I’ve read a lot of blogs where they are eating buffalo chicken wraps/paninis, etc. They sound so good! I love buff chicken dip…probably my favorite unhealthy dip! haha

    Anyway, goodluck finding a dress for girls night! Where are you going? That one might be a little dressy unless you are going somewhere really nice?

  12. I LOVE the Jillian Michaels Videos she kicks my ass! Bout to do one here in a half hour!

  13. I wish I saw more people during the weekdays so I could compliment them. Unfortunately, I only seem to see my coworkers, family and boyfriend/friends. But I’ll try too! Your Apple & Avocado Spinach Salad looks amazing. I love all three ingredients!! I like the dress a lot! Very classy, but still cute and fun! How about a dessert pizza with the candy bars?

  14. looks a little short to me πŸ˜‰ jk

  15. Love the cute pink spoon that you have with your oatmeal!
    Anything buffalo chicken sounds like a GREAT meal to me. The dress is beautiful!

  16. I looove your compliment idea! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! πŸ™‚

  17. Love that dress! I also love this Operation Nice, I’m going to have to look into that!! πŸ™‚

    Your food all looks delicious. Wanna come to Africa and cook for me?! Yeah, I wouldn’t want to either… Lol.

  18. omg I’m so glad I just found your blog! I absolutely love it:) The dress you posted is gorgeous and I love love Jillian’s yoga meltdown! I’ve actually never done the second level though! I’ve been trying to do the first one as much as I can because I know once I do the second one, there’s no going back;) Also love the compliments idea! way to go with that one:)

  19. I ove jillian’s yoga dvd. The second round though is CRAZY tough. Holy smokes that one leg thing where you hold it with you hand and extend it kills me. I feel like such an idiot compared to those girls!

  20. Not toooooo wedding-ish but I hear what you’re saying…you can easily get away with it though, do something fun with your hair (not formal) and accessorize!!!

  21. They alwaysssss serve buffalo chicken sandwiches in our dining hall but I think I would be more inclined to get yours before getting theirs! The dress gets a definite thumbs up, it’s SUPER cute!

  22. That chicken panini looks to die for. It looked so good that I think I will make me one today. And it’s always great to have a girls night out and live it up. But the dress may be tooo dressy for where you’re going (I really like it though). Have you tried Forever21? or ModCloth?

  23. I adore the message in this post!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

