Challenge

Hi friends ♥

Yesterday I posted about starting a blog challenge that looked fun. I had seen it on a couple of fellow blogger sites and was excited to get this 30 day challenge started! However, after reading over some of the topics I’ve decided to pass. A lot of the subjects are very serious and pretty deep… I’m not ready to elaborate on them so I found one a little more to my liking. Maybe one day I’ll try the other one but, for now here is what I’m going to do: Below is a list of the “challenge of the day” – I will elaborate on the subject at the end of my normal daily posts… If you do this challenge let me know so I can follow you 🙂

Day 0: The 30 Day Challenge Explanation and Description
Day 1: Introduce, recent picture of yourself, 15 interesting facts
Day 2: Meaning behind your blog name
Day 3: Your first love
Day 4: Your parents
Day 5: A song to match your mood
Day 6: A picture of something that makes you happy
Day 7: Favorite movies
Day 8: A place you’ve traveled to
Day 9: A favorite picture of your best friend
Day 10: Something you’re afraid of
Day 11: Favorite tv shows
Day 12: Something you don’t leave the house without
Day 13: Goals
Day 14: A picture of you last year – how have you changed?
Day 15: Bible verse
Day 16: Dream house
Day 17: Something you’re looking forward to
Day 18: Favorite Place to Eat
Day 19: Something you miss
Day 20: Nicknames
Day 21: Favorite Picture of yourself ALL TIME Why?
Day 22: What’s in your purse?
Day 23: Favorite Movie
Day 24: Something you’ve learned
Day 25: Put your iPod on shuffle, first 10 songs
Day 26: Your Dream Wedding
Day 27: Original Photo of the city you live in
Day 28: Something that stresses you out
Day 29: 3 Wishes
Day 30: a picture of yourself this day and 5 good things that happened since you started the challenge

OK – On to the day…

Started out with an icy morning – I had to take the boy to school late…which made me late to work – which also made me want to gnaw off my arm because I wasn’t able to eat breakfast until about 10:45 am. Not cool… Breakfast was a repeat of yesterday. 

PB& J Oats

Lunch was… um gross. So there was no picture of it. I ended up throwing out more than half and snacking on an apple, protein bar and some buffalo hummus with pretzel thins.

The girls and I went to the mall and I found a dress for Saturday night! Thanks for all of your comments on yesterdays dress – I think you will think this one is a little more “GNO (girls night out) appropriate”

For some reason I cannot find a decent picture on the internet anywhere so this is the best I can do…until you can see me in it 🙂

Or if you’d like to click on THIS LINK it will show you the full sized picture of the dress. I absolutely love it 🙂 It was the first and the only thing that I tried on… It’s a good day when that happens!

Last night was my first night back at home! While I’ll miss the heated bathroom floors, waking up to the sunrise on the bay and the fireplace next to the king sized bed, it sure does feel good to be home! Since we were “supposed” to get snow for the millionth bajillionth time I wanted a comforting warm dinner. I saw a recipe for Mashed Potato Meatloaf and decided to make it healthier by changing it into Sweet Potato Turkeyloaf! This had SO much flavor – I’ve never even made Meatloaf before so I was happy with they way it turned out (even if it does look a little funny). Truth is, my mom kind of scarred me with her meatloaf when i was younger (sorry mom!) but i thought it was time to get over it and move on. (Btw, my mom has increased her cooking skills since then 🙂 ) Do you want me to stop talking and show you the recipe already? Thought so…so here it is:

Sweet Potato TurkeyLoaf

Ingredients

  • 1.25 pounds of lean ground turkey
  • 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 small sweet onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup honey bbq sauce
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat panko

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F . Lightly grease a 2 quart baking dish.
  • Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add the sweet potato, and cook until soft, about 10 minutes.

  • Drain the sweet potatoes, and mash or whip until smooth.

  • While potatoes are boiling – Mix the ground turkey together with the egg white, sweet onion, garlic, barbecue sauce, ketchup, Dijon mustard, and panko in a large mixing bowl.

Raw meat looks gross.

  • Add the sweet potatoes, and stir until evenly combined. If the mixture seems too wet, add more bread crumbs. Use your hands to form the turkey mixture into a loaf shape and place in the prepared baking dish.

Raw meat still looks gross.

  • Bake in the preheated oven 1 hour. Slice the loaf to serve.

It looks good now because it’s cooked – but we kept poking into it because I was starving (seems to be a lot lately) so it was kind of breaking.

My slice. Also had a little romaine lettuce on the side..

Dessert: Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Soft-fro-yo

Clearly my go to dessert.

It was a sad night because these babies

are all gone. I’m going to hold off on buying these for as long as possible. Anyone wanna guess how long that will be?

I’m also extremely handy just in case you didn’t know…

Yep, I fix garbage disposals. So many talents in one little girl… Haha.

We actually DID get snow this time!! For once our meteorologists weren’t lying. OK, lying is a stretch…. but they were finally right about the accumulation that would occur.

 

I took these right before I went to bed. I was totally banking on a no-work day! Which btw happened 🙂

Operation Nice went well yesterday!

1. Gave a random girl a compliment on her outfit at a boutique store

2. Gave the waitress at Nordstrom Cafe a big tip with a nice note

3. Paid for a man’s groceries (really he only had one thing) behind me in line.

4. Gave the little girl I nanny for an award for good behavior and complimented her on her sharing/listening skills.

5. Wrote a handwritten letter to “someone” (cant disclose their name because they read this) simply stating “You are so beautiful. My life is SO special because of you”

I still plan on attempting to give out *more* compliments daily – You never know what your nice gesture could do for someone’s day!

OK 30 day blog challenge Day Number 1:

Introduce, recent picture of yourself, 15 interesting facts

My name is Alyssa for those of you that don’t already know…and here is a little about me… I live as I always have—by my own rules, wits, and desires. I can tell you that life is worth living. I’m a hot mess and so is my room. I might laugh too much for my own good. I’m an obsessive doodler. I’ll probably never hate you even if I say I do. I fall into walls and laughs at my own jokes. Honesty always gets my attention, not just someone who is honest to me–but someone who is honest with themselves; that is a quality I really enjoy, admire, and love. I know how to laugh out loud and party hard. I always stay up late and never sleep in. I take way too many pictures, because I figure no one takes a picture of something they want to forget. I’ve seen too many movies – Well…half of every movie – Turn off the lights and I’m out. I am somewhat of a Martha Stewart. I could spend hours days in Target. I’ve learned to not to take things too serious. I’m a sucker for pretty eyes and a nice smile. I’m not concerned with impressing a bunch of people who I’ll never meet. There are too many mediocre things in life and love should not be one of them. I’m not good at goodbyes. I like to write and love to cuddle. My family, friends and boyfriend mean the most. I’m loud and extremely opinionated. I don’t sugarcoat anything but I believe a lot of people appreciate this quality and ask for my advice on a variety of issues. Running is the greatest escape. Cooking is talent. One of my many. I have a major sweet tooth that needs to be ripped out of my mouth and i believe there is nothing prettier than a sunset or sunrise.

Next for the picture – First let me tell you that I’m kind of embarrassed that the most recent picture I have on my camera of myself was from Boston (New Years) – the rest are all food! However, I did take a couple on my phone so that’s what you’ll get.

I look orange but it’s the flash on the crackberry. I’m really as white as a ghost.

15 random things about myself:

  1. It really annoys me when I spend a lot of time cooking a meal and someone goes ahead and pours salt all over it before even tasting!
  2. I was a cheerleader when I was younger but I was seriously uncoordinated.
  3. I crack every bone in my body.
  4. I had never broken a bone in my body or received stitches until a month and half ago…I broke my pinky toe – walking into a wall – in my own house – sober. Klutz.
  5. Im lactose intolerant but I still insist on eating ice cream or drinking a cup of whole milk chocolate milk when I’m aware of the pain that will occur shortly after.
  6. I’m a prissy girl who enjoys camping, hiking and white water rafting. Ok, i dont enjoy the last one YET because I’ve never done it. I plan on scratching that off my list this year.
  7. I’m extremely shy and hate speaking in front of people.
  8. I don’t watch much TV… If I’m home alone (which I am every other week) I don’t turn it on once.
  9. I love heights… I cant wait to jump out of an airplane!
  10. I rarely cry… Is that good or bad?
  11. I have a “tramp stamp” – I hate it. I regret it. If I had a chance to do anything over again it would be to live that day for sure.
  12. I know every lyric to every song, your birthday if I’ve met you and every phone number I’ve ever had.
  13. When I sign my name its just an A and a line….a___________
  14. I’m addicted to peanut butter and chocolate.
  15. I have learned more about myself in the past year than I have in the 25 before that.

Whew, day 1 completed! I hope I can stick to this… I tend to slack in the commitment area…

Tomorrow’s Favorite Friday! But most importantly, FRIDAY!

QUESTIONS: Did anyone else have a snow day? How did you spend it? Have you ever done a blog challenge?

 

 

30 Responses to “Challenge”

  1. What a fun challenge! It’s a great way for your new readers to get some more information about yourself and a chance for older readers to learn something new!

  2. Love the challenge and can’t wait to read what people write…as for the meatloaf – way to go!

  3. Yum love the turkey meatloaf and banana froyo! 🙂

  4. I’ve never done a blog challenge before, but this sounds really cool! If I didn’t work full-time I’d definitely do it! It’s flurrying outside right now. I hope it goes away! I really want to try the vegan choco chips!!

  5. I will definitely try to keep up with this challenge!! The first love one sounds like it could get a little interesting! haha I’ll be sure to read! Heading to trader joes this evening, any good suggestions?

    • Ha yeah that one could be interesting…

      First trader joes experience!? lets see….. well i am obsessed with better n peanut butter. absolutely obsessed. the bag of sweet potatoes has really come in handy this week and they are so orange and yummy! smoky peach salsa, lobster mac and cheese, sweet potato gnocchi, and their pitas! i could go on…but im sure you already have a list 🙂

  6. MMMmmmmm those chocolate chips look amazing!! I like your challenge, maybe I’ll do something like that soon. Until then, it’s neat to read yours!!

  7. That challage sounds pretty fun actually. Not too serious. I’ll try and do it on my blog, although I don’t post daily, so I might have to lengthen it a bit.

  8. I love the idea of incorporating sweet potatoes into thickening a recipe like that! budget and waist friendly! yum

  9. You got tons of snow!
    Your teeth are as white as that fresh fallen snow, jealous!
    I can’t wait to make myself some banana peanut butter fro-yo. Hopefully tomorrow as I have a bunch of bananas.
    You are going to look great in that dress! And the sweet potato meatloaf is something I would love to try!
    Ooo, I’d be missing the heated tile floors too 🙂

  10. That’s a lot of fun facts girl!

    I did a 30 Days of Insight challenge…it was fun for awhile and a good way to have people get to “know me”

    I love whitewater rafting btw!

  11. Hahaha I totally just cracked up reading your #4 random thing about breaking your baby toe, in your house:) That’s so something I would do! And if you’re anything like me, you’ll be back at the store buying chocolate chips within like…24 hours! I can’t stand going very long without chocolate:) I can’t believe you’ve never had anything other than hot chocolate at Starby’s! How is that possible!?! I wish I could box up a vanilla latte and java chip frappuccino and send it to you in the mail! 😉

  12. Ah, we have so much in common! Ditto on the eyes & smiles, sunrises & sunsets, adoration for target, falling into walls… so many things!

    It was fun to learn more about you even though I’m new here so now i feel like a borderline creep, buuuut I mean well I promise! 😉

  13. Hey Alyssa! I just found your blog. 😀 I am going to give that challenge a try. Little things always mean a lot. 🙂 I can’t wait to read more of your blog! Have a great night girly!

  14. PEanut butter banana and chocolate is such a good combo for dessert! 🙂 I really like the meatloaf too… I love that you said you learned about yourself more in the last year than you have in the 25 before that, that is pretty great that you can say that you have really grown this past year! Did your blogging have something to do with u growing as a person so much in the last year? My blog has helped me change for the better I think

  15. This challenge seems fun!!! I don’t think I have had my blog long enough to participate in a challenge! (otherwise I would) No snow days in LA, so lucky me!

  16. What a fun challenge–maybe I’ll join. I rarely (if ever) cry either–so I think it’s a good thing! 🙂 I think it means we have our emotions under control, right?

  17. I’ve seen the 30 day challenge on a couple of bloggers sites-great idea!!!! I may steal some of the topics (hope you don’t mind)
    I love that dress….i’m in search of a dress w/sleeves!!!

  18. you meannnn you remember everyones phone number except mine? 😉

  19. hey there!
    I just stumbled upon your blog & will definitely stay tuned. I just started a blog so I think your 30 day challenge is a perfect opportunity for me! =)

    –Karla

  20. Absolutely loved reading this! And I love this 30 day challenge! It’s a lot more fun and less heavy than some of the others I’ve seen going around. Who knows, maybe I’ll do this… 🙂

  21. All the food looks amazing – I cant wait to try the PB and J oats… YUMMM

    Your blog is so cute! I love it and can’t wait to read more… I just started my blog about two months ago – it is so addicting 🙂 Check it out if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  22. I simply want to tell you that I’m new to weblog and seriously liked you’re web blog. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly have exceptional well written articles. Appreciate it for sharing your webpage.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

