Healthy & Dairy Free

Yesterday I woke up feeling refreshed and ready to tackle my sugar addiction! I decided to make a banana bread for breakfast… An extremely healthy banana bread. No eggs, no oil, no sugar, no dairy… and still amazingly delicious. Take that sugar cravings!

I also was trying to stay from my Peanut Butter so I made some fresh Almond Butter to spread on my slice. Why haven’t I made this before today? No salt, no sugar – Just simply perfect.

If you are looking for a guilt free delicious breakfast I highly suggest you make this – It definitely wasn’t lacking any flavor!

Peanut Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 2 Tablespoons Ground Flaxseed
  • 2 Cups Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 1/4 cup Peanut flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
  • 1-1/2 Teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 Cup Natural Applesauce
  • 1.5 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 4 Medium-Sized, Very Very Ripe Bananas, Mashed (about 2 cups)
  • Add ins – I knew I was going to spread almond butter on top so I didnt add anything but I think walnuts would be perfect

Directions

  • Preheat your oven to 350ΒΊF and grease a 9Γ—5-inch loaf pan.
  • In a large mixing bowl combine the almond milk and flaxseed and set aside.

  • In a medium-sized bowl, sift together the flours, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  • Returning to your mixing bowl, blend in the applesauce, vanilla, and bananas until well mixed. Stir in the dry ingredients by hand, being careful not to over-mix; a few lumps are okay.

  • Gently fold in the nuts, fruit, or any other add-ins, if using.
  • Spread the batter into your prepared loaf pan, and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until the top is browned and resilient to the touch.

  • Allow the bread to cool in the pan for 10 to 15 minutes before removing it to a wire rack to cool completely.

  • I also made one small loaf that took about 22-25 minutes if you choose to make them mini-sized

I plan on eating this for 2 days and then freezing the rest! If you do freeze this make sure you wrap it really tight and stick inside a plastic bag.

Lunch was Spinach, romaine, cucumbers, pepper and carrots with roasted red pepper hummus. This was my first time substituting hummus for salad dressing and it was SO good. If you’ve never tried them together, give it a shot.

I made it to the gym after work and ran intervals for 40 minutes. It was totally random because I did it by the songs on my ipod so for every song I ran/walked at an incline from 4.0 and level 4 incline to 7.5 level 1 incline. I pushed myself to go because it was already Wednesday and I was trying to convince myself to start over next week but the good side of my brain said no, just do it! I sure didn’t regret it πŸ™‚

Dinner was Shrimp, Mushroom & Spinach Risotto – This was my first time making actual risotto since the last one I made was actually cauliflower.

Shrimp, Mushroom & Spinach Risotto – Dairy Free & Vegan if you leave out shrimp

  • 4 ounces dried shitake mushrooms
  • 3/4 pound of shrimp
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 2Β½ cups vegetable broth
  • ΒΌ cup lemon juice
  • 2 cups chopped spinach
  • 1 t. sea salt, plus more to taste
  • 2 T. olive oil, divided
  • 2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • Β½ cup finely chopped onions
  • 8 ounces crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 t. dried thyme
  • 1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
  • Β½ cup dry white wine
  • 1 T. dairy-free soy margarine
  • 1 Β½ T. nutritional yeast
  • Black pepper, to taste

Preparation:

1. In a small bowl, combine the boiling water with the shitake mushrooms, and let them soak, uncovered for 30 minutes. Drain the liquid into a medium-sized saucepan and discard the mushrooms. Add the vegetable broth to the sauce pan, bring the mixture to a simmer and cover.

2. In a small bowl, toss the spinach, lemon juice and 1 t. of the salt. Set aside.

3. In a heavy bottomed saucepan over medium heat, heat 1 T. of the olive oil. Add the chopped garlic and onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onions are tender and translucent, about 6-8 minutes. Add the mushrooms and thyme, and cook until the mushrooms are soft, about 4 minutes more. Add the remaining 1 T. of olive oil and the rice, and, stirring constantly, cook until the rice is evenly coated and sounds like crispy rice cereal in the pan, making snapping and popping noises, about 4 minutes. Drop in Shrimp. Add the wine, stirring constantly, until all of the liquid is completely absorbed.

4. Ladle ΒΎ cup of the simmering broth into the rice and cook, continuing to stir, until most of the liquid is absorbed.Continue to add the broth in ΒΎ-cup increments, allowing the liquid to be absorbed before another addition, until the rice is translucent around the edges but still solid in the middle and the rice is of a creamy consistency, about 20 minutes.

5. Add the spinach and cook for just about 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly, or until the spinach is wilted and bright green. Stir in the dairy-free soy margarine and nutritional yeast. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

This could probably serve 2-3 people. It was filling, “cheesy” and tasted a lot better than brown rice! It even left me satisfied enough to not even crave dessert. Woohoo!

I found out that Thursday is actually my Friday because the family is going to the beach since its going to be 70 degrees out! A beautiful weathered surprise paid day off? Sounds like a perfect way to start the weekend! I’m hoping to go hiking for the day in Virginia – i’ll get a great exercise in and it will keep me away from the malls. Everytime I have a day off I end up spending more money shopping then I would’ve even made! Guess that’s what boredom does to you..

Speaking of shopping and 70 degree weather… That must mean spring is on its way! New season + new trends = Shopping Trip…I will probably wait a couple of weeks to start my spree but here are some things I have my eye on.

Number 1 must have: Cargo Skinny Pants – LOVE these


Number 2: Trench Coat – obviously this is a staple and not a trend but sometimes its fun to get a new spring color


Number 3: Colorful clutch – A girl can never have too many bags


Number 4: Romper – Yes, I like onesies


Number 5: Cognac colored wedges – My favorite waist belt is cognac so I like to keep it in the family


Number 6: Stripes – Call me where’s waldo but I cant get enough striped shirts in my closet. This is actually a 3 in 1 for me. Gray (favorite new color to wear), stripes and a t-shirt dress.

Questions – Do you shop at the beginning of each season for new items? Have you ever made a guilt free bread?

Day 21: Favorite Picture of yourself ALL TIME. Why?

This is one of my favorite pictures of myself because I love the way my hair looks! I am not good at curling my hair but I was proud of myself for the job I did that night πŸ™‚

OH more exciting shopping news – I received my shoes from Shanna!! Love them and they fit PERFECTLY πŸ™‚ Thanks again girl!


43 Responses to “Healthy & Dairy Free”

  1. I made risotto (red wine & beet!) for the first time last night – so good!!

  2. Yay for spring and an excuse to shop! I am absolutely loving the skinny cargos. They are on my neverend ‘to buy’ list

  3. So where are the cognac shoes from? I love those.
    Yes, I do shop at every turn of the season. I like to get some new trendy stuff whenever I can. Shopaholic.

    I’ve never made a guilt free bread. I love your recipe and I am going to print it off to make myself. Do you think I could use whole wheat flour instead?

  4. Dude, you are such a great cook! Love the banana bread!! I’m so intimidated my risotto, and while I love to eat, I probably won’t make it anytime soon. But at least I can live through your meals!! πŸ™‚ I’ve seeing skinny cargos everywhere!! Can’t wait to try them!

  5. I made pumpkin almond butter bread you can check it out in my recipes its pretty guilt free! I always buy new clothes at the beginning of each season! I love the teal color of that trench coat!! I’m not a huge fan of stripes but I do really like those cropped pants too, casual yet cute!

  6. omgsh that risotto looks delicious! Too bad you can’t send it all cooked up in the mail πŸ˜‰
    I want that trench coat in particular–but any of those would work! I gotta go do some spring shopping myself..I think those items are on the to-buy list! πŸ™‚

  7. I need a clutch!! Haha, NEED πŸ˜‰ But they are really cute!!

  8. That banana bread sounds delicious, and so healthy too! I’ve actually never tried risotto though, but after seeing your recipe that might just have to change. πŸ™‚ I love buying new clothes at the beginning of each season. I just got some gift cards for my birthday too so I think a little shopping is in store very soon. πŸ˜‰

  9. I am in love with that trench! I want one in a fun spring color too. That aqua is super cute, or maybe a lavendar?! Oh girl, I’m so stoked to go clothes shopping when I get back to the States!! πŸ™‚

    • It’s aqua – funny that you thought it was lavendar…just realized I have a lavender one. Guess I wont be needing the fun teal one too! haha – I think I might be as excited as you that you get to go shopping when you get back…

  10. That banana bread looks SO good! It’s making my mouth water!

    I absolutely love that striped teeshirt dress. I have waaay too many clothes with stripes on them, but I love them so much!

    That’s a gorgeous shot of you! But then you’re always beautiful so that’s no surprise. πŸ™‚

  11. I love those skinny cargos bebe had some on sale but i didnt catch them in time 😦

  12. Yippeee!

    I want those skinny cargoes too!

  13. I love banana bread! A healthy recipe makes it even better πŸ™‚ I am currently working on reducing my sugar intake as well…we can do it!

  14. Peanut Banana bread? YUM! And that risotto looks great too!! I love risotto!
    Your hair does look GORGEOUS in that picture! My favorite pictures are also the ones that my hair looks good in πŸ™‚

  15. Omggg I am going to try your cauliflower risotto!! Slash you are gorgeous love dove, and that is the cutest trench coat I have ever seen, I love spring colors! I saw your comment and I would LOVE to do a bloggy meetup! I will email you later today love and we will chat!

  16. 1. SO jealous you won shanna’s contest!!

    2. I have a romper outfit that I wore last summer. I LOVED it but felt like others loooked at me funny. Whatever.
    I tried on the turquoise coat from Kohls. Did not like the color on me but def need a trench for spring!

    I love spring clothes shopping, esp. since I’m going to hawaii in May and need lots of new cute summer stuff!

  17. OMG- that risotto- I want some NOW! I HAVE to make that this upcoming week- I know the mister will like that too πŸ™‚
    LOVE that last dress- the striped one- supe cute!

  18. I LOVE THAT TRENCH COAT. and I love rompers as well… no shame in that game. πŸ˜‰

  19. those wedges!?? SOOOOO CUTE

  20. Something tells me you would love David Lerner: http://www.dlcollection.com/

    A little lacking in color, but the style matches a lot shirts/tights you suggest. PS whats your favorite cognac belt look like?

  21. that bread looks delish! I love warm banana bread with butter!

  22. Wow – you have an amazing site here! I don’t know how you found me – but so glad that you did!

    I LOVE banana bread. I have to read back to find out why your cutting out so much stuff from your diet though?

    I don’t think I could ever give up my yogurt or treats though…:(…so sometimes reading this stuff makes me very self-conscious and I’m sure how good it is for me to read…but….most of my recipes are healthy and lower in sugar as well I guess.

    Your fashion style rocks!! I want to be your roommate πŸ™‚

  23. I think you may be my hero. Sugar free guilt free banana bread?!?! I have been looking for a recipie like this for wayyy to long. I haven’t had banana bread in such a long time and have been craving it. Now, I must go to the store and buy some ingredients. πŸ˜›

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

