It’s Empty…

I’m pretty sure today was the longest day of my life! I am feeling overly tired and need to get a good night’s rest so my cold doesn’t sneak back up on me!

Tonight I realized I have one of these…

An empty Peanut Butter jar… I’ve seen lots of OIAJ and OOIAJ posts by you girls and I need to know your BEST recipe so I can go ahead and make some tonight. I’ve been dying to try it and even though I go through peanut butter jars like it’s water this is the first time I remembered to save the jar before licking it clean. So please let me know your favorite way to enjoy so I can join the craze!

Last night I had a pizza party – for 1 – with 2 pizzas. Sounds about right, right? I made buffalo chicken on whole wheat with cheddar and pepper jack cheeses and a Margherita on whole wheat dough. (all pics from iPhoneΒ –Β sorry!)

My favorite was the buffalo chicken! Franks Buffalo Sauce is the bomb dot com. Yes, i just said the bomb dot com. The Margherita one was really tasty too but I don’t think I rolled the dough out enough and it was a little under-cooked in the middle. Somehow that didn’t stop me from eating half of both!

This morning I decided to have pancakes in honor of presidents day… I tested out the lo carb banana supreme mix I received over the weekend… Major fail. I don’t know if I made them wrong or if they were just weird in general. The recipe called for 3 tbsp of heavy cream and 1 egg added to the mix but said you could substitute fat-free sour cream and an egg white for a healthier version. I decided to go that route and use greek yogurt and the egg white. They were dry, thin and just plain bleh. I tried to be creative and add cocoa almonds for a crunch – I also failed with that. You win some you lose some.. I think I’ll stick to my Pumpkin Pancakes!

I was probably the only person who had to go to work today – The girls and I headed to the mall to see gnomeo and juliet…Everyone else clearly had the same idea – there were no parking spots, tickets were sold out and screaming children were outnumbering adults 4 to 1. The girls were upset so i quickly suggested we get fro-yo!

Fro – yo fixes everything. This might surprise you but I didn’t have any! I think I had enough tasti d-lite within the past 3 days to last me throughout the week.

Lunch was a whole wheat tortilla wrap spread with roasted red pepper hummus and packed with vegan peppered steak, mushrooms, avocado & sprouts. Not the best wrap I’ve ever had…Vegan peppered steak – not my thang. It had a weird texture… But it was meatless monday so I had to! Meal Fail number 2.

I skipped the gym today… It was my rest day! Instead I treated myself to a tanning session. It was a spray tan, so it was healthy πŸ™‚

Dinner was boring so we will call it Meal Fail number 3… Spinach, apple, golden raisins and candied pecans with a blueberry pomegranate dressing. It doesn’t sound so boring when I write it out… But I had planned to make a Spinach Artichoke Pie with tofu and it was on a different level. Tomorrow is a new day with new meals and I guarantee they will be better than todays!

For my self-love appreciation day number 2 I wrote a list of 5 things i love about myself.

1. My smile – I used to have crazy summer teeth (some are here, some are there). In 6th grade a boy actually told me he wouldn’t date me because I had crooked teeth! I went home crying and my mom took me to the orthodontist and I got braces shortly after. He ended up “dating” me (really what is dating to 6th graders!?) and I ended up with pretty teeth. Thanks mom πŸ™‚

2. My ability to cook good meals – Um with the exception of my meals today! I enjoy cooking, healthy living and enjoying each and every bite!

3. My eye for creativity – I don’t think a lot of people can look at a cardboard box and think of 50 different things they can make with it!

4. The big ole heart in my body – Even though I’m hard on the outside I am very soft and loving in the inside. I try to see the good and beauty in everyone and help others out and volunteer as much as possible!

5. My leadership skills – I have never been one to follow… If everyone jumped off a bridge – it would be because I told them to. (Which I obvi wouldn’t do!)

What do you love about YOURSELF?!

Day 25: Put your iPod on shuffle, first 10 songs

  • About us – Brooke Hogan
  • Wynter Gordon – Dirty Talk
  • Nobody But Me – Blake Shelton
  • Heartbreaker – Pink
  • Gimme More – Britney Spears
  • Mama’s Song – Carrie Underwood
  • I Run This Town (Feat Kanye West & Rihanna) – Β Jay-Z
  • Shimmy Shimmy Ya – Wu-Tang Clan f. ODB
  • Waking Up In Vegas – Katy Perry
  • Bad Romance – Lady GaGa

 

I think I can go ahead and take Brooke Hogan off my ipod…I sure hope I didn’t waste 99 cents on that!

I’m going to finish watching the Bachelor (Team Emily!!) and go to bed earlier than midnight tonight so I can hopefully feel better tomorrow! Have a great night everyone.

QUESTIONS: How do you show yourself love? Do you ever have a day where none of your meals satisfy you? Are you a bachelor fan? Who are you rooting for? Don’t forget to share with me your OIAJ or OOIAJ recipes πŸ™‚

42 Comments to “It’s Empty…”

  1. I love Frank’s Buffalo Sauce – I could put it on everything and be one happy lady!

  2. Yay for your empty pb jar! I can’t wait to get down to mine πŸ˜‰ And I’ve found that chia seeds really make overnight oats. If not then I love using greek yogurt, milk, and half of a banana and leaving that overnight. In the morning top with granola or chocolate chips and you’ll have some amazing oats! Hope they taste great girl.

  3. Yes YES Yes, I’m a Bachelor fan. I used to root for Emily but she is just not ready. She’s 24; he’s 38. I just don’t see it. I’m team Chantal or Shawntel I think =)

  4. I love the granny commercials for Franks hot! I show myself love by working out. It is an hour and a half out of my day where I am doing something for myself! I’ll be showing myself some love this weekend at the spa.. because lets be honest who doesnt love that!

  5. An empty jar of nut butter should be illegal! I don’t watch the bachelor-it’s one of the few reality shows I haven’t gotten suckered into!

  6. I bet your meals weren’t as bad as you say!! πŸ™‚ I totally have that Brooke Hogan song on my iPod too!! Haha, wow so old! That stinks that the movie was sold out, but at least you got some froyo!

  7. Oooh I can’t wait to try OIAJ! I love the tips you get through blogging! Your list is fab! Keep feeling the self – love because you’re a sweetie!

  8. Empty nut butter jars are the best. πŸ™‚ I usually fill mine up with either blueberry, apple, peach, or banana oatmeal, and make sure to whip in an egg white or two for that fluffy texture. Despite your meal fails, your food actually looks really good! And spinach artichoke pie sounds amazing.

  9. I am so glad you are making OIAJ!! You will love it!!!

  10. ahh im so jealous of your empty jar, ooiaj are the bomb! I wish I could give you a recipe but I never measure, almond milk, chia seeds, protein powder, and oats are usually my mix! And im super jealous of your soft serve, im craving it right now.

  11. what is oiaj and ooiaj?! i must be missing the lingo here. and yesss i love your big heart and cooking skills too!! 2 of your best qualities πŸ™‚

  12. I loveeee Emily. But she’s way too cool for brad. I hope that she dumps brad and becomes the new bachelorette πŸ™‚

  13. Those pizza’s look BOMB. Your fro yo looks DIVINE…and speaking of fro yo…calorie free yogurt at the white house with all the toppings you can imagine coming right up. I can’t wait!! xoxox πŸ™‚

  14. I bought a low carb pancake mix once and was super excited about it…until I took a bite!! Same experience as you! Definitely not worth it! Homemade peanut flour or coconut flour pancakes are a much much better option!

    OIAJ has been on my to-make list for almost a year now…I don’t think I have enough willpower to NOT lick the jar clean! Let us know how you like it because your review may provide me enough willpower. πŸ™‚

    I hope all of tomorrow’s meals are AMAZING! ❀

  15. I love my eyes. πŸ™‚ They are the EXACT same colors of Shane’s, too. πŸ™‚ Haha. I also like my nose and ears. They are small. πŸ™‚ Hehe. Sorry about your movie. That one looks really cute!

  16. Yummy lookng food! I haven’t tried OIAJ yet, but I think it is about time that I did!!!

  17. Frank’s hot sauce is the best!!
    I love my smile too! And my hair!!
    Haha – I loved your smile story! My mom got me braces too (but it was her decision – and the right one for sure! πŸ™‚ )
    And I’m eating oats in a jar as I type! πŸ™‚

  18. Your food seriously looks like the bomb.com. Oh my god. I love pumpkin pancakes and haven’t had them in quite some time.

  19. i thought you were only REAL tanning until key west? you love the spray!

  20. I can’t wait to watch the Bachelor for last night… I was up studying for an exam so had to pass on it until this afternoon. Go Emily! πŸ™‚

  21. I need to catch up on The Bachelor tonight! I fell asleep too early to watch my Tivo-ed episode, and I’m gonna be pissed if someone tells me who went home last night.

    p.s. I like yo style with those pizzas… YUM.

  22. I LOVE the Bachelor and I so want Emily to win!! Yes, big age difference, but it’s quite clear Brad likes her more than any other woman on show.

    I wish I could tell you my OIAJ recipe, but I am still not quite clear what goes into this. Be sure to post about how to do it when you do, because I have an empty Dark Chocolate Dreams jar comin’ up. πŸ™‚

  23. I have a great Vegan Banana Pancake recipe, you should try it! Hope your week gets better… I surely wanted to take a rest day from working out yesterday but I didnt since my whole weekend was a rest… lol

  24. Love the Bachelor! I want Emily to win–but I also kind of think she could have a better connection with someone other than B-rad!

  25. Aww I love your heart too! You’re SUCH a sweet person πŸ™‚

    OIAJ is peasy! You just make your oatmeal and then put it in yo jar! Had it this morning- it’s awesome!! If you need some oatmeal recipes Chocolate Covered Katie has a ton of awesome ones! πŸ˜€

  26. Ahem…I have Brooke Hogan on my iPod too. But it’s a good song. Can you believe that girl wore a grill!
    I’ve never had OIAJ, I always forget when I empty a jar. I am going to have to pay more attention.
    I know you are on Team Emily, but maybe…if she doesn’t win Brad, then she could be the next Bachelorette. She’d be an awesome one. Can you believe that mansion she lives in with just her daughter!
    PS, What are some of your favorite things to snack on?

    • Ha Brooke Hogan is a hot mess – but it is a good workout song πŸ™‚
      Yeah, she could be the next bachelorette! I heard who the winner was and who the next bachelorette is but I wont spoil it! Her house is gorgeous!!
      Hmm favorite snacks – Maybe I will do my favorite Friday on those!

  27. is that the sauce where the grandma says “i put that #$%^ on everything?” if so…that is the best hot sauce ever!!!

  28. I swear when I read your post, I always get hungry lol. Never fails. That buffalo chicken is to die for and that Fro- yo would definitely make me happy today lol. Enjoyed reading this post.

  29. Love Franks Red Hot! It’s sooo great!

    I love your list of things to love about yourself. πŸ™‚ So much good stuff, girl!

  30. I still need to try OIAJ! Crazy, right? haha.

    I have no idea who I am rooting for! I would say Emily, but like stated…I don’t know if she is ready. And since Shawntel N just got kicked off I have to say Ashley H. I never thought I would say that but she is turning out to be okay!

  31. I love your 5 things…and I too have a big heart and am always trying to fix everything for everyone. This is good…and bad too because many things cannot be fixed and it kills me!

    I watch the Bachelor here and there – mainly when my husband has it on. Yes, really. He does watch it although he won’t admit it to anyone else!

  32. I always forget to save a little pb for OIAJ! The pumpkin pancakes sound so good, I think they will be a part of my next experimental breakfast!

  33. Just make your oatmeal, and put it in your empty jar! The PB on the side gets soft and scrapes off easy with every amazing bite. Plus, you don’t use a bowl, less dishes to do!

  34. I love ALL those things about you and more!!

  35. Good post. I learn one thing more difficult on different blogs everyday. It should at all times be stimulating to read content from different writers and observe a little one thing from their store. I’d desire to make use of some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

