Quickie…

Ahh it’s the weekend and I’m up at 6:45…Awesome! I’m not sure when my body decided it didn’t need 8 hours of sleep to function anymore but it’s not cool. Guess I should get my day started..

Yesterdays breakfast was a Strawberry Oatmeal Protein Shake. I’ve never added Oatmeal to a smoothie before but it was extremely filling. Good choice, Alyssa…Good choice.

Lunch was leftover Chili w/ a vitamuffin cornbread – 100 calories. Love it.

Dinner had to be quick because I had baking to do and a boyfriend to pick up! I used my trader joe’s chili lime chicken burgers and made lettuce wraps.

Bib lettuce, sprouts, avocado slices and chili lime chicken burger  dipped in sesame ginger sauce… I think PF Changs has some competition!

I am making apps/dinner/dessert for my family tonight so I did a little preparation while making myself some dessert!

I will show you the final results of the family dinner tomorrow but here is a sneak peak of what I used for one of the desserts…

2 boxes of those. I don’t have to tell you again how I feel about the chocolate + peanut butter combination… I’m sure it’s a mutual feeling.

My own dessert was a Non-Dairy attempt at my favorite Ice Cream… In the process I BROKE my ice cream maker 😦 The top has still not come off but I managed to pour what I could out of the top because I was not letting this go to waste. Tis a sad, sad day in my house.

Regardless of the tragedy it still turned out OK so I will pass the recipe on for you Non-Dairy lovers.

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream (GREEN – there is no other way to eat it)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Coconut Milk – Original
  • 1 1/4 cup Coconut Milk – Unsweetened
  • 9 tsp stevia
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp mint extract
  • drops of green food coloring
  • 3/8 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 cup (or more, i wont judge) vegan chocolate chips – btw, is it possible i like these more than regular now?

Directions

  • Add coconut milk and xanthan gum to blender.
  • Blend for 30 seconds
  • Add vanilla, stevia, mint extract and green food coloring and blend for 30 more seconds
  • Pour into ice cream maker (follow ice cream maker instructions)
  • Last 5 minutes of churning add your chocolate chips
  • Freeze in airtight container for at least 2 hours

I’m not sure if the consistency was off because the machine was broken or because it was dairy-free. Either way it was delicious and WILL be finished.

One Ice Cream Sundae at a time…

Day 29: 3 Wishes

1.) For cancer to be to a non-existent word. I hate everything about it!

2.) I wish that fantasy baseball and football teams didn’t take over my boyfriends life! It’s a weird obsession to me.

3.) To have endless amounts of money to buy these things



See, I don’t ask for much 🙂 OK We’re off to start the cooking spree… If all goes well I’ll be back with lots of recipes tomorrow!! Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Xoxo

26 Comments to “Quickie…”

  1. I want those bib lettuce wraps, they look so good!
    And those are my favorite GS cookies! In fact, I just got back from a restaurant that had a table set up with the girls selling their cookies in there! Sadly I didn’t get any…

  2. Yummy lettuce wraps!

    Looove the sunglasses!

  3. I love mint ice cream!!! Need to try and make this!!

  4. I want those wraps!! Yum!

  5. Loveeee lettuce wraps!! Also, mint choc chip is my fave!!!
    I like the balance you have 🙂

  6. I totally agree about Fantasy Football and Baseball. Um, my boyfriend tried to convince me to make a team, Yeah and give up my blogging bffs…no.

    Your mint icecream looks so good! Ah!

  7. I’m so sorry about your ice cream maker 😦 I would break down crying if that happened to me 😉 But the mint ice cream really does look fabulous! As does all your other food!

  8. Chicken Burgers on Lettuce Wraps sounds amaazing & look so yummy!

  9. Loe the color of that ice cream!
    I’ve been eyeing up that bag for the last couple weeks…key word “eyeing up” not purchasing-damn! But I did just buy a sweet new pair of aviators from Rayban:)

  10. The ice cream looks so good!!! And so green!! I love it! I wish I had unlimited money to buy all those things too..sigh…in a perfect world 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you do with the tagalongs!

  11. I’ve never seen a vitamuffin cornbread! Love your morning shake, I’ve never blended oats either. Your 3 wishes are awesome haha mine would be the same 🙂

  12. I soo agree with you about the bf being into fantasy fb and baseball teams!! My bf is obsessed! Ah I had my first run-in with girl scouts selling cookies outside of trader joes yesterday…those girls are too hard to turn down! But then again so are the cookies 🙂

  13. Its just too cool that you made your own mint ice cream today! Peanut butter patties are my favorite! What company makes your ice-cream maker? I’d love to buy one!

  14. Loubs! My dream ❤

    I love the Vitatop corn muffins with chili! So mad I can't eat them anymore cause they're not GF!

  15. Love this post. I’ve never added oatmeal to my smoothies either, so I may have to try that. also loved the chicken burgers with lettuce wraps. And here’s some advice, I have stopped wrecking my brain on why men love fantasy teams so much. They have their fantasy team, we have shopping lol. And you can always do what my mom suggest, “if they’re still active in that when you’re married, just take the charge and go budget crazy” lmao.

  16. I am REALLY liking the look of the tagalong recipe.

    pb + chocolate = idontevenhavetodescribeit.

  17. That ice cream looks great. And I love tagalongs!

  18. I LOVE all three of your choices to buy if you had unlimited money…especially the shoes- HOT!
    I was the SAME way this weekend- I mean what the heck?! I was up & running at like 6am. BOO! Oh well…got a lot done 🙂

  19. I love the color of your ice cream – it’s so cool! I haven’t tried adding oatmeal to smoothies yet, but it’s on my list of things to try! I’ve eating all my oatmeal baked recently – can’t get enough!

  20. Excellent choice to add oats to your smoothie – I do that, and they keep me so full. I cannot wait to hear about the Girl Scout cookie recipe, obviously peanut butter & chocolate is the best combo, but Thin Mints are my fav Girl Scout cookie. My boyfriend isn’t into fantasy baseball/football, but he is obsessed with video games. At least he’s not as obsessed as his roommates!

  21. You’ve convinced me, this summer I am putting my foot down and finally buying an ice cream maker!

  22. That ice cream looks so yummy! I could have me summa that right now! Love those shoes! 🙂

  23. The ice cream looks so good. Love the shoes!

  24. You ought to really think about working on developing this blog into a major authority in this market. You evidently have a grasp handle of the topics everyone is searching for on this website anyways and you could certainly even earn a buck or two off of some advertisements. I would explore following recent topics and raising the amount of write ups you put up and I guarantee you’d begin seeing some amazing targeted traffic in the near future. Just a thought, good luck in whatever you do!

Leave a Reply

