Celebrations

So yesterday I mentioned that it was National Pancake Day and today I found out it was National Peanut Butter Lovers Day! I should’ve had Peanut Butter Pancakes.. But, since I found out so late I had to have breakfast for dinner – Darn πŸ˜‰ You know I cant pass up anything that has to do with Peanut Butter OR Pancakes! It’s also the first day of March which means 19 days til Spring. So many things to celebrate!

I started my morning off with pancakes of course – Fluffy Strawberry Pancakes! These turned out so well. I’ve never added strawberries to the batter so I was a little nervous but these get an A+.

I LOVE using Whole Wheat Pastry Flour for my pancakes – Reason Number 1…Whole Wheat = Healthy. Reason Number 2…They are fluffier. Reason number 3… I think the first 2 were enough.

Fluffy Strawberry Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 1.5 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 packet NuNaturals Stevia
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup Egg Replacer (Ener-G)
  • 1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 tsp Smart Balance melted
  • 1 cup of fresh strawberries thinly sliced

Directions

  • In a large bowl add flour, baking powder, stevia and salt.
  • Mix well and make a well to add wet ingredients

  • Add egg replacer, melted smart balance, vanilla, and almond milk to center. Mix until smooth.

  • Fold in strawberries

  • Spray pre-heated skillet with Olive Oil Non-stick spray and pour batter into the skillet using 1/4 cup.

  • Cook on each side 3 minutes or until brown.

  • Add toppings

Sugar Free Syrup

A little Whipped Cream πŸ™‚ Sorry this is so dark!!

Make sure to breathe in between bites πŸ˜‰

There’s no better way to start off your day then with pancakes – and when they are light, fluffy and bursting with a fresh strawberry flavor it makes your day start 1,000 times better!

I spent the majority of my day painting pet rocks, making cut out’s of leprechaun’s and brainstorming cupcake ideas with the girls. I told them about National Pancake Day and they wanted some with their lunch. My kind of girls πŸ˜‰

I got my butt kicked at Boot Camp and came home to make myself a dinner with Peanut Butter. I used my Alternative Bagels that I bought from the lo-carb site. I like these A LOT more than the Bagel Thins but I didn’t like the fact that they weren’t pre-cut.

Yeah, that’s awesome. Anyways – I topped my bagel with two different types of Peanut Butter’s because I was out of Better n Peanut Butter and couldn’t narrow it down any further out of my 5 back-ups.

Peanut Butter & Company’s The Bees Knees and Dark Chocolate Dreams. I liked them both enough to have a couple more spoonfuls out of the jar. I’ve never met a PB I didn’t like.

I also did some Key West preparation – I’m officially starting my countdown. 10 days!

Can you tell where I am? Besides the fact that it’s clearly a REALLY classy place?

I want to set a couple of goals for myself during the month of March so I decided to make a list.

  1. Go to the gym 5 days a week. I go to the gym at least 3 times a week, sometimes even 6 – but I’d like to make it a routine of at least 5 every week this month!
  2. Stop giving myself the excuse that “it’s the weekend” and eating more than normal which gets me off track. I set myself back a lot by doing this and I always feel crappy on Monday so this needs to change!
  3. Set a weekly shopping budget. Groceries only… I can’t do that with clothes just yet!!
  4. Get more than 5 hours of sleep a night – I know this seems easy but I get busy brain around 10pm and stay up way later than necessary. I need to turn off all communication portals by 10 so I can wind down.

 

That’s it for me tonight… Plus it’s almost 10 – my new bedtime πŸ™‚ I’m going to finish drooling during watching Cupcake Wars and go to bed so I can hopefully hit up the gym before work! We’ll see how this goes… Have a good night!

QUESTIONS: Did you celebrate National Pancake Day or National Peanut Butter Lovers Day? Anything you are looking forward to this month? Do you make monthly goals?

37 Responses to “Celebrations”

  1. I did eat cranberry peanut butter this morning on an Ezekiel english muffin. Half before the gym and half after the gym.
    I am looking forward to vacation in 3 weeks too, yippee! Warm weather here I come πŸ™‚
    Yea for Key West. They have the best chocolate dipped frozen key lime pie on a stick there!
    I think you posted a pic of a bloody kleenex?!

  2. OMG now I want a bagel thin with pb and banana…with a side of fluffy strawberry pancakes! Wish I saw your Pancake post in time to partake in the festivities…also wish I wasn’t allergic to peanut butter (which, lucky for me, is easily replaceable with almond or soy botter!) Also cheers to ambitious workout goals (I’m also aiming for 5 a week) and yay for spring! πŸ™‚

  3. Those pancakes look delish! I like your idea about winding down by 10pm. I bet you’ll start to feel refreshed in the mornings!

  4. Omg I had the same problem with the alternative bagels! Well I froze mine and then had no way of slicing it 😦 I was so mad lol but wayyyy better than bagel thins. Those strawberry pancakes looks delicious! And great March goals. I try to go to the gym 5x a week and not to over indulge on the food when it comes to weekends. My friends love going out to eat most of the time so it’s weird to not have anything to eat but in the end I feel much better about myself

  5. I love that outfit! You look amazing!!!

    Those pancakes sound divine!!!

  6. your meals look great today… yumm. i read this, and obviously had to eat some better n butter before the day was over. that was my bedtime snack πŸ™‚ also love your goals. i am 100% joining you on all of them, and can we please please motivate each other for the weekend part. k thanks!

  7. Key West!!!! So so awesome! Your strawberry pancakes look so delicious!! I’m with you on the goal of sleeping more. I’m the same way. My brain is so wired from 10pm-midnight every single night haha!

  8. Love all Peanut Butter and Co nut butters!!! Great goals for the month. I have some similar ones!!

  9. love your goals!!!

    White Chocolate Wonderful is my favorite!!! I love PB&CO!

  10. Girl I love celebrating national pancake day. Yummy. Everyday should seriously be pancake day.

    I need to stop spending so much money on groceries as well. I seriously spend it on the most pointless things after I have a list I’m supposed to be following ha.

  11. Yay! Glad you made your March goals too! I have no idea where you are…. a tanning salon?

  12. Ooh those pancakes look fabulous!

    Great goals for March! You’ve got it, chica! πŸ™‚

    I can’t tell where you are. I’m gonna go with Cara and guess it’s a tanning salon??

  13. Whoops, I didn’t know it was national pancake day 😦 But I made waffles!!! haha that’s pretty close, right?

  14. mmmm – what a perfect pancake combo! Delish!

  15. Key West – waaahoo! my parents were just there. and it makes me so jealous. be sure to dance to some Buffett for me while you’re there. πŸ™‚

  16. I love that you eat whipped cream for breakfast – that is awesome.And what a great recipe! So easy, so delicious.

    As soon as I stopped spending so much money on clothes I realized I didn’t need to set a grocery budget because I was saving so much money! So now I spend away at Trader Joe’s and feel great about it. πŸ™‚

  17. Those strawberry pancakes look divine and I must say, Peanut Butter Pancakes are also good and delicious πŸ™‚

  18. I am a big fan of whole wheat pastry flour! Awesome idea to slice some strawberried in… I have never done anything but blueberries and a flat strawberry slice makes much more sense!!! (I can so relate to falling off the wagon on the weekend – I was in that trap for years, and still am every once in awhile! Somehow I feel like I deserve to misbehave on the weekend…)

  19. Good luck on your goals! I agree with the sleep one – I need it, but I just get so busy at night that I lose track of time and stay up way later than I want to. I just realized I didn’t celebrate national peanut butter’s day cause I had almond instead of peanut butter!

  20. Ooh best of luck sticking to a weekly grocery budget!! I’m supposed to be on a budget with all the crazy special “livvy” foods I buy each week…but it never works out!! Somehow, I end up spending almost 100 dollars on food for just me every week, I know I eat a lot but DANG! haha Those pancakes look great though girl; I’m like you and didn’t know it was PB day until at night…luckily I had already had copious amounts:)

  21. Oh, Key West- FUN FUN FUN πŸ˜€
    I LOVE the plate that you have the Alternative Bagels on- super cute! I couldn’t agree more about them not being slices- that drives me bananas too!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

