My First Green Monster

Happy Wednesday ladies! I don’t want to jinx us but this week is going by pretty fast, no? Well I was not able to get up on time for a workout this morning which was a bummer but I was able to make myself a green monster to give myself some extra energy! I’m sure by now everyone has had one of these and if you haven’t because you are nervous about the spinach taste like I was – no worrying necessary, you can’t taste it at all 🙂

Chocolate Peanut Butter Green Machine

Ingredients


  • 1 scoop of brown rice protein
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1/2 tsp NuNaturals Stevia w/ fiber
  • 2 cups of spinach
  • 1 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon of Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 5 ice cubes

Directions

  • Place everything in blender in order above. Do it this way so your spinach is weighed down and wont fly around everywhere.

Those doughnuts are on top of the toaster oven so it looks like they are actually in my smoothie… I wish!

  • Blend until smooth.
  • Transfer to cup and slurp down with a pretty straw. Or drink it from the glass and sport a green mustache. Whatever floats your boat.

So. freaking. delicious. I love the fact that there was 2 cups of spinach in there and you couldn’t tell at all. Sorry, but I might be having this again for breakfast tomorrow 🙂

My morning was spent using this old gem…. Remember these?

I loved my easy oven back in the day… They aren’t so “easy” these days though! They come with 18 flavors, 40 molds and fondants. Fondants!? Do children even know what that is? Needless to say, these have gotten pretty fancy!

Insane.

We also went to the mall for Kids Club where the girls got painted and I won a t-shirt and a water bottle from Noodles & Company!

Sweeeeet.

I might have also bought a couple of items for my upcoming Vacation

Hi, my name’s Alyssa and I’m a shopaholic. Good thing I didn’t include a clothing shopping limit in my goals yesterday or I would’ve instantly failed.

Lunch was inspired by Gina today!

Ignore the classy paper plate. Cinnamon sprinkled Sweet Potato topped with 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder, 2 tbsp peanut flour, unsweetened almond milk, stevia to taste and a splash of vanilla. Yum! I’m always looking for ways to spice up my sweet potatoes 🙂

After work I ran around a got LOTS of stuff for a friends upcoming bridal shower. I’m excited to put everything together and show you guys the final product. I’m sure my pride and joy will be the dessert bar 😉

Since I was running around for hours on bridal shower duty, I ordered dinner at Panera – I’m not sure if I was happy or mad that they have the calorie count on EVERYTHING now. It definitely made me more conscious of what I was choosing so I guess that’s a plus (even though I really just wanted to order the mac & cheese with a grilled cheese and call it a night!) . I went with a half of a Mediterranean Veggie sandwich on Sea Salt Focaccia w/ a cup of Garden Vegetable Soup with Pesto and an Apple as dessert!

Not bad for a meal out – I think it was under 400 calories too!

It’s already past my bedtime… See you tomorrow!

QUESTIONS: Do you ever eat at Panera? What do you usually order? What is your favorite Sweet Potato topping??

28 Comments to “My First Green Monster”

  1. I love green monsters!!! I have never had Panera but I want to try it!!

  2. Your shopping finds are AWESOME!! I can’t wait to see the Key West pictures!! You’re going to have so much fun!! Yay! 🙂

  3. Hey, I’d be all for donuts in my smoothie! 🙂
    Pretty new clothes – love your style!!

  4. Love the sweet potatoes, girl! Hope you enjoyed them 🙂

  5. haha i love the easy bake!!! and those sweet potatoes? droool.

  6. I normally add greek yogurt and peanut butter to my sweet potatoes or syrup. Now that is yummy.

    Um my name is Hollie and I’m about to fork out a ton of money shopping back home.

  7. I loved the easy bake oven growing up! I haven’t been to Paneras in a while, but the last time I went I got one of their vegetarian soups. Yum!

  8. I used to love my easy bake oven!! Your green monster looks super green, I love it! I don’t go to Panera very often, I’m more of a Corner Bakery girl, but your meal looks like one I’d order!

  9. I love love love Panera. I usually go there after church with some girls & study there. I can’t remember for the life of me what I get but it’s not tooo unhealthy either.

    Cute purchases, I’m going shopping tomorrow evening. I tell myself now that I won’t spend much-but let’s be honest. We all know what happens when a shopaholic gets to the mall! 🙂

  10. Congrats on your first green monster!! I have these just about everyday and I include kale + spinach, wheat grass powder, and flax oil. Normally frozen banana + mango are the fruit I like in there best. I am trying to cut out sugar right now and therefore not putting a whole banana in the mix normally 1/2 banana.. so far so good 🙂
    I am going to Malibu in 3 weeks — stoked!!!

  11. Fuji Apple Chicken Salad = heaven in my mouth at Panera! Get it and you won’t regret it! Love the purchases! You were right near me at the mall 😉

  12. I just went nuts over Jemma’s pb topped sweet potato.. i’ve never thought to put anything other than cinnamon and butter on it!

    my world has just been opened up to so many things. wwoooowwww!

  13. I love panera for a quick dinner out!! They have tons of great options! 🙂

  14. Woo Congrats on your first Green Monster! Yum! I love Panera, but there’s not one where I live so I never get to have it anymore : (

  15. Love the clothes theyre super cute, and panera yesss love the black bean soup mmm !

  16. I have never been to panera but it sounds really good! And YAY for trying your first green smoothie!! Aren’t they DELICIOUS?! I am totally addicted to them!! 🙂 Hope you have a good day!

  17. I’m so proud of you for having your first green monster! 🙂 glad u enjoyed!

  18. Lol the easy bake brings back childhood memories. I love almond butter on sweet tatters for sure!

  19. I love green monsters!! Glad you finally jumped on the boat and tried them! It took me years before I finally cracked down and made one a month or so ago. Best decision ever! Anyway, a dessert bar sounds amazing! I definitely want to have one of them at my wedding…or next party:) Oh yeah, that belt and sandals you got are both super cute!!!

  20. YES green monsters are the BEST!! I LOVE how you totally can’t taste the spinach!! And I HAVE to try putting DCD in it…can’t believe I’ve never done that!! 😛

    And I LOVE everything you bought!! I am a bit of a shopoholic too! And sweet taters are the BEST!! 😀

  21. I used to love Panera but I got kind of burnt out. I also heard their food isn’t that healthy for you, especially the bread. I have been snacking on green monsters for a few months now, aren’t they amazing?! I think they taste different every time.

  22. Im not a big fan of green monsters, but if I had to have one, it would be like youurs. PB and chocolate = good no matter what.
    My favorite sweet potato toppings are tahini or peanut butter or vanilla almond butter or sour creeeammm!
    I havent been to panera in ages… But I usually get a half sand half soup!

  23. I love green monsters! Yours looks so incredibly tasty.

    I looove Panera, but mostly just because they have incredibly fabulous bagels! 😀

  24. I do like to eat at Panera and usually get a half salad with a side of soup. Good choices!
    I love green smoothies too! You are right, can’t even taste the spinach.

  25. I’m a total shopaholic too. I spent wayyy too much money on shopping a few weekends ago… but I love that coral strapless dress! Where is it from? 😀

    Congrats on your first GM! I haven’t had one in a while and now I’m craving one!

  26. That smoothie looks delicious!!

  27. So THAT’S how you make a green monster! I’m totally going to have to try that this weekend – it looks so good! Re sweet potato options, I’m actually making one of my favorites this weekend – sweet potato fries. They’re much healthier than regular fries, and they are delicious!

  28. I love the green monster idea! I am a smoothie-a-holic and I’ve tried a lot of different combos, but never spinach! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

