Nothing but good

My countdown to Florida has officially reached 1 week! I’m thinking I will probably mentally check out sometime around next Tuesday? Sounds about right.

Breakfast this morning was a little something different from my regular carb load… Vanilla pudding? An extremely healthy version of Vanilla pudding that has 3 ingredients. Unsweetened Almond Milk, NuNaturals Stevia Vanilla Pure Liquid and Chia Seeds.

2 tbsp of chia seeds – 1 3/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk & 12 drops of NuNaturals Stevia Liquid… Combine all ingredients and let sit for 20 minutes. I let mine sit for 24 hours…The longer it sits, the thicker it becomes!

I Mixed it with one of my protein bars of course! I loved the texture, the flavor, the way I can drive/take a picture/hold my food at the same time and of course how healthy this was!

Do you use Chia Seeds? They are insanely good for you. Check out some of the health benefits …

  1. Supports Heart Health
    Chia seeds can help reduce blood pressure. The seeds contain one of the highest known plant sources of essential fatty acids (omega-3 and omega-6). EFAs cannot be synthesized by our bodies however, it is very important that we get enough to support our immune, cardiovascular, nervous and reproductive systems. EFA deficiency is quite common in North America.
  2. Stabilizes Blood Sugar
    Chia seeds slow down the rate at which complex carbohydrates are digested and then assimilated into the body. The soluble fiber helps to stabilize blood glucose levels resulting in steady, sustained energy. In one study on diabetic patients, Dr. Vladamir Vuksan of St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto, found that blood was thinner and less prone to clottingΒ and blood pressure of participants dropped significantly, after three months of taking Chia seeds daily.
  3. Energizing
    The word β€œChia” comes from the Mayan language and means strength. Chia seeds are a balanced blend of protein, carbohydrates, fats and fiber. It is said that 1 tablespoon of Chia can sustain a person for 24 hours. Athletes have reported that Chia seeds help them perform at optimal levels for much longer periods of time.
  4. Anti-Inflammatory Properties
    A number of arthritis sufferers have reported reduced pain and inflammation after a few weeks of taking Chia seeds. The high concentration of omega-3 helps to lubricate joints and keep them supple. Additionally, Omega-3s are converted into prostaglandins which are known to have both pain relieving and anti-inflammatory effects.
  5. Weight Loss
    The essential fatty acids contained in Chia seeds helps to boost metabolism and promote lean muscle mass. The seeds are sometimes added to food to provide bulk and nutrients while adding very few calories. For these reasons, many people have found Chia quite useful in weight loss and weight maintenance.
  6. Detoxification and Elimination
    Similar to psyllium, the swelling action of Chia in the body helps to cleanse and soothe the colon, and absorb toxins while lubricating and strengthening peristaltic action.
  7. High Quality Protein
    Chia seeds contain about 20% protein, a higher percentage than found in many other grains such as wheat and rice. Chia seeds contain strontium which helps to assimilate protein and produce high energy.
  8. Antioxidants
    Chia seeds are an excellent source of antioxidants containing even more antioxidants than fresh blueberries. The high amounts of antioxidants in Chia seeds also keeps the oils from going rancid – contributing to a long shelf life.
  9. Provides Fiber and Other Nutrients
    Besides EFAs, Chia seeds also provide fiber, iron, calcium, niacin, magnesium, zinc and phosphorus.
    2 tablespoons of Chia = 7 grams of fiber, 2 grams of protein, 205 milligrams of calcium, 5 grams omega-3
  10. Brain Power
    EFAs are known to make cell membranes more flexible and efficient making nutrients more readily available and nerve transmission more efficient. This helps to improve brain function (including memory and concentration).

Source

I had promised the girls that we could make cupcakes one day this week (children never let you forget ANYTHING) so as soon as I got there this morning they were ready! We used Cherry Chip (from a box) batter and experimented from there…

Add some fruit loops? Sure, why not!

What about crushed graham crackers & chocolate chips?

You’re right…It’s missing something else!

Marshmallows & Dark Chocolate Bar chopped added with 5 minutes left of baking

MMM. I love colorful things…No need for icing on these! The crunch on top is perfect.

But, a little powdered sugar never hurt anybody πŸ˜‰

S’mores Flavored. Yes PLEASE.

marshmallow + chocolate + graham crackers is almost as incredible as peanut butter + chocolate

Then the plain ones….

Dyed the vanilla icing the girls favorite colors and stuck it in a dessert bag for easy spreading.

Who doesn’t love icing?

The girls love playing Secret Cupcake Santa and dropping these off at their friend’s houses πŸ™‚ I wish someone would drop these off for me!! Any takers?

Lunch was gigundo. I was attempting to make a wrap…

*Low Carb whole wheat wrap, bib lettuce, sliced carrots, sprouts, sliced tomato and a piece of chicken tossed in Franks Buffalo Sauce*

The wrap was too big to wrap… so i shoved some toothpicks in there to keep it closed.

Whatevs. Still delicious!

I rushed to Camp24 after work which kicked my butt once again. My glutes are already feeling it!! I love the sore feeling you get after an awesome workout.

After the gym I headed straight to my girlfriends house for dinner (without showering, sorry girls!) She was recently married and I wanted to check out their place – No better way to do it then with food, right? Their house is GORGEOUS. She’s done a great job decorating πŸ™‚ I wish I would’ve taken pics – Next time!

We made Sesame Miso Glazed Salmon. This is by far my favorite Salmon dish… If you eat Salmon often and are looking for a new way to make it – try this. It won’t disappoint!

We also attempted a dessert that came out less than pretty so it went undocumented. I still inhaled it. I’m not one to waste food, especially when there is peanut butter involved πŸ˜‰

By the time I got home it was dark but I could see a huge glowing box on my steps!

Oh, Hellllllo there Chobani! The people over at Chobani were kind enough to send me a box of Greek Yogurt to sample. There are SO many yummy flavors included in this package I can’t wait to get to work on them πŸ™‚

Strawberry, Vanilla, Honey, Lemon, Raspberry, Black Cherry, Blueberry, Pomegranate, Mango, Pineapple, Strawberry Banana and Peach! Have I mentioned that I was excited yet?? Because I am! I’ll clearly be having one of these for breakfast πŸ™‚

I figured out another way for me to save money…

Um, I’m ridiculous and need an intervention asap. This is from the past month and not even counting my gossip trash mags…. Do you know how many I’ve read? ZERO. Β No more getting sucked in at the checkout line! New goal to be added for March…

I’m falling asleep typing this so it’s off to bed for me… See you tomorrow on everyone’s Favorite Day of the Week – Friiiiidayyyyyy!

QUESTIONS: What is your favorite Chobani flavor? Do you use Chia Seeds? Tell me your favorite thing you ate this week!

51 Responses to “Nothing but good”

  1. OMG, I am OBSESSED with magazines!! They are my fav. But yes, when I get back to the States I will be checking them out online, probably. Since you can go to most of their websites and read ALL the articles there for free! So really, you just miss the ads! πŸ™‚

  2. lyss, im so jealous.. I am obsessed with chobani yogurts, if i had time in my life id totally blog just for that! πŸ˜‰ and my fav in pineapple but i hear honey is too die for!

  3. I just started eating chia seeds a few weeks ago – love putting them in my yogurt!

  4. I want that Chobani sampler. I just tried it for the first time after my last TJ’s visit & fell in love. So many delicious flavors you have there.. JEALOUS!! πŸ™‚

  5. I love your fruit loops idea on cupcakes… what a way to leave aside frosting! Have fun in Florida!!

  6. wait this looks just like my magazine stack..im a junkie!!

  7. I’m still a chia seed virgin 😦 I need to try them soon! My favorite Chobani flavor is the black cherry. I’m trying peach tomorrow for the first time. I hope I like it! And wow to all those cupcakes!

  8. I LOVE chia seeds!! Such nutritional powerhouses!! Love the pomegranate chobani flavor!!!

  9. I got my package yesterday too! Lucky you got pomegranate! That was the one flavor I didn’t get, can’t wait to read your review!

    You should take a mag or two with you to the gym and leave it in the locker room when you are done. I always do that since my gym doesn’t offer magazines! You’ll make someones day!

  10. My favorite flavor of Chobani is the vanilla. In fact, I’m eating a yogurt as I’m typing this out.

    I have never tried chia seeds but I’m thinking I might have too. Everyone in the blogging world raves about them.

  11. LOVE your blog! So talented! Thanks for the shoutout to me on your post today πŸ™‚ Can you make me a grocery list?? πŸ™‚

  12. wow! those cupcakes made me itch for sugar! and let me know about those chobanis, i saw the commercial they look good! but im guessing they are like 2.50 a pop. 7 days til florida babe!

  13. the cupcakes look so good! The fruit loop ones would be mine!!!!!!!!!

    So lucky you got some chobani goodness!!!!! enjoy it!

    Happy Friday love! xoxo ❀

  14. I really want to try chia seeds so badly. They are definitely going on my health food shopping list. Yummy looking cakes by the way! πŸ˜›

  15. Oh Chobani is lovely! I like Blueberry, Vanilla, and Black Cherry the best. I’ve yet to try the lemon but want to!

  16. Favorite Chobani the new black cherry- SOOOO good πŸ™‚
    I LOVE the addition of the Fruit Loops to the cupcakes- sounds like my ideal cupcake πŸ˜‰
    Oooo you’re coming to Florida?! (I’m catching up on my blog reading πŸ™‚ ) It has been lovely weather here lately!

  17. Glad you’re coming down to Florida, the weather is amazing! Are you staying in Miami? Love the vanilla pudding idea, chia seeds are my latest addiction. They go with everything and are just so healthy for you. Those cupcakes look mouth watering, yum! πŸ˜€

  18. So many clever variations!!! I love it!!! πŸ™‚ I like using chia seeds in my oatmeal, they make it so thick and lovely!!

  19. That pudding looks amazing, never made it but I will have to! Salmon looks great… havent had any fish in months… 😦 Cravings are starting to hit!!!

  20. I love your cupcake buffet! How fun to put Fruit Loops in it! YUMMY!

  21. Those cupcakes look amazing and the whole wheat looks delicious. I had me one yesterday, now I can’t wait to make another. Very nice post.

  22. Chobani is my love – pomegranate & blueberry! I really wanna try the new black cherry & mango flavors out though. You have the best job – making cupcakes with kids during the day?!

  23. Those s’mores cupcakes look AMAZING. Why are cupcakes so dang good??? I am just learning to love chia seeds. They are little nutrient packed power houses. I love your breakfast creation. It looks so good!
    Way to push yourself with the weights! I’m SO proud of you!! πŸ™‚

  24. Love me some Chia!!

    Seriously? Fruit loops on cupcakes?! Awesome. Super creative and fun!!!

  25. That chia pudding looks so good! And what CUTE cupcakes!! πŸ˜€

    So jealous of your box of chobani! πŸ˜‰

  26. Now that is a bunch of Chobani!! AWESOME!

    What cute cupcakes!! How fun!

  27. Chia seeds are great! They add such great volume to oats & such!

    Jealous of your Chobani stash! Enjoy your weekend, girl πŸ™‚

  28. I SO need to try chia seeds!

  29. I just discovered the wonders of Pineapple Chobani! So good! And I just started eating chia seeds about a month ago. I love them because they’re so easy to sneak into almost any food!

  30. my little chia seeds in the fridge can DO ALL THAT! wow i love that you posted this list! ive been neglecting them too- choosing hemp and flax instead (always forgetting that i have chia seeds)… but no worries, i will change that asap!! ❀

  31. I love blueberry chobani! but i really want ot try th emango… because i’m obsessed with mango in general.

    and i have chia seeds but have yet to actually use them! silly me. I may have to try that pudding one of these days πŸ™‚

  32. Love chobani plan love chia seeds and this weekend im in love with almond butter chocolate and coconut butter all combined yum ~

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

