Easter Weekend

Ohh, what a weekend. Where should I begin? How about with food?? πŸ˜‰

Friday night Β when my boyfriend finalllllly arrived we sat down and made pulled pork sandwiches. I have 2 things to say about this. 1.) This is the easiest recipe ever. 2.) Have you ever had bone suckin sauce? You must go buy this RIGHT NOW.

Obsessed. This was my first time making pulled pork even though I order it every time I eat out if it’s on the menu. Who knew it was so easy to make?

Pulled Pork

  • 1 sliced onion
  • 3 lbs pork shoulder
  • 1 can of vegetable broth
Place it all in the crock pot on Low for 9 hours. Remove pork and shred (remove fat). Place back in the crock pot. Serve on Whole Wheat Buns. Clearly I like BBQ sauce,so my sandwich is drenched in it… But whatever you choose to do with yours, PLEASE use the bone suckin sauce. You won’t regret it.
Since I made 3 pounds there were plenty of leftovers… We could’ve easily made these sandwiches again. But I have a.d.d. and a new Β pan
so it must be put to good use. Cuban panini’s sounded like a good plan to me πŸ™‚
and they were. Whole wheat bread, honey mustard, leftover pulled pork, deli turkey, Muenster cheese and of course pickles! Sorry about the bad picture :/
Saturday was rainy so we dyed some easter eggs in the morning.
Don’t mind the clorox bottle… My boyfriend’s a little messy.
Since it was raining we needed a comforting, warm breakfast. So we had a “healthier” version of my Overnight French Toast Casserole.
The “healthier” version included whole wheat bread, egg whites, unsweetened almond milk, earth balance “butter” and sugar-free maple syrup. Still JUST as good as the regular version, so save the calories if you can πŸ™‚
The sun magically appeared and we headed to Camden Yards to try to scalp tickets to the Baltimore vs Yankees game. My boyfriend is a HUGE baseball (yankees) fan so being the great girlfriend I am πŸ˜‰ I agreed to give up my dreams of trying out the new Vegan restaurant to have blue moons and hot dogs.
Best part about it? We got FREE tickets 20 rows behind home plate!
Worst part about it?? My car was towed…To the tune of almost $400!!!!! Baltimore city is THE worst.
So annoying.
That left us a good 4 hours of sleep before Church the next day.. Somehow we managed to look presentable.
It turned out to be a BEAUTIFUL day so after taking a million pictures outside we headed to my mom’s for Easter linner.
The Easter Bunny had dropped off a basket for me – Sprinkles cupcake mix (dark chocolate), pretty cupcake liners, sugar-free peeps, jelly beans, lindt chocolates, a notepad, hand madeΒ note cards and of course REESE’S EGGS! I politely asked the Easter Bunny to go easy on the Eggs this year because I knew I would eat all of them. So there were 2… I approved.
Aren’t these notecards GORGEOUS? Every detail isΒ hand-made… I’m saving them for a something special!
NOW, for the food. We easily ate ourselves into a food coma… But, that was the plan.
Honey Baked Ham

Spinach Salad w/ feta, dried cranberries & sunflower seeds

Grilled Corn salad with cheese, tomatoes and avocados

Homemade mac & cheese

Grandma's Mashed Potatoes

Unpictured: Turkey, Sweet Potatoes, and rolls.
My plate went like this:

Carb Loader

My boyfriend and I were in charge of dessert and I’d like to think we succeeded.

Strawberries & Cream Cake

Crumb Cake from Carlos Bakery in Hoboken

My plate:
I had to try everything πŸ˜‰
It really was an AMAZING weekend (minus the car being towed) with surprisingly beautiful weather. I went to bed at 745 pm to catch up on sleep from the night before in hopes of feeling normal today. It didn’t work. BUT, I am hoping to be back on track by tomorrow. I have a little confession…
I’ve been eating horribly, not going to the gym and I’m really starting to feel gross. So, tomorrow I need to get back on track… I need to get to the gym, I need to pack healthy food and I need to get out of this funk!! Give me some motivation πŸ™‚
Let’s make this week a good one!!

Questions: What do you do for motivation? Send me some!! πŸ™‚ What’s your favorite memory from the weekend?

29 Comments to “Easter Weekend”

  1. You look gorgeous darling πŸ™‚ For motivation I typically think of how great I will feel AFTER. Sometimes you just have to suck it up and do it, KNOWING the outcome will be awesome πŸ™‚

  2. You are adorable!! I can’t believe you got a 400 tow!! OUCH!

  3. Motivation for me is the feeling of accomplishment after a workout πŸ™‚
    If I focus too much on the actual “chore” of working out or exercising just to burn calories then it’s no fun & I just don’t want to do it.
    $400 sucks! I”m sorry 😦 But it’s great that you are looking on the bright side!
    Let me know how things go with your eating! I’ll be praying for you! ❀

  4. That spread looks to die for. I really wish my hubby and I had done more for the Easter weekend. It’s no fun when there is no family near by!

  5. What a fun Easter weekend! Between the overnight French Toast casserole and the cake I am like in carb heaven!! It only takes a few days of crap eating to set me right back into the gym lol My body can’t handle all the junk

  6. What a fantastic easter weekend! that looks like so much fun!

  7. All your Easter food looks delish and you the bf look adorable at the game!! Glad you had such a great Easter!

  8. I will definitely be making the healthy version of that casserole πŸ™‚

  9. So your pulled pork looks so good. I’ve never made it before, but am going to have to try it asap. I love pulled pork. Free tickets to the baseball game! Score!!! I love anything free. But the $400 tow bill. Ugh! I would be in tears. All the food looks delicious!
    My motivation… the scale! After eating all the good foods over the weekend I knew I had to get my butt in gear this morning.

  10. Wow, SO many delicious things in this post! Your Easter spread looks amazing, I’d be all over Grandma’s mashed potatoes! Anything made my Grandma trumps everything else! haha. But maybe not your desserts–you definitely succeeded!

    So glad you enjoyed yourself (and all that yummy food) over the weekend! I truly believe in making holidays anything but ordinary, and part of doing that is eating things (and lots of them!) that we wouldn’t typically. You CAN get back on track and WILL! Go girl! Here’s to a healthy week! xoxo

  11. Great post! I am going to try the pulled pork!

  12. LOVE BBQ sauce, your sandwich is making me literally drool. And I even had BBQ from Whole Foods hot bar recently.

  13. Know you’ll be back on track today! Thanks for preparing the Easter Menu – everything came together so nicely!

  14. first of all those homemade reeses eggs look sooo good I was showing your idea to my friends..even though easter passed were still gonna try to make them soon! what motivates me is thinking about how I feel after a workout and repeat to yourself ” I’ve never regretted a workout” so you’ll be more inclined to do it!

  15. Oh man! You had such great eats for easter! That french toast casserole looks BOMB! I think I’d try it with agave nectar or pure maple syrup instead of sugar free though-can’t take the chemicals! I LOVE your orange sweater in the one pic btw, can you say my FAVORITE COLOR EVA’!! Oh and you two certainly succeeded on the dessert bringing; that cake especially looks bomb!

  16. what a fun weekend, you two are too cute and the food looks AMAZING!

  17. Girl I totally feel you! Living without a kitchen and only a microwave is KILLING me! So we should motivate each other!

    Looks like your Easter weekend was KILLER! That’s awesome. Im so jealous you went to Carlos bakery. Seriously.

  18. Oh my gracious, what a great weekend! You two are seriously gorgeous together! What a beautiful couple you make. And it looks like you guys had a lot of fun together! πŸ™‚

    I love pulled pork! Yours looks super delicious. πŸ™‚ All the Easter food looks super delightful too! πŸ™‚ Sad day about your car being towed, that’s awful! I’m glad the weekend was great other than that, though!

  19. some of those eggs are looking quite fancy! is there a plaid one?

  20. YAY! GO ORIOLES…even though I know they lost Friday night 😦
    But, YES, Baltimore city is awful!! I don’t even remember where we parked for the games…but thankfully we didn’t get towed.
    I’m glad you were able to get it back though..in time for all of the Easter festivities πŸ˜€

  21. I feel ya on the bad eating thing. I’ve been working out, but eating like total crap. I think that gross feeling we get is enough motivation to change. I hate this feeling!

    Think amazing endorphins and sweaty goodness and you’ll be all over the gym!

    Your Easter feast looks amazing, especially those chocolate PB eggs!

  22. Ahh I have been eating crap & not working out either. I have motivation but zero time!! 😦

    The food looks like it was deliciious though. You & the boy are adorable !!

  23. AHH the mac and cheese, and those eggs you made!! Incredible looking. That sucks about the towing; I definitely could sponsor a family in a third world country with the amount I have spent on that stuff.
    Nice boyfriend you have waiting on line at Carlos Bakery for that crumb cake – please tell me it was just so so? I LOVE crumbs (the cake is alright) and don’t want to get addicted to that stuff.

  24. The strawberry and cream cake looks damn good!
    U look beautiful in your Easter dress!
    Love the easter basket goodies!

    Thx for the comment about my new blog design! Love u!

  25. FUN weekend, girl! I’ve heard so much about that Bone Suckin’ Sauce – I must get my hands on some!

    Sorry I’ve been so MIA – life is hectic. I think it’s starting to calm down though! πŸ™‚

  26. everythign looks SOOO good! love the pics- that dress looks HOT on you!

  27. Those notecards are very beautiful! I love them πŸ™‚
    And I would definitely try your french toast recipe, I like how you healthified it yet it still looks super yummy

  28. Bone suckin sauce is the bomb. Funny story, when I lived in MO they only sold it in Cracker Barrels so I would always have to go there to grocery shop!

    Just found your blog so I wanted to say hello!

  29. OMG the corn salad looks so goooood. Well actually EVERYTHING looks so good, sounds like you had a lovely Easter! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

