Stress Cookies

Without the rain, there would be no rainbow..

I have to keep reminding myself of that quote because this week I’ve been super s.t.r.e.s.s.e.d.  BUT I do have some exciting news (see below)

I was sick on Sunday, had a rough day Tuesday and a 15 hour work day on Thursday so it’s no doubt that I am SUPER excited it’s Friday and ready to enjoy my weekend.

A couple of reason’s I’m stressed:

1.) I’m moving…..out of state (in 49 days not that im counting or anything). Moving away from my family, friends, comfort zone, basically everything i know and love. My rainbow? I’m moving to New Jersey with my boyfriend (who prefers I start addressing him as Adam on my blog). I’m VERY excited to start a life with him and the fact that we never ever EVER have to go 60 days without seeing each other again. He always promised there would be a light at the end of the tunnel 🙂

2.) I need to find a job! I know the job market is still not at its A game so I’ve been a little stressed out.. I will definitely have money saved when I get there but it’s not going to last me forever. I truly believe that everything works out the way it’s supposed to in the end though so I need to breathe and remind myself of that.

3.) I’m SO nervous to tell my employers that I’m moving. Granted I am giving them 7 weeks to find someone who I plan on training and interviewing myself… But they just told me they were pregnant and having twins… Yep, twins. I don’t want them to think my decision has anything to do with their news so I’ve been dreading this upcoming Monday.

I’m trying my hardest to stay positive because I know everything is changing for the better…but sometimes I let anxiety take over!

When I’m stressed I do a couple of things…

1.) Crave Sweets

2.) Blast Music

3.) Fill my schedule with anything and everything to keep myself busy

This week I’ve had dessert every night – I’ve made dinner plans with someone every chance possible – and I’ve listened to music non-stop. I think it’s fair to say I’m stressed :/

Dessert I’ve been hooked on? Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies

Dinner plans since I’ve been home on Wednesday? Best friend, Michelle. Girls I nanny for (i was still working) and my lovely Grandma who always makes me feel better about EVERYTHING.

Music I’ve been jamming out to? Alanis Morissette, B-52’s, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jay – Z and last but never least Hanson.

Since I do crave sweets so often I try to make them so I know exactly what is going into them. Tonight I made my latest obsession: Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies. Oatmeal? healthy. Blueberries? So healthy. Cookies? If they’re  broken, they don’t have calories. True story.

Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter (unsalted)
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 cup All purpose flour
  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup dried blueberries
Directions
  • Cream together the margarine and sugar and then add in the egg and vanilla.
  • Combine the dry ingredients in a small bowl and then add into the cookie mix and combine well.
  • Carefully fold in the blueberries.
  • Drop tablespoons of dough onto a parchment covered cookie sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes.
  • They should have browned edges and soft looking middles and then when they cool, they will still be chewy
SO good. Nice switch up from raisins (since I still have a couple of these muffins leftover). I bet you these would be amazing with some white chocolate chunks in them too?? Just a thought….
Go ahead and break them because it’s true:

Signs don’t lie and neither do my hips. I’ve eaten the entire batch and I still weigh the same amount. Make these, they’re good for you 🙂

Questions: What do you do to relieve stress? Any bloggers live in NJ or NYC? Oh and you DC/MD/VA bloggers we need a date before I leave!

29 Comments to “Stress Cookies”

  1. Love !! I know EXACTLY how u feel! I moved away from my family , friends, and comfort zone 2.5 years ago to go live with my now fiancé, and it was so scary for me! I left my job too where I loved the people I worked formand loved my job so much, it was a huge adjustment, but change is good and getting out of your comfort zone is good too, it’s how you grow and how you do lead a path to new beginnings and a new journey! Everything will be ok, I promise ; ) love those cookies! Look so good!!! Xoxo

  2. I tend to get really bad about my relationships with friends and family when I’m stressed- I need to remind myself to slow down so I don’t treat people badly or ignore them!

  3. Those cookies look awesome! And don’t stress too much, as you said everything WILL work out! 🙂

  4. Sadly, yes, I chow down on some sweets too. Music and a good walk or run help too. Moving is scary, but think of all the cool new people you’ll meet!

  5. I’m moving too! I get stressed too, but thankfully it hasn’t super set in for this move yet…gotta focus on finishing up this semester first!

  6. um, I love that rule.
    And these cookies even though I haven’t tried them yet. I can just tell.
    And congrats girl, that is so exciting!! Don’t worry about your work, they will be sad to see you go, but you have to take care of yourself and they will tell you the same thing.

  7. to relieve stress ( which i have ALOT of) I usually work out, write down what I’m thinking in a diary or fake diary ( i.e word document haha), and/or write down why the change will make me happy. JUST REMEMBER change makes life interesting without it you’d be sitting in the same place with the same people doing the same thing and thats no fun!

  8. Ahhh you are so brave!!! Good for you!!! Those cookies sounds awesome.

  9. Everything happens for a reason and everything will work itself out 🙂
    I’ll be here through the middle of July, so we’ll definitely have to meet up!!

    Those cookies look like they can cure anything 🙂

  10. we live in NJ! what area are you moving to? we live VERY close to NYC in northern NJ =)

  11. Wow! Congrats on such a big decision! I’m so happy for you. I know it’s incredibly stressful, but you’ll be so happy being with Adam (I’ve had extensive experience in LD relationships), and it will be so much fun exploring new territory. I’m so excited for you!!! 🙂

    I totally understand how nerve-wrecking it will be to talk to your employers, especially since you both seem to love each other! That will be hard, but just keep focusing on the positive.

    When I’m stressed, I bite my nails until there is nothing but stubs and hang nails. Enjoy these last 49 days – make ’em count!

    Everything will work out for the best, like you said.

  12. Aww I wish I lived by you, I’d love to meet you 🙂 And everything will sort itself out with the job situation. How exciting to be going somewhere new, you’re going to love it.

  13. Katy stole my favorite line from “You’ve Got Mail” – It’s the brave thing to do! Watching you grow is bittersweet and I am the PROUDEST mama on the face of the earth! Forever in my heart…xoxoxo

  14. When I’m stressed, first I run, then I do my nails and finally I drink some wine. It’s a great recipe for success, every time!

  15. I love your mentality about those cookies. Too often we think that one thing will make us shoot up 5 lbs- not true!! You eat those cookies- they look great! I love Hanson!!! It was my first concert when I was like…10?

  16. Congrats on the move! That is so exciting. I can’t wait to hear all about the transition 🙂
    Hahaha… I love the broken cookie quote. I just got done eating a few broken cookies.

  17. congrats on moving that is so exciting, I know exactly how you feel but it will all work out

  18. i hope you have such a great wknd after a stressful week!

  19. I am so sorry you are stressed, but everything will workout. Change is always difficult.

    When I am stressed, I eat!

  20. WOW! Your recipe is amazing. I can’t wait to try it. I really hope that things slow down for you. Moving is always tough but once you move it will feel like a huge relief.

  21. Congrats on deciding to move in with the bf!! I’m sorry about the stress though. I definitely think your employers will understand when you tell them. Just keep breathing and thinking positively. You’ll find a job, I know it. And keep blasting that RHCP music! That always helps me. Keep your head up girl!!!

  22. Good luck telling your employers you’re leaving– it took me 5 weeks to quit my job before I decided to go back to school! I’m such a baby. Also, I have a suggestion, I assume you’re looking for a “real” job and not babysitting anymore but while you’re looking, there is something called HobokenMoms (google it – I don’t really know how to send the link) on Yahoo groups that you should sign up for. There are sooo many families here that are always looking for last minute babysitters/full time nannies, etc, . Sign up for the once a day newsletter because they send 8 million emails a day about diapers and breast pumps.

  23. eeek! So exciting (and scary) about the move! I have always HATED quitting jobs! I don’t know why but it has always made me anxious! This is for the best though and I’m sure they’ll understand!

  24. Awww sweetie! Sending big hugs……broken cookies soooo have no calories!

  25. I usually take a nap to relieve stress.

  26. Aww, I know it’s hard, but try not to get too stressed:( That’s super awesome that you’re moving in with your boyfriend though! I live in NYC so if you ever want to meet up let me know:)

  27. Best of luck with the move!!! It’s going to be so wonderful to be with your boyfriend. And something tells me you are a very friendly girl and won’t have any trouble making new friends. As for the job, you have money saved, and you will find something soon. 🙂 I have some friends in NYC so next time I visit we’ll have to have a little blogger meet up!

  28. Congrats! Maybe I’ll see you at the boat this summer.

  29. Aww, girl, I know it’s so hard..but now you have already told them! (again, sorry for the late blog reading 🙂 )
    I’m SO happy that you are going to be moving to NJ to be with Adam! This is such an exciting time in your life! I hope things go smoothly & don’t stress too much!!

Leave a Reply

