Don’t forget your breakfast!

When I was younger my mom used to say the same thing to me every morning “Eat your breakfast!” Now I sit here and think – Why would I even want to skip breakfast? Breakfast has now become my favorite meal of the day. Pancakes, oatmeal, egg white omelet’s, muffins, smoothie bowls and waffles are just a few of my favorites. Don’t even put a box of cereal in front of me… I guarantee it WILL be gone. Not only should you eat breakfast every morning BUT breakfast should be your biggest meal of the day!

Actually, eating breakfast may be good for losing weight. Studies have proven that people who eat breakfast are more likely to maintain a healthy weight. Eating breakfast increases the metabolic – or calorie-burning – rate which is always good news.  Overeating throughout the day is also less likely (more good news). Studies show that people who skip breakfast tend to make up for the calories later in the day, often with unhealthy, high-fat and high-calorie convenience foods (bad news).

Breakfast should include protein and plenty of fiber; the combination will help satisfy your hunger and will keep you feeling full until lunch time. The protein can come from low-fat meat, eggs, nuts (PEANUT BUTTER!) or dairy products. High-fiber foods include fruits, vegetables and whole grains (oatmeal, english muffins). A healthy breakfast doesn’t need to be extravagant or take a long time to prepare. Just stay away from the lucky charms, doughnuts and frozen french toast sticks. Remember, everything in moderation (including moderation!)

OK enough talk. I want to show you my breakfast yesterday.

The best meal ever.

Bananas.

Chocolate Chips.

Pancakes.


I’m not one to brag. Ok, maybe I am… but I really have never had better pancakes than this. Ever.

Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup white flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 T Ener-G egg replacer with 2 T of warm water (mix together and set to side)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons of applesauce
  • dark vegan chocolate chips
  • 1 banana

Directions

  • Mix wet ingredients in a medium-sized bowl.
  • Mix dry ingredients in a larger bowl.
  • Pour wet ingredients into dry – mix well until smooth consistency.
  • Drop onto medium heat (preheated) pan.  Put banana slice and chocolate chips on top
  • Flip over when each pancake begins to bubble on top.
  • Serve with vegan buttery spread (if desired) and maple syrup.
My life will never be the same… and my pant size wont be either because I might’ve made these for lunch, dinner and dessert. So the moral of the story? It’s OK to have this for breakfast since your portions are the biggest then. If you make it for lunch or dinner you might want to eat half 🙂
The only thing that might make this better? Drizzling some melted peanut butter over top.
Because really? What is a banana and chocolate chips without some peanut butter?
So go ahead…


28 Responses to “Don’t forget your breakfast!”

  1. Love it! I used to be the same, never wanted breakfast, now if I do not have breakfast , I am super biatch! lol! its my favorite meal of the day!!!

    Loving the pancakes!
    Happy monday!! xoxo

  2. Feel free to brag because those pancakes look delicious!

  3. Oh my, I need to resist the urge to make these before going for my run. They look awesome!

  4. So when do you want to have me over for these pancakes? K, awesome. See you next weekend.

  5. yuh-uh-ummmmmyyyy. haha lucky for me i’ve always been a breakfast eater 😉

  6. Seriously! What is it about chocolate chips that make bananas SO delicious?! What a great way to start your Monday! 🙂

  7. mmmm looks so good! i wanted to wake up early and make waffles but I think I am just going to make them tonight and freeze them for the week! Instead I had oatmeal with blueberries and chia seeds!

  8. Nom. I made some banana pancakes a month ago with old banans and then mushed them and stirred them into the batter. Each pancake was dense and full of flavor. So good!

  9. these look SO GOOD. I def agree that there needs to be some nut butter happening too. banana+chocolate+nut butter = heaven for sure.
    and you’re right about the whole breakfast thing. Us bloggers know how to do breakfast right!

  10. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, I would never go a day without it. Who can say no to oatmeal, cereal, french toasts, and pancakes? Not me 😀

  11. Mmm this is my kind of breakfast! I totally had pancakes this morning too 🙂 super yummy! Whenever we go to ihop my hubs gets the banana choco chip pancakes. He eats the ENTIRE batch too, very easily!! I never understand how he puts so much food away! Haha

  12. These seriously look so good! Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day! I think I could go days just eating breakfast foods all day long!

  13. I definitely front-load the daily calories. Because yeah- breakfast is pretty awesome. During the work week, you can almost always assume I’ll have oatmeal with cereal and pb mixed in, and then switch it up once or twice with eggs and toast. Standard, but I’m yet to tire of it… 🙂

  14. I literally never, EVER skip breakfast! Sometimes I go to bed just so I can get up and eat it!! Favorite meal of that day!!

  15. I love this post!! Breakfast is by far the best meal of the day!

  16. YUM! I made pancakes saturday morning and have been craving them like crazy now!! This is being saved as a future recipe =)

  17. You can never go wrong with pancakes, I love making them on Saturday.

  18. Those look delicious!!!!! And melted peanut butter on anything makes for an amazing meal!

  19. Those sounds so delicious….

  20. Ok these look way better than my little attempt to make cupcakes! And you make breakfast look like it’s actually worth having!

    I love the photo of your completed plate 🙂 Thanks for the recipe. It would make a good Father’s Day breakfast in bed!

  21. OMFG. I just die because in high school, I would eat like…animal crackers or frosted cheerios with freeze dried fruit and drink a flavored, zero calorie sparkling water. What that was about I absolutely can’t tell you now. These days? Breakfast might be my most favorite meal of the day.

  22. I can’t believe I ever used to skip breakfast! It’s the only thing that keeps me going in the mornings 🙂

  23. Haha I posted pancakes today 🙂 but they were sadly not my breakfast today… and I think yours look better 😉

    I genuinely do not understand how so many of my college peers don’t eat breakfast. I wake up hungry at 2 AM sometimes, there is NO way I would be even REMOTELY functional without my morning meal!!!

    n

  24. That is my kind of breakfast! Yum! I believe you!

  25. My grandpa always used to put PB on his pancakes & everyone used to tease him – to think, he was just an early trendspotter! 🙂

  26. I APPROVE. These pancakes consist of all my favorite things! I must make them soon. 🙂

  27. love it!
    one of my worst habits is skipping breakfast, n its been an year that i tuck in starting from lunch. now even when i have breakfast, its like forcing down medicine, you got me into thinking!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

