Strawberry Pickin

Happy Thursday friends! I finally told my employers that I was moving…It only took me 3 days :/ Oh well, it’s done – They are excited for me but the 5-year-old gave me a couple of dirty looks…Let’s hope she doesn’t start acting up!

To change the mood I suggested we head to the U-Pick Strawberry Farm. I used to go with my Grandma when I was younger and it was always so much fun. Who would’ve thunk the strawberries would be so cheap!? A pound was $1.35… That’s what I’m talking about!

Since the strawberry patch just opened there were a lot that still needed some growing time.

Umm Lysi, is this all there is?

Nevermind, we found lots!!

All of our strawberries only cost $3! Hmm now what should we make?? Went through a couple of phases… Wanted to make strawberry mousse, then strawberries & cream scones and of course strawberry cheesecake ice cream. We honestly could’ve probably made them all with the amount of strawberries we had – but when cooking with kids (or me) some of your ingredients get “lost” aka eaten.

We ended up with none of the above recipes. I have a lot of bookmarked recipes so I decided to go through those. That’s when I came across Angela’s Healthy Strawberry Oat Squares. Winner Winner Chicken Strawberry Oat Square Dinner!

These are Vegan, healthy, sweet and addictive.

Vegan Strawberry Oat Squares

adapted slightly from Oh She Glows

Ingredients

Ingredients:

For Oat Base:

  • 1.5 cups quick oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup Sucanat
  • 1 chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds+ 4 tbsp warm water, mixed)
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp Earth Balance, melted
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds (for topping only)

For Strawberry Jam:

  • 2 & 1/4 cups chopped strawberries, chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 tbsp Nunaturals Stevia
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
Directions
  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Line a square pan (I used a 8×8) with parchment paper.
  • In a medium sized pot, add the chopped strawberries and sugar.
  • Heat over low until the strawberries begin to sweat and it gets a bit watery. Once it heats down a bit, add in the chia seeds, and stir well.
  • Bring to a boil and then simmer over low to medium heat for at least 10 minutes. Once it has thickened a bit, remove from heat and cool for 5-10 mins.
  • In a small bowl, mix the chia or flax egg and set aside.
  • In a large bowl, mix the oat base dry ingredients: oats, flour, Sucanat/brown sugar, baking soda, salt.
  • In a small bowl, mix the melted earth balance, maple syrup, almond milk, and chia egg. Stir well.
  • Add the wet mixture to the dry and mix well.
  • Reserve 1/2 cup off mixture to side.
  • Pour the remaining oat mixture onto the square pan and press down with fingers.
  • Pour on strawberry mixture and smooth out. Now sprinkle on the reserved 1/2 cup oat mixture and sprinkle on.
  • Now sprinkle on 1 tbsp of sesame seeds.
  • Bake at 350F for approximately 30 minutes.
  • Allow to fully cool for at least 30-40 minutes before gently removing from pan. Slice and then store in a container in the fridge to keep firm.
Thank goodness for bookmarked recipes. I semi-burnt dinner tonight so I enjoyed 3 squares of these. Nothing beats homemade jam… Especially warm with oatmeal squares…and maybe a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream ;)

QUESTIONS: Have you ever burnt dinner and not had energy to re-create it so just kind of “snacked” instead?? Have you ever picked your own strawberries?



30 Comments to “Strawberry Pickin”

  1. Love strawberry picking and boy are those kids going to miss you!

  2. I’m going strawberry picking today. I can’t wait :) I got to bookmark this recipe for al the strawberries I’m going to get.

  3. That looks like so much fun, I can’t believe how cheap they were, wow! And the oat square look awesome.

  4. LOL…have I ever burnt dinner??!!

  5. Omg that looks like so much fun! I’ve never done it before.

    And those bars look killer.

    So summery! Btw- it took me like 2 hours to get to the Poconos :)

  6. Call me crazy but… my hubby burned a frozen pizza in the oven one night and we still ate it. I guess we were really just both wanting pizza that night! The strawberries look lovely by the way.

  7. All those strawberries for $3?? That’s amazing! I get a tiny little package of organic strawberries for over $3! Such a rip off, but I can’t say no to strawberries in the spring and summer!

    Good for you for telling your employers! I’m sure it was hard, but at least it’s one less thing to be stressed about, right?

  8. Strawberry picking looks like tons of fun!! I don’t think we have places like that around here! I’ll have to look into it :)

  9. Strawberries!!! I actually HAVE picked my own before, except I had a problem with eating them before I bought them haha I have been wanting to try those oat squares since Angela posted them. They look amazing!!

  10. I actually prefer to snack my way through dinner some nights – then I can have a little of everything! haha I need to go strawberry picking before the season is over!

  11. I was seriously just thinking about how my mom used to take us to pick strawberries and she would make jam for everyone. It makes me want to go and do it again…except maybe just hire someone to pick them for me while I browse around inside the gift shop….yes that sounds great.

  12. uh, lyss… those look way better than any weeknight dinner I’ve ever heard of. ;)

  13. I have picked my own strawberries a looooong time ago and loved it. Must do it again.

    I’ve been drooling over Angela’s recipe since she posted it. Nom.

  14. That-s funny- I’ve been looking around for good places to go berry picking this year! Unfortunatley up in the great North we have to wait a bit longer for them to ripen :)

  15. Gack! The strawbery season in Canada starts in JULY!!! IIts just so so unfair…and I totally missed the part on your blog that you are moving. Hope its good!

  16. I must make these… wow!!! Congrats on the big move as well!

  17. I love strawberry picking! One of my fav memories from childhood…especially that time my brother and I got kicked out of the strawberry fields and had to wait in the parking lot…my mother was not impressed

  18. are you for real? How do you manage to do this? I am still not over your schedule from yesterday in which you woke up at 5 and went to bed at 8!

  19. I haven’t went strawberry picking in forever.. I’ll have to go sometime this summer :)

  20. i remember going strawberry picking when i was a little kid! my mom and i used to go for saturday day trips to farms where we’d berry pick during the summer and apple pick in the fall! it was so much fun! oh, & i’d totally eat 1/2 the flat on the way home!

  21. Only $3 for all those strawberries, that’s fabulous! I love strawberry picking! :)

  22. Strawberry picking sounds like so much fun! I’ve never done it before. Those oat squares look amazing though :)
    Glad your employers weren’t upset with your leaving notice :D

  23. those girls are going to miss you! what kind of job are looking at getting in NJ?

  24. I love Strawberry Picking except for the mosquitoes…

  25. Oo that’s so cool that you could pick your own strawberries! Those bars look absolutely amazing. Those girls are adorable, I’m sure they will really miss you.

  26. I so want to pick my own strawberries! They are my all time favorite fruit and I love how cheap they are right now while in season. I looked up some places to pick nearby and hope I can make it one of these weekends!

  27. $1.35 a pound? Seriously? That’s absolutely amazing :)

    I’ve never gone strawberry picking but I’ve definitely had dinners that I’ve given up to the snacking Gods. Sometimes it’s just better to go with the flow, you know? Plus a block of cheese later, I’m usually fairly zen ;)

  28. That looks like such a fun place to go! I’m super jealous! :) And so cheap, too! OMG. I need to go there.

  29. OH my gosh- I cannot believe how CHEAP the strawberries are- that is a hard deal to beat!! :)
    I am just catching up on your posts- sorry last week was nuts! I didn’t know you are moving- I’m going to have to catch up on that. But I’m so glad your employers were HAPPY for you & not mean about it.

  30. oh goodness these oatmeal squares belong in my tummy right now! they look delish and would go perfectly with some vanilla ice cream. but then again, i think any dessert goes well with some vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

