Graduation Celebration

Yesterday we had a graduation party for my cousin Ryan. We couldn’t have asked for better weather…78, no humidity, sun shining… Yes, please and thank you.

We grilled a ton of food (sorry vegetarians, don’t look) and it occurred to me why I will never become a full-time vegetarian. I rarely eat red meat, I could do without chicken, turkey and even seafood. But I LOVE me some pulled pork. Does anyone else feel this way? I also have a strange love for bacon. Pork has my heart….for today. Because we all know I’ll get back together with peanut butter tomorrow.

Anyways enough about my love for food…onto the pictures.

Chicken Legs

Ribs

Pulled Pork

Teriyaki Chicken w/ grilled pineapple & Jerk Chicken

Fruit Salad &Β Fresh Watermelon

Baked Beans &Β Potato Salad

Cookies (i only had one…so impressed with myself – but I did get the pic after everyone attacked them)

Cake (passed this AND ice cream up. i don’t even know myself)

Here was my plate: 1 rib, dollop of pulled pork, half a piece of teriyaki chicken, potato salad & baked beans and tons of fruit. I was the only person in my family who wanted to mix my beans and potato salad…is that weird or something??

I also had a couple of handfuls of pretzel m&ms….The only thing that would make these better if they had peanut butter filled pretzel m&ms. I should contact Mars before they steal my idea.

I know say it all the time but I have the best family in the entire world. Really, seriously… I don’t know what I would do without them. They are all just so darn cute… Proof:

See? I don’t lie.

They were all real cute until they asked me if I wanted to play “Extreme Challenge”. They told me all I had to do was sit in a chair and try to shoot basketballs while they all wave their hands in front of the hoop. Easy enough right? Yeah, until I didn’t make the baskets and they flipped me over in the chair! Jerks. You can see the video below but my brother recorded it on his phone so it’s a little shaky.

I then chased after them…only to end up over my brothers shoulder still helpless.

Thanks for thinking it was funny mom and documenting. Family 1 – Alyssa 0.

I’m headed off to Saturday morning bootcamp!

Then I’ll be getting ready to go see this guy.

OK, well I’ll actually be working the Kenny Chesney concert…But I’ll be making money and watching an amazing free concert. SCORE. Happy Saturday everyone πŸ™‚

 

QUESTIONS: Do you like Country? What is your favorite Kenny Chesney song??

26 Comments to “Graduation Celebration”

  1. Kenny Chesney puts on a good show! I used to work concerts too! Loved it! Free concerts! ha!

    Have fun!

    Congrats to your cousin too!!!! Muah!

  2. I don’t like country but I’m like the only person in the world who doesn’t apparently πŸ™‚
    I did like the Dixie Chix in high school if that counts….

  3. I actually am NOT in love with pork..I’d rather have chicken and seafood. Haha!

  4. mmm i am the same way! love me some pulled pork!

    i have so many friends going to that concert! lucky you get to work it and make money! its gorgeous weather today!

  5. There’s just something about pulled pork… I don’t know, it’s just so delicious! Family parties are definitely on their own level of fun and yours looks like it was a fabulous time!

    Also, I fully and completely support your idea for peanut butter pretzel filled M&Ms. 100 PERCENT πŸ˜€

  6. mmmmm Kenny Chesney πŸ™‚ Im a huge country girl, and that man sure has a nice booty (dont tell my husband) πŸ˜‰
    Ive never been to a country concert though, and it kills me!! My dream is to see Rascal Flatts in concert, they are my favorite ❀

  7. i love old school country – dolly parton & i LOVE garth brooks! πŸ™‚
    i’m glad you had such a great time w/ your family!

  8. I do like some country for sure! Those pineapples on the chicken look soooooooo gooood btw πŸ˜‰

  9. hahaa!! baked beans on the same plate as strawberries – that’s the weird bit!

  10. I am a vegetarian (and always have been) but I still can appreciate what grilled things look like, they look tasty! Maybe its the grill marks themselves that look good!

  11. I love country music soo much. Espeically during the summer! I can’t wait to move South in a few years =)

  12. I love pulled pork, and well any barbecue food. I’ve been having some kind of barbecue once a week lately.
    I do like some ccountry. My favorite Kenny Chesney song… shift work, because I work shift work. πŸ™‚

  13. I became a huge fan of country when this guy i had a huge thing for introduced me to it and took me to see Kenny in concert! I love “better as a memory” by Kenny a lot! All that food looks great I wanna try pinneapple on top of my chicken someday and I dont think there is a better dessert them some fresh fruit (with greek yogurt of course!) Great post, hope all is well!

  14. Omg, that food looks so good. Got to love barbecue! Totally cracking up over the “extreme challenge,” boys are crazy!

  15. What a fun party! I could never go vegetarian either! I feel that way about ribs! They’re my pulled pork haha! πŸ™‚

  16. Looks like a fun weekend! I love me some bbq. I don’t know my fav Kenny song, but I like that newish one a lot – Maybe it’s called “Somewhere with you”

  17. Awww your family is adorable! I have a shot of me slung over my brother’s back very similar to that one – makes me smile every time I see it. πŸ™‚ Congrats to your cousin! All that food looks completely amazing… I want to be part of your family, haha! I do like Country and Kenny Chesney is pretty great! Have a great time at the concert!

  18. I LOVE country! Your bro’s graduation party looks like it was a blast!

  19. The food looks delicious! Congrats Ryan πŸ™‚ I love country music and Kenny Chesney is one of my all-time favorites!! I saw him in concert 3 years ago and he was AMAZING!!

  20. those family pictures are adorable!

    xo courtney

  21. Love country! Love Kenny!!

    I was obsessed with “There Goes My Life” awhile back but I love all his songs–they’re so good!

  22. Congrats to your cousin That was some delicious spread!

  23. i think that i am probably the only person that doens’t listen to country in pittsburgh!!! but apparently the best concerts to go to are country ones according to everyone and anyone i have ever talked to !!!! so i am going to try to go to one this summer!!! have funnnn

  24. Pulled pork is one of my favorites! I’m a huge sucker for BBQ in general, but pulled pork sandwiches have my heart- they were something my friend and I would get after a long night out… πŸ™‚

  25. TWO BAREFEEEET ON THE DASHBOOOOOARD, YOUNG LOVE IN AN OLD FOOOOOOORD!

    I’m so completely jealous of your self-control around those cookies and cake. teach me.

  26. I’m hungry just looking at your BBQ pics…looked like you had a blast! And Congrats to your cousin!

Leave a Reply

