100 calories

I’m glad that most of you agree with me on the Casey Anthony trial. I just wish there was some answer to this horrible tragedy!

Moving on..

When Adam got home I went for a quick ride on my sweet new bike to pick up an ingredient we needed for dinner.

I know this doesn’t look like my old bike that I bought a few weeks ago…and well, that’s because it isn’t. My grandma had taken it in for a tune-up and they told her it was “extremely unsafe” and I should not be riding it. So my grandma/mom bought me a new one. I’m a little spoiled πŸ˜‰ I got tons of compliments while riding it! I think I’ll take it on a long long long ride tomorrow…

Dinner was a recipe I saw while stalking browsing Jessica’s blog. Honey Crunchy ChickenΒ stir fry was on the menu tonight and it did not disappoint. I served mine with brown rice and it was completely gone in about 10 minutes.

These are Jessica’s pictures because I forgot to take some AGAIN. Doh! Let me tell you something… Jessica knows what she is doing! I’ve made a couple of her recipes in my blogging days and I have never had any complaints.

After dinner we headed straight to pick up our new dresser! It’s officially in the house and ready to be stacked with my our clothing πŸ™‚

Earlier I saw a post on twitter of 100 calorie snacks. The first thing that came to mind was brownies? yogurt covered pretzels? chips ahoy cookies? I used to live on these snacks so that is what was familiar to me. But these were 100 calorie vegetable snacks… You get a whole lot more bang for your calories with these.

Proof: What does 100 calorie of brownie bites look like?

7-8 brownie bites

What do 100 calories of vegetables look like:

2 ears of corn

18 stalks of celery

3 zucchini

10 cups of Spinach!!

Now clearly I’m not telling you that you should eat 10 cups of spinach if you are craving brownies.. But if you are looking to add something to your meal try adding 100 calories worth of vegetables rather than sweets. Did that just come out of my mouth?

See you in the morning!

Questions: What is your favorite 100 calorie snack?

13 Comments to “100 calories”

  1. String cheese + a few apple slices or half a nanner + half a tbsp of Peanut butter or carrots with hummus!! This is about my comment on the last post: please forgive me!!! That’s just my opinion on the topic, I love you + your blog anyways. πŸ™‚

  2. 2 corn thins with 2 Tbsp of peanut flour! or a deep chocolate vita top! hmmm… now you’ve got me thinking! yesterday i mixed up 1/2 cup of nonfat, plain greek yogurt with 1 Tbsp of cocoa powder and a splash of almond milk. that came out to about 100 cals and it was great! (especially after i let it get frosty in the freezer for awhile!)

  3. I looove your bike! I’ve always wanted a cruiser bike…JEALOUS! πŸ˜‰

    I am a cottage cheese fiend, so my favorite snack is definitely whipped sweet cottage cheese. It seriously tastes like cheesecake. I eat it *every* night before bed (always with 1 T. peanut butter and a sprinkling of granola…but that ups it to 200+ cals). It’s SOOO yummy. I used to be a huge fan of the 100 calorie packs (loved the Hostess cupcakes…until I read that they contain beef fat! eeeww?!), but now I just buy the almonds. They’re a perfect portable crunchy snack, and they usually hold me over until my next meal (if I eat two). Moral of the story: I think I need 200 calorie snacks all the time!

  4. I love that you said choose 100 cals of veggies instead of sweets – especially since you’re always posting mouth-watering dessert recipes!! πŸ™‚

  5. That bike is awesome! I say eats lots of sweets and then go ride the bike to burn it off!

  6. I ❀ Jessica too, she's never steered me wrong. Must be the name πŸ˜‰

  7. Haha – I hear ya about the my/our clothes thing. I’ve pretty much overtaken the master closet. My fav 100 cal snack is an apple. A little crunchy, a little sweet, and a litte filling – perfection.

  8. I love Jessica’s food. I could look at it all day long! And it’s crazy when you think about how many veggies you can eat for 100 cal instead of the hyped of calorie packs! so naturally I love your comparison. πŸ™‚

    -courtney

  9. Your mom/grandma are so sweet! πŸ™‚ Love the beach cruiser!! So fun!

    I’m on a carrots and hummus kick. To be honest, I don’t really count calories–but if I did–this would be my fav 100 calorie snack. πŸ™‚

  10. Totally saw that 100 cal veggie thing on fitsugar too…it made me crave a ton of veggies, but then again nothing beats a sweet treat if that’s what you’re really craving

    Cute bike!

  11. DANG that is a ton of spinach! hollaaaaa. my fav 100 cal snack is prob 1/3rdish cup oatmeal! whooo! but only for a snack, thatd never fill me up as a meal, haha.

  12. While I’d love to say that I am fondest of 10 cups of spinach…. that’d be a sincere lie.

    However, when I can do a quality carrots/celery sticks with some tzatziki and hummus… I’m a 100 calories of happy!

  13. Yay for 100 calorie snacks! I like a gala apple and a small handful of sunflower seeds, or celery/carrots and hummus. Or I just eat watermelon. By the truckload. It’s so watery that there’s barely any caloric value to it, and yet it’s really good for you!

Leave a Reply

