Banana Chocolate Chip Blondies

So i figured out what I wanted to make with those bananas from this morning… I actually had 6 that needed to be used so I froze 4 of them for future banana soft serves/smoothies and used the other 2 for Banana Chocolate Chip Blondies! More on that in a second…

I went on an hour-long bike ride around Hoboken and acted all touristy…

Look ma! No hands!! I took this while riding. So talented.

2 things I noticed on my bike ride. 1.) The leaves are falling off the trees and turning colors. Um, summer just got here…Don’t even think about coming early Fall.

2.) Free movies on Tuesday nights under the stars! How romantic 🙂

I bet you Adam can’t wait to see Tangled 😉

I came back and made myself a quick lunch so I could get started on my blondies!

Spicy “chicken” on sandwich thin with pickles, lettuce and buffalo sauce.

Also a side of activia yogurt with a drizzle of sugar-free chocolate syrup, strawberries and a handful of cereal.

In case you haven’t noticed I can’t get enough chocolate, fruit, cereal, pickles and buffalo sauce. Weird cravings.

Anyways… Onto those blondies. If you like banana desserts I suggest you make these because they have a strong banana flavor! They’re also healthified

Banana Chocolate Chip Blondies (Makes 16)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour (I used all-purpose white but I think I would do 1/2 whole wheat next time)
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter ( I used earth balance – make sure it’s softened)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
Directions
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Beat butter and brown sugar

  • Add the bananas, vanilla, salt and chocolate chips.

  • Beat until batter looks runny

  • Add flour and mix with hand spoon until batter forms
  • Test out batter 😉
(excuse my greasy hair and my open cabinet -i have a bad habit of leaving them all open!)
  • Spray 8×8 pan with olive oil cooking spray and add batter

  • Bake for 35 minutes until edges are brown and the middle is set
  • Let cool for 10 minutes and slice into 16 squares.

These hit the spot and were a nice change from making the normal banana bread with my overly ripe bananas!

I have training tonight for a promotional modeling gig with Absolut so I’ve prepped Adam’s dinner but will grab something quick to take with me on the go. Perhaps another blondie? 😉 What? They’re healthy!

QUESTIONS: Do you have any habits of leaving drawers/cabinets open in the kitchen? 

17 Responses to “Banana Chocolate Chip Blondies”

  1. I have a tendency to leave drawers open and then walk into them later, ouch! Not the best habit ever!! P.S I want some of those blondies right now!!!

  2. Absolut modeling gig? Do tell!

    And I want to see movies under the stars!!!!!!!!!

  3. Excited to hear about the modeling gig too!!! 🙂 Good luck!!! I am sure it will be lots of fun

  4. I have two bananas sitting here…waiting to be used! Perfect timing, my friend! 🙂

  5. Uggh yeah and then I always hit my head on the open cupboard door!!! You should have gone and seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s while it was free. 🙂

  6. You just throw in the modeling gig like its nothing! That is so exciting!!! I use to live in Hoboken too!

  7. AND YET another genius recipe from you! haha this one looks amazing 🙂 I have a bad habit of leaving dishes in the sink…. oops

  8. I have no bad habits! and am VERY funny!

  9. This looks great! I never would have thought to put Bananas in Blondies!

  10. Congrats on the modeling gig, how exciting! Those blondies look amazing…I must try this recipe! I totally leave kitchen cabinets open too and walk into them constantly…my other horrible kitchen habit is lining baking sheets with foil so that I don’t have to wash them later. It’s a huge time saver but a total waste of aluminum…it’s really shameful for a girl trying to keep things environmentally savvy!

  11. hahah I love that you mention the cabinets. Me and my bf moved in together in January and his biggest annoyance with me is the open cabinets! he gets so mad that everytime i’m in the kitchen they are all open! i totally close them when i’m done, but it’s just handier to have them open while working… right?

  12. do you think up these recipes all on your own? I could never!!!!
    I am actually the opposite and everything has to be closed! Although, I sometimes do leave the fridge open for way longer than I should!! (Usually because I am browsing for goodies, get excited by my food and forget its opened!!) ha
    ~Jenn

  13. I’m pretty meticulous in the kitchen, but Marcus? Is a little bit of a tornado. He always cleans up after dinner, but I definitely have to follow after him with a towel to make sure we “get” everything…hahaha.

  14. I’m fairly certain that my beau (and roommate) has a nefarious plot to knock me out whenever I’m doing work in the kitchen. Somehow, the only drawers/cabinets he forgets to open coincidentally are located right at my forehead level….

    Further detective work is required, but the clues are leading me to that conclusion.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

