Chocolate Almond Butter Granola

I really wanted to get a run in this morning but with the extreme heat I had to pass. Instead I went to the mall to walk around. I couldn’t help but stop in and buy a little something… Ugh, I was doing so well too!

Adam has a work event on Thursday that’s outside so I got this sundress for it:

On Friday we have dinner plans in the city and I wanted something loose-fitting so I got this dress and plan on belting it.

Really, that model is doing the dress no justice. I will model it for you on Friday πŸ˜‰

When I got home from the mall I made a super weird lunch. Well normal to me but when I mentioned it to Adam he said BLEK.

Low Carb Tortilla (81 calories, 5 carbs) with vegetarian refried beans, low-fat cottage cheese and salsa. I also snacked on some watermelon that went unpictured.

Since I’m oh so bored and have nothing to do I whipped up some granola after seeing it posted on Chelsey’s blog by Julie. I’m a sucker for some granola!

Almond Butter GranolaΒ 

adapted from Julie

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons of Almond Butter
  • 1 tablespoon of Chocolate Almond Butter
  • 2 tablespoons of Honey
  • 2 tablespoons of Agave Nectar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups of Oats
  • 2 tbsp Chia seeds
Directions
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees and spray a cookie sheet with non-stick spray
  • Combine almond butter(s), honey and agave in bowl and microwave for 30 seconds until Almond Butter is in a melted consistency.
  • Mix well
  • Add vanilla and cinnamon to the warm almond butter mixture and mix again.
  • Add oats and chia seeds making sure that they are all completely covered with wet ingredients
  • Spread granola mixture onto cookie sheet and place in oven for 8 minutes.
  • Remove, toss and add again for another 4 minutes.
  • Try to NOT burn your tongue on this deliciousness and be patient while it cools.

I made myself a little teeny bowl with dark chocolate almond milk

and now I’m catching up on last nights Bachelorette with the hometown dates and I want to know what the heck JP’s last girlfriend did to hurt him SOOO much? Fill me in!

QUESTIONS: Do you watch the bachelorette? Who do you think wins? I think JP’s got it in the bag! If you’re not a bachelorette fan, what’s your favorite way to enjoy granola??

29 Responses to “Chocolate Almond Butter Granola”

  1. That is some chunky granola…YUMMMMMM

    Both cute dresses — where from?

    I think your taco meal looks quite good actually πŸ˜‰

    I’m with ya on JP too!

  2. This bachelorette is totally the worst. the episodes are so lame, but yet i still watch. I’ve been rooting for J.P. since day 1, but i’m starting to think Ben F has it in the bag… how about you?

  3. You are making me so hungry for some granola girl!
    I am bummed because my DVR did not record last night’s episode of the Bachelorette. Now I don’t know what happened or who was sent home. Do tell!

  4. PS, what can I use in place of agave nectar in your granola recipe?

  5. Ohhh gosh that looks so delicious! πŸ™‚

  6. Cute dresses! Are you looking for work?

  7. Loooove the dresses! Homemade granola sounds so amazing but it’s just too hot and I’m too lazy to make any..!

  8. Mm, I usually eat granola straight from the bag – just can’t resist!!

    And the dress you asked me about (the peach one from yesterday’s post) is from none other than Old Navy!! πŸ™‚

  9. That granola looks delicioussss! Gotta say I just love it with my greek yoghurt, cinnamon, and fruit πŸ™‚ or with kefir

  10. I just love granola period. That first dress is absolutely amazing. LOVE it.

  11. I always thought JP was going to win, but recently I’m leaning towards Ben!!

    Mmmm, that granola looks beyond amazing..

  12. I’ve never made granola before- your recipe looks really good! Unfortunately I will not be using my oven until the heat index is under 100 hahaha… also, I’m having a giveaway on my blog, come check it out!

  13. LOVE the dresses!!!!!! and oh my gosh that wrap- looks so good! I am loving refried beans lately!

  14. Super cute dresses! Can’t wait to see you rocking them in the photos! And yes, you’d make a MUCH better model than the girls in these pics. Seriously. ❀

    I'm loooving that wrap! Cottage cheese + refried beans sounds like an amazing combination to me. I'm definitely going to try it. And the granola….No words other than YUM! Baking almond butter into the mixture sounds so much better than adding it afterwards. Actually, baking it in, then adding more afterwards is probably the best way to go. πŸ™‚

  15. I agree that this is not my favorite bachelorette and, to quote Bentley, I wish it were Emily!!

    Yet, every week, of course I find myself glued to the TV (or computer screen, more likely). Bleak, it’s like roadkill, and I can’t look away.

  16. Super cute dresses. I adore JP so much. He’s sweet, successful, and super sexy! Winning. But Ben is a great catch too. =)

  17. ugh yes this heat is killing any chance of me running outside. i keep wanting to but it’s just too hot even at 7AM!
    where did you get those dresses? i love the red one!
    ~danielle

  18. haha it’s weird that I am commenting right after Danielle-it feels like we are one person lol

    anyway! Love the dresses!! also, what brand or tortilla is that and where di you get it from? The kind I usually buy have been missing from my supermarket the past two times I went and I am so picky about them!
    ~Jenn

  19. I want that first sundress.

    I want that first sundress. I want that first sundress.

    Can I have it when you’re done? πŸ˜‰ Aaaand I don’t know… she and Ben are seeming pretty serious! I used to think JP had it, too.. but I’m not as sure anymore..

  20. What a fabulous idea to dip granola in dark-chocolate. Double the deliciousness!! I like all 3 guys left a lot, and I think Ashley is so lucky for getting to chose from a group of guy that all seem genuinely good. Many of the last few previous contestants on previous seasons have rubbed me the wrong way, so I’m surprised I like all of Ashley’s guys so much!

  21. One of my favorite ways to do granola is on oatmeal. It’s sweet and crunchy in the mix and it’s amazing. πŸ™‚

  22. Oh my gosh, you’re killing me with this! I’m making this as soon as possible!!

  23. wow, that granola has super huge chunks – my FAVORITE! i hate flakey granola! πŸ™‚ looks great!

  24. Flowy dresses are perfect for the NYC heat! I’ve been watching The Bachelorette, but feel indifferent. I haven’t been watching closely, so maybe that’s why I don’t care as much. I usually live for that show–this season is just so blah!

  25. I ,ove the granola!! So chunky! Great pic on the dresses! I know u will make the second one look hot!!

  26. I saw that second dress at F21 and I wanted to get it but it was hanging too high for me to grab!! love it!

  27. I think your lunch sounds yummy!! Cottage cheese & Greek Yogurt are great sour cream substitutes!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

