Beat the Heat

Who knew when I moved NORTH that I would be living in 120 degree weather?? Not this girl. I woke up with quite the appetite and was craving oatmeal. Really? When there’s a heat wave outside?? I had to talk myself out of it by promising oats in a different version.

Plain Greek Yogurt with fresh blueberries and Chocolate Almond Butter Granola. I had to make more because I’m now officially obsessed with it. Look how chunky it is, it’s just plain perfect.

I walked to the gym (because I’m crazy) and begged them to give me a free pass (because I’m unemployed and can’t afford $100 a month on a gym membership) so I could take a class. They did. I have a charming smile.

See?

I took a new to me class at said gym. It was a Les Mills class (like body pump, body combat etc) called CX30. Ever heard of it?? CX30 is a 30 minute class that targets your core. You do 6 sets – 2 on the ground, 2 standing and 2 more on the ground. I really liked it and hope to one day (soon) be able to join that gym so I can be a frequent CX30 class taker.

After class I got in a quick 15 minutes of cardio and headed home in the heatwave. I was ready for lunch so I whipped up another no oven necessary meal. A quick salad:

Romaine Lettuce, leftover black bean burger, corn, cottage cheese, cucumber and a slice of avocado.

I need to pack because I leave for vacation tomorrow and I haven’t even pulled out my suitcase! Such the procrastinator. Truth is, I work better under pressure! 🙂

Tonight I have a date at Smith and Wollensky’s to spend some QT with this QT before I leave

But first, for favorite Friday I thought I’d do my favorite ways to beat the heat!!

1.) Make a HEALTHY smoothie – Preferably one that tastes like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup

2. Make s’mores ice cream

3. If I’m too lazy to make my own ice cream – I’ll head to my favorite fro-yo shop.

That’s a small. Don’t judge me.

4. Go bowling

5. Get a pedicure/manicure – Being pampered and staying inside seems like a win/win situation

6. Read Blogs (DUH) – A hilarious one I saw Cara post today on her facebook page about picking your battles. SO TRUE.

7. Read about the 50 fattiest Foods in the States

New Jersey is known for the Fat Darrell. What is your state known for?

8. Pick a fun craft off the Martha Stewart Website. Yes, I said fun.

9. Head to the beach/pool and get your tan on

10. Last but not least – Read a book in the comfort of your Air Conditioned home. Right now I’m working on this one

Let’s hope my ADD doesn’t kick in and I can finish it 🙂

I’m off to get ready for dinner and maybe attempt packing. See ya tomorrow!

QUESTIONS: Whats your favorite way to beat the heat??

19 Comments to “Beat the Heat”

  1. Stay in my A/C to beat the heat for rizzle!

    I make sure to drink lots of water and I do love smoothies more in this heat! I heard thats a good read! I hope you finish it too, I have ADD as well, lol!

    Happy Weekend love! xoxo ❤

  2. Something Borrowed was such a good book! And when you finish it, you have to read the follow up called Something Blue!

  3. have fun in OBX!!!! i was laughing out loud reading that at work today!

  4. If I can get my work done I am going in the kitchen to make myself some of your granola!

    I love frozen grapes to beat the heat, yummy!

  5. Have fun at the beach girl!! I will get my GP to you hopefully by tomorrow evening 😉
    My favorite way to beat the heat is to just avoid it all together. Stock up on wine and movies, get in your smallest comfiest PJs, blast the AC and plant your butt on the couch.

  6. That froyo shop yogurt looks SOOO amazing!!

    it is SO hot here, too!!

  7. Girl, I am thinking about you and that darn heat! Stay cool! xoxo!

  8. Ugh looking at those 50 fattiest foods made me want to vomit! New York is known for garbage plates… Appetizing.
    My favorite ways to stay cool include working out at the ACed gym, driving around in the ACed car, eating frozen bananas, drinking plentyyy of fluids, and chowing down on fresh chilled fruit!

  9. Best way is to stay in the air conditioning!

  10. i JUST finished something borrowed!! LOVED IT!!! the story is too good to let a little ADD distract you 🙂 let me know what you think when you finish!
    ~danielle

  11. I totally just started “Something Borrowed”, too!!

    I saw the movie, but can’t wait to read the whole book!

    Stay cool!! (literally!)

  12. I have read something borrowed twice–it’s so wonderful and hooked me on this author! All of Ms Emily Giffin’s books are fantastic reads–you can’t go wrong!

  13. My favorite way to beat the heat is to go to the mall – free air conditioning and new clothes you can’t beat it!

  14. I know. It is SO HOT here. Love something borrowed and I never heard of that core class…sounds fab!

  15. I definitely stay indoors when it’s so hot outside. And I drink like, prolific amounts of water because half the time, you don’t know that you’ve actually managed to sweat that much!

  16. I eat so much frozen yogurt in the summer. It’s probably out of control. I also try to wake up earlier before it gets too hot to take our pup for a walk.

  17. My state is known for the Thurmanator: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cantoiv/3626128128/

    I think that Man vs. Food featured this at one point. From the site: Two 12 oz. patties overloaded with ham, mozzarella, american cheese, lettuce, tomato, mushrooms, sauteed onions, pickle, peppers, and mayo with fries and a pickle spear.

    Isn’t that horrifying?! Though I must admit, I can get on board with fries on my sandwich…it’s like killing two birds with one stone.

  18. I have the worst ADD and was able to finish it!! dooo it 🙂

  19. i love reading about your new hoboken life!! what gym did you go to that has bodypump!?

Leave a Reply

