Put a Ring on it Chicken

I have another great guest post for you today! Jessica is one of my favorite bloggers because she makes me want to pee my pants laughing every.single.day. She also makes some amazing healthy dinner recipes and she was kind enough to share one on my blog today! Check it out….

Well hello there.  I’m Jessica from Stylish Stealthy &Healthy and I am honored to guest post for the gorgeous Alyssa while she basks in the sunshine on her family vacation.  Also I’m very jealous of her… I really need to get on that “going on vacation” thing….I have like 23 bathing suits and don’t even wear them but- Oh right, guest post.  Sorry.

When my husband and I met, he lived at home and I was in college.  Therefor the extent of my “cooking” for him was pb&j sandwiches and I think maybe once I made him spaghetti.  This of course I was left to win him over with my womanly charm and winning personality.  It’s still a miracle we’re together.

Just kidding, I’m totally a catch.

So when we took the step of moving into our apartment, it was go time.  I was so excited to have my own big beautiful kitchen (the carpet may have had cigarette burns in it and the cabinets were circa 1972) and I started planning the meals I wanted to make to show him what a great wife I’d be someday.


One of my favorites has always been a whole roasted chicken.  The smell, the flavors, the feeling of eating the kind of meal yo mamma made you… mm MM.


Not only did he wander into the kitchen way more than normal just to smell the intoxicating aroma, but he asked approximately 4367 times when dinner would be ready. 

It is my firm belief that he went out that weekend and bought a ring, tucked it in his underwear drawer and vowed to someday make me his wifey.   Sure it only took 3 years, but I know what really sealed the deal…

Herb Roasted Chicken
You’ll need:
5 lb whole chicken roaster
olive oil (about 1/4 cup)
1 large Vidalia onion
salt and pepper
1 T rosemary
1 T thyme
1 T parsley
1/2 of a lemon

Preheat oven to 425.  Remove the giblets.  Rinse inside and outside of chicken and pat dry.   Generously salt and pepper the inside of the chicken and add the lemon half.  Separate the skin from the breast meat and rub with olive oil and 1/2 your spices.  Then coat the outside skin with oil and sprinkle the remainder of your spices.

Slice an onion into about 1/2 inch wedges and place on a coated baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.  Rest your chicken on top of the onions.  (At this point you should tie the legs together with kitchen string which I did not do.  I realized too late that I was out of kitchen string.  Oops.)  Place in the oven and cook for about an hour and a half (or until juices run clear when pierced on the side).  About half way through, remove the chicken (closing oven door to retain heat) and baste with juices from pan.  This will ensure a crispy outer skin.  Remove from the oven and let sit for about 15 minutes before slicing.  Serve with caramelized onions from the roasting pan

Printer-Friendly Recipe


Not only will this chicken work its magic on your man, but it will impress the hell out of your friends and family.  I’ve often wanted to marry myself after eating it, but then again like I said before, I’m totally a catch.

Tags:

15 Responses to “Put a Ring on it Chicken”

  1. this looks delicious! i know i am coming over to your house for dinner!! esp with that new counter!!

  2. Aw thanks friend 🙂 I’ll make sure and send you some adult diapers to make up for the peeing-in-the-pants thing.
    xoxo

  3. This looks amazing! I am loving the addition of the caramelized onions!

  4. Hahaha you want to marry yourself. Um, duh, I now want to marry you too! Great guest post 🙂

  5. I’m with Cara, I’m coming over too 😉

  6. I love love love love CHICKEN especially roasted chicken- looks delicious!

  7. Mmmm!!! The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach!!!!! 🙂

  8. I absolutely adore a roast chicken, but I’m way lazy and end up buying a rotisserie chick from the store. I should probably get off my lazy butt and make one from scratch some time 🙂

  9. I adore roasted chicken!! Yours looks amazing 😀

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

