Happy Place

On our last day in the Outerbanks I headed out with 2 of my cousins to do a little shopping! I remember oohing and aahing while reading Courtney’s blogΒ from a couple of weeks ago when she was in Corolla so I took it to twitter to ask her for the exact stops.

We checked out a couple of surf shops and then headed to the good stuff. First stop was The Fudgery.

I think the girl who worked there was bored because she kept begging me to try another sample. I clearly didn’t say no.

I tried chocolate peanut butter, cookies and cream and extraordinary chocolate. I ended up buying a pound of extraordinary chocolate because I’m a sucker….

We then went into the Outerbanks Popcorn Factory.

This place has only been open for a month but they REALLY know what they are doing. The girls who worked there were so sweet and we had a long talk about blogging and popcorn of course. They gave me lots of samples to try before I decided on my final flavor.

Vanilla Almond Crunch

Pirates Blend

Old Bay

S’mores

It was a toss-up between S’mores and Old Bay! They were both SO delicious.

During Sweet vs Salt tooth – Sweet won! I couldn’t deny this popcorn. Chocolate covered popcorn, graham crackers and marshmallows. I opened it immediately and couldn’t take my hand out of the bag. It’s truly addicting. Good thing they ship them now because I am already out πŸ™‚

While walking around we saw a Donut shop called Duck Donuts and it was nothing like I’ve ever seen before.

They make all of their doughnuts plain

Then you pick the toppings

Cinnamon Sugar, Maple Sugar, Coconut, Chocolate Icing, Sprinkles etc. I didn’t try one but my cousins said they were the best they’ve ever had.

When we passed an Ice Cream spot we knew we had to stop in… I’m not one to pass up HOMEMADE ice cream. Big Bucks Ice Cream was like a 50’s pop shop. They had so many great treats.

We all picked the peanut butter cup and fudge ice cream in a small waffle cone.

There is nothing like homemade ice cream. Nothing.

I also picked up a bagel the next morning at Lighthouse Bagels that was basically dessert.

Um hello Cinnamon Burst. Best bagel i’ve ever had.

How many times have I said this was the best thing i’ve ever had? It’s true. I love Corolla! I want to marry it!

My cousins and I also chatted about our “Happy Place”. Your happy place is where you feel most comfortable – where you are at peace. Some people chose the beach, running, reading, the mall and their home. I chose the grocery store… I could spend hours and hours in there and be completely content.

What’s your Happy Place??

24 Responses to “Happy Place”

  1. Um, why didn’t you take me with you to all those sweet shops?! I’m seriously drooling here πŸ˜‰ If I ever go to Corolla, I’ll have to find out where all those places are! They look TOO good!! πŸ˜€

    And about the Greek yogurt: The “traditional” Greek yogurt was a lot tangier and more sour than ours and not as smooth (my dad called it potent, lol). I loved it – not more than our Greek yogurt, just very different. They also had other kinds that literally tasted exactly like ours! They even had lots of Fage (tasted just like our Fage), so I guess that brand does have “real” Greek yogurt πŸ™‚

    Have a great week girl!

    ❀ ❀

  2. i think i gained 5 pounds just reading this post! LOL seriously that food all looked sooo amazing!! i think i have several happy places!i cant pick just one!
    ~jenn

  3. choose your own donut toppings?! that’s crazy and genius! we’re going back to the outer banks next summer so i’ll have to look for that place. looks like you had a great vacation! my happy place is definitely the beach =)
    ~danielle

  4. the whole time i was thinking please pick the old bay please pick the old bay hahahaha i dont even know why since i had already checked out your photos! i bet you won major brownie points bringing home a pound of fudge πŸ˜‰ glad you had an amazing time!

  5. I’d have to say that my happy place is also the shore. We’ve got a donut shop just like the one that you pictured, and they truly are the best donuts around. I just like it because I feel no pressure to do anything ever. I just kick back, relax, and enjoy the good life.

  6. that looks awesome – wow! holy popcorn! πŸ™‚

  7. My happy place is definitely the mall, with emphasis on a bookstore! I also love libraries, the beach (preferably at night), Disney/Sea World, and the couch with my mans. πŸ™‚ All are place I’m completely zen’d out and happy. πŸ™‚

  8. My happy place is the ocean..

  9. Well now my happy place is jumping through this post and eating everything you did. I want that bagel bad. I want the ice cream. I want the popcorn tastings. Gimme gimme gimme!

    Did you not get the shoes yet? I sent them 9 days ago?

  10. One of my many happy places is in an ice cream parlor, and it looks as though that ice cream would have made me a very happy girl!

  11. A fudgery! Ahhh! My happy place is a sunny day in Portland walking amongst the cute little quirky boutiques and restaurants, stopping for ice cream or fro yo πŸ™‚ But then again I have a lot of happy places…like the handbags section at Bloomingdales…

  12. Omg your happy place might just be mine too πŸ˜€

  13. I’m totally with you on the grocery store as my happy place. πŸ™‚

  14. S’mores popcorn?!?! No way!! I want to go to the Outerbanks right now and get some for myself! Or maybe I could try making it on my own? My sweet tooth always beats my salty tooth too…But when I can satisfy both in one bite, I’m in trouble. ;-D

    The grocery store is definitely my happy place. Next time you’re in MD, let’s go on a grocery shopping date! xoxo

  15. Those doughnuts look so good! I’ve had mini doughnuts on my mind lately! I love all the popcorn flavors as well!

  16. what a great question! it totally made me think of great memories & lifted my mood. πŸ™‚
    my happy place: i immediately remembered one of the best summer days – sitting on the porch in the late afternoon, eating watermelon straight up (no bowl), & drinking rose.
    so nice!

  17. Oh my gosh…I LOVE popcorn.
    I could go for 5 bags of each right now. πŸ˜‰

  18. Seriously, you must have had the most fun-foodie vacation because I was absolutely dying at all of your stops! I was especially fascinated by the doughnut shop where you could choose your own toppings. That’s just like…unheard of!

  19. I second the grocery store! I LOVE it there- I could (and do) spend hours there!

  20. I would be in HEAVEN with all of those stops!! A pretzel cone? Build your own doughnuts?! FUDGE?! Yea. I wouldn’t be able to say no to any of those and would have to be rolled home. LOL

  21. Okay, I actually want to eat all of that right about NOW! I looove fudge…and popcorn…and donuts…and ice cream. Clearly, I need to go to Corolla.

  22. Peanut butter popcorn is amaaazzzzing!! Salty and Sweet and even better when you put it in the fridge for a bit.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

