Spinach Turkey Burgers

Last night I made my new favorite turkey burgers. My old favorites that I’ve made were buffalo turkey burgers and cranberry and feta turkey burgers . But now these spinach turkey burgers have won my heart! I didn’t exactly measure anything that went into the mix so I’m going to give it to you as estimates.

Spinach Turkey Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground turkey breast
  • a handful of fresh parmigiano reggiano
  • 1 tbsp of minced garlic
  • 1 tsp of thyme
  • sea salt
  • fresh grated black pepper
  • 1 package of frozen spinach, thawed and pressed with paper towels to remove excess liquid
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 roasted red peppers (i used TJ’s)
  • 4 slices of pepperjack cheese
  • BBQ sauce for topping (optional)
  • 4 Whole Wheat buns
Directions
  • Add ground turkey, thyme, parmigiano reggiano, garlic, sea salt and fresh black pepper to a large bowl

  • After spinach has been pressed and drained add to mixture

  • Mix well and form into 4 or 5 patties (Depending on size you want)

  • Heat grill pan and spray with non-stick spray
  • Add burgers to pan and grill on each side for about 7 minutes

  • Once burgers are fully cooked add sliced peppers

  • Top with a slice of cheese and make an aluminum foil tent over your pan so the cheese melts

  • Remove from grill and place on a toasted bun. Serve with sweet potato fries, zucchini fries or butternut squash fries
I love sneaking veggies into our main meal! I know Adam doesn’t mind eating spinach on the side but it’s better to knock it all out in one dish. If you know someone who wont eat spinach as a side dish this is a great way to incorporate it into their meal. I topped ours with a little bit of BBQ sauce and also dipped my fries in it 🙂
I’d choose this over a burger at a restaurant any day. Healthy, tasty and packed with veggies. Winner Winner Turkey Burger Dinner.

QUESTIONS: What’s your favorite burger/turkey burger combo??

19 Comments to “Spinach Turkey Burgers”

  1. yum! i love mixing crazy things into my burgers! i bet these made the burgers extra moist!

  2. I like onions and garlic in my turkey burger — gotta love that stinky breath 😉

  3. YUM! I am trying these!

  4. That looks delicious! I love burger patties mixed with lots of herbs and perhaps cheese oozing in the centre

  5. This looks really good, would have never put spinach into a turkey burger

  6. Aw those look SOOO good!! Sometimes I wish I still ate meat 😉 But maybe I could make these for the rest of my family… then I could sneak some spinach into their diet (muahaha 😉 ) Or I could use veggie meat instead of the turkey! I guess they wouldn’t be turkey burgers anymore, but at least all the other flavors would be there 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  7. Looks good… even to a veggie head 🙂 haha

  8. fab idea. I love spinach in anything, Especially mixed w/ garlic in with them- slaaamin…!

  9. These look really delicious. Watch out though for the massive ground turkey recall

  10. Black bean burgers + avocado are my fave!!

  11. Mmmmm your cheese has melted in a very appealing way. Salivation: commence.

    I like to add some cheese in my burger as well, a little gooey surprise. Some cheddar, some chopped jalapeno, you got yourself a regular mouth party going.

  12. Mmm… this looks delicious! Also, I totally love that you said “winner winner turkey burger dinner”… that made me laugh! 😉

    My favorite burger? Most definitely our bacon cheese burgers (http://thisitalianfamily.wordpress.com/recipes/recipe-book/bacon-cheeseburgers/). Love ’em!

  13. Mmm, that looks super delicious! I love turkey burgers 😀

  14. well i’m not a huge fan of burgers but i do like to make mini turkey muffins! i’m totally going to hit up this recipe once the recall is over! thanks for the inspiration!

  15. I love the idea of sneaking spinach into the patty!

    As for burger combos, I’d have to say the one we have been making the most would be a mexi-burger with cilantro, lime and jalapeno in the patty, topped with guac, caramelized onions+peppers and chipotle mayonnaise. Like, I can barely deal when we’re eating them.

  16. i don’t eat meat so i can’t really comment on this other than to say these burgers look delicious. but the fries? they look even better! 🙂

  17. I’m surprised by all of the other vegetarians as above commenters! I can’t eat these either but this might be a good recipe with black or pinto beans?

  18. I mix herbs, garlic, and breadcrumbs into my turkey burger. Mmm, that melty cheese is like hypnotizing me!

  19. Yum! These look really good and I totally know what you mean about knocking veggies out all in one dish!

Leave a Reply

