Sweet Potato Biscuits

Thanks for all of the well wishes on the job yesterday 🙂 Day 1 was VERY long but extremely productive. I trained for most of the day and then did a lot of the things on my own! For those of you who asked I took a Sales and Event Manager position within walking distance of our apartment. The walk is about .7 miles so i”ll be getting a little added exercise to my daily routine!

Yesterday’s meals were rather boring – Since I worked til almost 9pm I ate lunch and dinner at work (and it’s free, score!)

Breakfast: Special K Vanilla Almond – I know this isn’t new but it’s my new favorite! SO delicious

Lunch: Mixed Greens with goat cheese, candied almonds, dried cranberries, sliced pears and grilled chicken

Dinner: Romaine w/ red onion, cucumbers, tomatoes and grilled chicken with buffalo sauce

Get used to these red bowls because I have a feeling we’ll be seeing a lot of them.

Yesterday I promised the recipe for sweet potato biscuits so here it is.

Sweet Potato Biscuits

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of sweet potatoes (peeled, cubed and boiled)
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 1/2 cups of bisquick biscuit mix
Directions
  • Add all ingredients to 1 bowl

  • Beat with a mixer

  • Flour workspace

  • Roll out dough and place cup over top to make a circle

  • Bake in oven at 375 degrees on a greased baking sheet for 18 minutes

  • Serve warm with fresh butter
SO.
FREAKING
YUMMY
These are perfect for a BBQ meal, a sunday dinner feast or a combination of the two 🙂
I have off today for the long hours I put in yesterday but might stop in later to check on my emails…Off to my happy place!!

QUESTIONS: Do you usually pack a lunch or get something while you’re at work??

18 Responses to “Sweet Potato Biscuits”

  1. i usually pack a lunch, it is so hard when we have client meetings with leftover foods (pasta, salad with HORRIBLE dressing, pizza) etc. Yay to your new job and rock it girl!

  2. How did you get so lucky to get a walking distance job!!!

  3. glad your first day went well 🙂
    I always pack, but we have so many meetings at my office there’s random days where I save it for the next day and capitalize on leftover wraps/salads.

  4. I always bring my lunch. I started because I wanted to be healthier and know what’s in my food, but I have pleasantly found it helped my vacation and shoe spending fund grow much faster as well 😉

  5. Those biscuits look scrumptious! And gorgeous dress! When I was in college and lived off campus I used to pack a lunch about 50% of the time depending on my class schedule- definitely saves money 🙂

  6. I’m all about packing lunch (or eating at home) and have no idea how my coworkers afford eating out as often as they do!!

    But honestly, I prefer the food I make 90% of the time anyway, and more bang for my buck.

  7. i’m a teacher – always pack my lunch! i don’t wanna know what’s in those meals they serve to the students…lol
    ~danielle

  8. I’m a lunch-packer.

    Alyssa. come make me those. right now. no choice. do it.

  9. I don’t have an official job, but when I go to school, I always pack my lunch 🙂

    Those biscuits… oh my they look incredible!!! And I absolutely love your dress – it’s gorgeous!

    ❤ ❤

  10. I always pack a lunch. In my Vera Bradley lunch box. 🙂

  11. bahahaha i have the same recipe sitting on my counter right now! some random mag I ripped it from — gosh I want these even MORE now that you posted them in all their Sweet potato-y glory! a yum from one of my fav bloggers is enough to make these babies now! =) mwah!

  12. I’m definitely a lunch packer! Nothing better than bringing your own goodies. What luck to find such a close job 🙂

  13. I can count on one hand the times in the last 4 years I didn’t bring anything to work for lunch, but I often get a supplement from the cafe across the street or vending machine!

  14. Oh my buttery goodness! These would be perfect for Thanksgiving!! Every year, I tell my mom I’m going to make homemade biscuits, and she insists there’s no time and makes the kind from a tube 😦 I WILL be making these this year 🙂

  15. Your sweet potato biscuits look sooooo good!! Omg, I want one NOW. With warm, melted butter, please. 🙂

    Your work lunches look pretty amazing, especially considering they’re free! Double win. Goat cheese, candied nuts and fruit may be my favorite salad combination…lovelovelove. Recently I’ve been buying the goat cheese medallions (single serving) because I ALWAYS go overboard with the goat cheese. :-p

    Since I’m not working right now, I don’t pack a lunch, but in the past I’ve almost always brought it with me. I never had access to fresh salads and goat cheese at my offices though! xoxoxo

  16. Cannot wait to try those Sweet potato biscuits – yummy! Glad the job went well – It’s so nice to finally make it through the first day. And you get free food? Jealous!

  17. I love sweet potato and biscuits so to have the two together are AMAZING! They make the best b-fast sandwiches!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

