Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

What a weekend! Irene came and tore up Hoboken – although we are very grateful because it could have been a million times worse. Here are a couple pictures of the damage.

Lots of flooding – but everyone is safe! Since we live on the ground floor we did have a mandatory evacuation so we headed to Adam’s parents for the weekend. Luckily for us we came back to power and just a messy hallway!

Before we left on Friday Adam cooked me dinner! This was the second time he has attempted to cook since we’ve lived together so this is BIG news.

(It’s not burnt – those are blue corn tortilla chips) – Enchilada Casserole was his pick and it was GOOD!ย Besidesย the amount of cheese that was used the recipe was extremely healthy. Greek Yogurt, shredded chicken, veggies, corn tortillas, enchilada sauce and jalepenos were the main ingredients – it had a nice kick and I could tell he was proud himself. I was proud too ๐Ÿ™‚

Before the storm hit we tried to go to Yogurtland because it had just open. Well of course, they closed early.

In the words of Stephanie Tanner, How Rude.

I knew what I had to do as soon as we got home. I had to break out the Ice Cream Maker. I only used a few ingredients

and it turned into this

Peanut Butter + Chocolate = AMAZINGNESS (its a word). Oh did I mention it was dairy free?? No sad belly here!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Ice Cream ย (dairy free – vegan)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of Light Chocolate Silk
  • 1 cup of Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/3 cup Peanut Butter (I used White Chocolate)
  • 1/3 cup Agave Nectar
  • 2 pinches of Xanthan Gum
  • 1 tsp of Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (or more)
Directions
  • Blend all ingredients except chocolate chips in blender

  • Pour into your ice cream maker and use as directed
  • Once ice cream has thickened add chocolate chips for last one minute

  • Remove from ice cream maker and add to tupperware

  • Freeze for 2-4 hours and serve
Nothing beats this combo. Nothing.

So the moral of the story? When life gives you hurricanes – make ice cream…andย don’tย forget to watch the prettiest sunset post storm.

Life.is.good.

QUESTIONS: Were you affected by Irene??ย 

28 Comments to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Ice Cream”

  1. Holy moly flooding. No fun! Glad everyone is safe.

    That ice cream looks oh so tasty!

    No Irene for this Cali girl ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Good to know your apartment wasn’t affected! A friend posted a pic from yesterday of Hoboken and there was a huy kayaking around. My town is really weird because half of it runs along the Passaic River. Therefore, that half of the town flooded BAD, like water up to your neck and my side looks as though nothing ever happened. Many of the towns around here also had horrible flooding and power outages. Crazy!
    ~Jenn

  3. Hey neighbor, bring me some ice cream pretty please? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. oh WOW that ice cream looks delish! anything chocolate and PB sounds AWESOME to me!

  5. I need the enchilada casserole and ice cream in my life…RIGHT NOW. Mmm!

  6. That flooding is insane! I’m glad you’re okay!

    I NEED that ice cream. Chocolate and peanut butter are my favorite flavor combo… ice cream is my favorite food… YUM!

  7. god that flooding is insane hope you and yours are safe

  8. The ice cream looks amazing, BUT nothing beats YogurtLand!!!! Boo that it was closed, you better go back this week ; )

    Glad you guys are safe and didn’t have any damage or power outage when you went back to your place xoxo

  9. Goodness that is a whole lot of flooding, I am so so glad you are okay!
    And not going to lie, I would have been rather pissed too about Yogurtland being closed! When I have the plan set in my head that I am getting froyo, well it needs to happen, or else I get a bit peeved ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. glad you are safe! it was gorgeous out after the storm!! you always catch the best sunsets ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. I’m so happy that you are safe, and there wasn’t TOO much damage. LOVING the Stephanie Tanner shoutout. That ice cream looks so amazing. I need to get an ice cream maker. I’ll have to tell Shane that needs to go on our list of household items to get. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. wow. i want an ice cream maker. now. that looks delicious! sometimes i make smoothies and add a lot of xanthum and chia seeds until it is so thick that i pretend it is ice cream, does that count?

  13. It’s official. I really need an ice cream maker. I got married last summer – I so wished we would have registered for one. Your recipe looks delish, I love vegan having yummy vegan options!!

  14. Your “ice cream” looks delicious, i bet it was worth the wait! I had no idea you could use such a variety of types of ingredients in ice cream machinse- i’m very iffy on dairy myself, so I never thought of having an ice cream maker but now I have definite second thoughts!

  15. I don’t know what looks prettier–the sunset or that ice cream! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you’re safe and that your place is okay!

  16. I’m pretty sure that Irene made spooky wind sounds all night at my house. Other than the ghoulishness, all was okay minus a brief loss of cable/internet. Thank goodness for iPhones.

  17. I need to make this ice cream like asap! Glad you guys are all ok ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Gorgeous sunset! And holy moly flooding! Glad to hear you are okay ๐Ÿ™‚ I get serious frozen yogurt cravings…will definitely have to try your alternative ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. ahhh glad you’re okay! the flooding in hobo was crazzyyy!! gotta love a boy who cooks for you though! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    -courtney

  20. Girl, you are genius! WHY didn’t I think of using chocolate silk in the ice cream maker instead of regular??! So smart! Using this recipe next week! CANNOT WAIT! & I’m so glad you guys were ok through the storm!

  21. So glad you’re okay! I can’t believe the flooding! I was not affected by Irene even though I’m in FL. Lots of weekend sunshine and humidity. What’s new? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yogurtland sounds amazing right about now. I’m ready for an afternoon snack!

  22. i can’t believe those flood pictures – it’s scary how badly damaged some places are now! glad you guys were ok!

    can adam post his enchilada casserole recipe?! it looks delicious! haha =)

    ~danielle

  23. Wow, Hoboken definitely took a hit–pretty incredible. I’m SO relieved to hear you and everyone else there is okay! โค

    Oh my goodness gracious your ice cream looks TO DIE FOR DELICIOUS!! I want a bowl full *right* this second. I have everything on hand except the ice cream maker. Maybe peanut butter chocolate chip soup?

    Yay for Adam making an enchilada casserole! It's one of my favorites! xoxo

  24. Wow, that’s a lot of flooding! Irene only knocked some branches off the trees by our house.

    I loooove ice cream but never make it homemade. Now that I realize I have in my pantry and fridge all the ingredients in your mix, I definitely need to try making some myself!

  25. My heart aches for all those folks. Happy you are safe. Stay warm, dry and helpful for those that were not as lucky

    Greetings. This is my first time on your blog, but you have a terrific one. I am always on the look out for new blogs, new ideas. I especially appreciate all the details you d0. Great photos makes it seem like anyone can replicate the recipe!

    I am asking, would you please consider posting a few of your favorite recipes on erecipecards.com
    http://erecipecards.com/

    It is a tool for bloggers to see and to be seen. Your posts would fit in perfectly.

    in addition, all photos, recipe titles as well as your blog name would link directly back to your blog. Thus giving you new attention and potentially new readers.

    Or, if you just want to take a look at a lot of fellow food bloggers all in one place. A great learning experience to get ideas about how to establish your own blogging voice!

    Please take a look. If you have any ideas or questions, please do not hesitate to write

    Dave
    http://erecipecards.com/
    Contact@eRecipeCards.com

  26. What a great healthy ice cream! Really need an ice cream maker………..

  27. Going out and buying an ice cream maker now….

  28. I’m in the uk, but my heart goes out to everyone who had to try and stay safe with the hurricane – scary stuff. I LOVE your blog!! Fashion = โค Fitness = โค and food, pure love! I can't wait to follow and read more! Your icecream looks amazing, seriously the best home made one I've seen! Now just to get an icecream maker..:p

Leave a Reply

