Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

You know what I love about lasagna? Um, everything…Duh. Oh, except for the carb and fat overload. So I decided to take a comfort food and take the guilt out of the dish. This “lasagna” uses spaghetti squash, spinach, cottage cheese, tomato sauce and fresh mozzarella and will totally hit the spot. You get that baked Italian goodness for, get this, about 100 calories a serving!

The secret to lightening up this dish (besides swapping out pasta for squash) is to watch the cheese. So many times we make dishes just slapping on high fat ingredients without thought. In all actuality, half would probably do just as well. This dish totally proves a little can really go a long way!

Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 container of Cottage Cheese (i used dairy free)
  • 1 jar of marinara with basil
  • 10 oz of defrosted chopped spinach
  • 1 ball of fresh mozzarella
Directions
  • Cut spaghetti squash in half, scoop out seeds and roast in oven for 45 minutes at 450 degrees
  • Scrape out the insides of the spaghetti squash into a bowl
  • Take a 9×13 dish and spread a thin layer of marinara sauce on the bottom
  • Layer with half of the spaghetti squash
  • Add 1/2 of the spinach and 1/2 of the cottage cheese with more sauce on top
  • Add remaining spaghetti squash and desired amount of sauce w/ slices of fresh mozz on top
  • Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until heated through

  • Slice and serve hot

So, if you like spaghetti squash and are looking for new ways to eat it or are looking for a new dish to try – Make this. It will make you and your thighs happy. Note: You can also use ground turkey in this dish if desired 🙂

QUESTIONS: What’s your favorite Italian meal? I want to skinnify it!

25 Comments to “Spaghetti Squash Lasagna”

  1. This recipe looks absolutely delicious! And you did an awesome job of skinnify-ing it! I know exactly what I’ll be using my next spaghetti squash for.

    I can’t pick a favorite italian dish (I love them all!). But, I’m especially a sucker for anything with vegan pesto.

  2. My favorite italian meal is manicotti!!!! The best!
    This looks amazing! I have always wanted to make stuffed shells with tofu, thats a good make over healthy meal!

  3. Yum! Skinnify baked ziti for me please- it’s my fav!!

  4. ‘Spaghetti Squash Lasagna’ : Fantastic! This looks really yummy! I’ve put the ingredients on my shopping list and will give it a go. Thanks.

  5. I love spaghetti squash!! Love the super yummy recipe 😀

  6. Woah! I just roasted spaghetti squash tonight for dinner and wasn’t sure what to use the leftovers for! What a GREAT idea!!

  7. Yum! My favorite Italian dish would have to be eggplant parm or ravioli!

  8. I will eat ANY kind of lasagna, so this is right up my alley. It’s the best!

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  9. This looks AMAZING- I am a self-proclaimed spaghetti squash addict! Yum! My other favourite Italian dishes: Chicken or Eggplant Parmigiana…yumm!

  10. yum yum yum- I’m a huge spaghetti squash fan. I love the texture. I want to make this recipe, the ingredient list is so nice and short but it looks delicious!

  11. I am SO making this! Oh my goodness, yum. The melted fresh mozzarella looks to die for delicious.

    My favorite Italian meal<— Such a tough question! I've always loved fettuccine alfredo and eggplant parmesan, however any dish what contains tomatoes and melted cheese is right up my alley.

    Happy hump day! xoxo

  12. Looks fantastic! I also love eggplant parm. Skinnify that for me please!

  13. I just tried a spaghetti squash on Sunday for the first time ever. If it wasn’t for my mom giving it to me, I would have never of bought one. But it is so delicious! I had a bowl of it last night for dinner. And I love your lasagna idea. Will have to try this next!

  14. This looks glorious! Eggplant parm… please skinnify that one 🙂

  15. This is such a great idea! I am dying to buy a spaghetti squash to try some recipes I keep seeing everywhere. This one is my favorite so far. I’m deifnitely going to have make it! 🙂 I love making eggplant parm. I bake it and don’t fry it to keep it on the healthy side. It’s so good.

  16. Yep. Making this ASAP. You know what I love about you? EVERYTHING.

  17. This is such a great idea! I have a school project that this would be PERFECT for! 😀 I’m excited now.

  18. Ahhh this is amazing!! I love spaghetti squash, but now I want to try it this way! I’m going to call it lasagna squash 😉 haha

  19. This looks awesome! Chef C may give this one a try…love you tons!

  20. Top notch, always looking for new/fun ways to have spaghetti squash without just using it like s’ghetti!

  21. This looks amazing!! I love spaghetti squash and I need to make this one day!

  22. I LOVE spaghetti squash! I can’t wait to try this recipe! My favorite italian recipe is definitely eggplant parm!

  23. can’t wait to make this!!!!! i love “skinnyfied” recipes!!!
    ~jenn

  24. I saw this when you posted it & meant to leave you a comment- what size container cottage cheese did you use?? I definitely want to make it- & I’m think hopefully this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

