WIAW & Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies

So now that Wednesday’s officially over (well in 3 hours, but I’ll be long asleep by then) I can show you my  eats of the day. As usual I’m linking up with Jenn over at Peas and Crayons! If you haven’t joined in the Wednesday fun – feel free to do so!

Breakfast: 2 slices of topless pumpkin spice bread w/ homemade pumpkin cream cheese

Snack: Apple (picked by me!)

Lunch: Romaine, Artichoke Hearts, Cucumbers, Carrots, Red Onion, Roasted Red Peppers, Tomatoes & Vegetarian Chicken Patty w/ a drizzle of BBQ sauce

Snack: Popcorn

Dinner: Healthy Chipotle knockoff – Brown rice w/ lime juice and cilantro, Grilled chicken flavored with taco seasoning, chopped jalapeno, chopped tomatoes, chopped onions, black beans, corn, cheddar cheese, dollop of greek yogurt and avocado slice

Dessert: 2 Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies

I posted on Facebook the other day that I made these cookies and got a lot of requests for the recipe… WELL i have a confession. I made these with 2 ingredients.

+

=

No butter, no oil, no eggs…Just the mix and pumpkin. I know, that’s cheating. But it’s good…and when you don’t keep cookies in your house and you are craving one badly you take desperate measures.

This was one of the tastiest desperate measures I’ve ever taken.

QUESTIONS: Do you ever use cake or cookie packages? Admit it!!!

24 Comments to “WIAW & Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies”

  1. I made pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookies on Monday – I like your shortcut! 🙂

  2. Oh, I totally use pre-packaged mixes at times. Like you said, when you’re desperate or in a pinch, there’s no time to whip up a homemade apple pie–Martha Stewart would disagree with this, but let’s be real here. I’m no Martha Stewart.

  3. I’m a big fan of boxed mixes/ pumpkin for baking. Then my dad can eat it (heart healthy) and its super easy. Plus, good moist texture. I’ll have to try this combo!

  4. Yes..I admit it! I use cake and cookie mixes 😛

  5. Yum! How simple; I actually never bake period…I really should start though, even if it’s from a box 😉

  6. I do use box cookies, BUT would love to make from scratch for the holidays!

    Look really good!

  7. I use cookie and cake packages ALL OF THE TIME! And I like it 🙂

  8. Sounds delicious, I have both the cookie mix and pumpkin at my house right now 🙂 Love your blog xoxo

  9. Haha yaaaaa…. I use package cookie mix, anyone who says they never do is just in denial 😀

  10. I’m an avid fan of Picky Palate’s blog, and she uses cake box mixes on occasion. I don’t question, just follow her lead! 🙂

    However, I do prefer most of the time to do it from scratch. I find baking fun… so I like doing it the old fashioned way for most things.

  11. I am so bookmarking that pumpkin cream cheese recipe 😀

    I do use them from time to time >_< It feels like cheating sometimes… but others it's totally necessary and saves loads of time.

  12. Are you kidding?! I grew up on boxed EVERYTHING! Haha. Now I wont make it unless it’s from scratch [or at leats I try!] unless it’s cake pops. Those are straight boxed cake/frosting goodness. 🙂

    I neeeeeeed to make my own homemade Chipotle! ❤ What a great idea!

  13. Great cookies for the season! Yummy 😀

  14. I love subbing the pumpkin for eggs/oil/water! I do it for brownies, too. 🙂

  15. What a great idea! I really don’t have patience (or time) for to whip up homemade treats, so I’m all for the shortcuts!

  16. I have never tried the package cookie mixes but whenever I walk by them in the grocery store I am always tempted!

  17. I’ve done these cookies with cake mix. Perfection:D

  18. What is it about BBQ sauce that makes everything SO much better?

    And I do use packaged brownie mix when I make stuff for Maya’s school bake sales, etc. It’s just 100000 times easier and less stressful and it’s still “homemade” right? Right.

  19. Haha I am baking Toll House cookies from the package as we speak!

  20. Absolutely I do! I just finished making Red Velvet Cake Mix Cookies – so easy and so delicious!

  21. I totally do! Haven’t mastered gluten-free baking yet and Betty Crocker does it so well 🙂

  22. Those cookies look great! I definitely want to try making them. 🙂 I will totally use a box mix or package for a quick and easy shortcut!

  23. I love baking with cake mixes! I actually made a similar recipe the other day with Libby’s pumpkin and Spice Cake mix rather than the oatmeal. 🙂 I don’t mind cheating if it tastes good!

  24. I used to bake with that same mix all the time growing up! That’s such a good idea to add pumpkin to it…perfect for fall! I just made some healthy pumpkin muffins yesterday. They were so good and left my kitchen smelling amazing…

Leave a Reply

