I did it!

Anyone else have today off? I kept thinking I had to work today since Adam got up at the normal time and then it hit me…DUH, I have off today! Now I just need to figure out what to do with my time without hurting my bank account πŸ˜‰

Last night I did a couple of things…

Number 1:

I revamped my recipes page! I hope it will be a lot easier for people to search for what they are looking for!

Number 2:

I had a major fail while baking. I attempted to make Gracie’s Cake Batter BlondiesΒ and they turned out looking like this

I tried to use applesauce instead of oil, egg whites instead of whole eggs and almond milk in place of milk and clearly this wasn’t a recipe to mess with. Gracie’s looked like this

Note to self: Not everything can be healthified! At least the batter tasted good πŸ˜‰

Number 3:

I roasted my first chicken!

It took 3 hours…but it was worth it. I took Jessica’s advice and covered it in salt, pepper and olive oil. Simple andΒ delicious. This chicken was 7 pounds!!! So we have plenty of leftovers…

Any ideas for leftover chicken recipes?? I’m thinking soup, quesadillas and bbq chicken sandwiches!

Now it’s time for breakfast and since I have a little extra time I’m on my hands I made a fall favorite

2 toasted whole wheat waffles, baked apples & raisins with cinnamon, spread with some pumpkin cream cheese and drizzled with a bit of syrup. Now maybe I need a nap. I love days off!

QUESTIONS: What should I make with all of the leftover chicken we have? Link a recipe if you have a good one πŸ™‚

22 Responses to “I did it!”

  1. “some recipes just can’t be healthified” — oh so true. I tend to just go full-fat on most baked goods…and then promptly give them away so I don’t eat every single one!

  2. Wow, that chicken looks delicious – the skin looks golden. Enjoy your left overs!

  3. I want to learn to roast a chicken! Perhaps chicken quesadillas as a leftover?

  4. I would say make some kind of chicken salad with apples, mayo ( I dont use mayo but I use vegan mayo ) and celery! Could be good! of course some seasoning in it as well!

  5. oh you should make bbq chicken salad wraps- yum! Shredded chicken freezes well and you’ll always find some use for it later!

  6. Oh I’m totally checking out the recipe page! yay!

    I had today off too and it was AWESOME!

  7. Hahaha I have definitely had my fair share of baking mishaps as well… oh well, I bet it still tasted pretty good πŸ™‚
    I am going to check out your recipe page!

  8. Putting some chicken in the crockpot with bbq sauce is a easy and yummy! Plus you can always reheat the leftovers for lunch πŸ™‚

  9. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve ruined recipes by trying to “healthify” them. Some things just shouldn’t be messed with!
    I don’t eat meat, but with my faux-chicken I love making grilled veggie/chicken wraps. So easy and yummy!

  10. You should make a pizza and top it with the shredded chicken, and maybe some sauteed mushrooms and onions with some goat cheese on top! I made this a few weeks ago for my roommates when I bought a rotisserie chicken at the grocery store and it was really nommmy:)

  11. Usually the batter is the best part so it was still a win in one way πŸ˜€ I have never roasted a chicken but that looks good! I would probably make salad, soup, or sandwiches with it!

  12. I haven’t eaten chicken in years, but I had friends in high school who used to make chicken wing dip for all our get togethers. It always looked and smelled delicious and was always one of the first things to vanish!

  13. So jealous that you had today off. I have definitely had some interesting recipes turn out wrong when I tried to make them healthier, but other times they turn out fine. It is so hard to tell. That chicken looks dank though. Make some enchiladas or tacos con el pollo.

  14. I love all your recipes and left over chicken for me goes with a nice creamy pesto sauce and some pasta it’s a great meal for dinner and even a late lunch! P.s. I’m black on the blog scene check me out! πŸ™‚

  15. I’m dying to make those cake batter blondies GF style!!
    Wed. I get out of school at like 8:30pm and then commute back to Hoboken so idk if that would be too late or not =/

  16. You know- I don’t care what it comes out looking like- that cake batter blondie sure looks good to me still, Yum! I need some sugar πŸ™‚

  17. there’s a section in the NYTimes devoted to recipes for poached chicken & you can probably use your roasted chicken in those! http://topics.nytimes.com/top/news/health/series/recipes_for_health/poached_chicken/index.html
    ps – i’m super impressed with that chicken & i think you just inspired me to tackle that (poultry) beast!

  18. Ahh fortunately all the recipes I have messed with to make “healthier” have turned out OK. I am waiting for the day I make one that just turns out awful.

  19. That chicken looks delicious! I love how they leave so many leftovers. You could always make enchiladas, tacos, or chicken salad πŸ™‚

  20. Yum, I love having leftover chicken. I like to use them for gyros, taco soup, and salad.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

