Pumpkin Chili

Today was about 15 degrees cooler than it was yesterday. Surprisingly, I didn’t mind it! Only because I had a comfort food in mind. This comfort food included pumpkin. Surprised? I didn’t think you all would mind since you said to bring it on the other day!

Pumpkin Chili (Vegetarian)

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 medium sweet yellow pepper, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cans (15 ounces each) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can of corn, drained
  • 1 can (15 ounces) solid-pack pumpkin
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon ground all spice
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  • In a large skillet, saute the onion, yellow pepper in oil until tender.
  • Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer.
  • Transfer to a 5-qt. slow cooker; stir in the remaining ingredients.
  • Cover and cook on low for 8 hours or until heated through. 
  • Top with extras
I added a dollop of greek yogurt and more parsley. Then I realized I had leftover cornbread in the freezer (from exactly a month ago!!) so I defrosted it in the microwave and added to the top as well.

Oh man, you guys have to try this. I never thought vegetarian chili could taste so good!

I’m sure you guys have seen this video of the little girl singing Nicki Minaj’s Super Bass song, right?

WELL, she got to meet Nicki Minaj AND sing with her – Her reaction is priceless.

I am obsessed with them!

Last thing for today’s post – I saw this on Facebook and thought it was funny so I’d share.

I got beautiful, pretty and broke – Ha!

QUESTIONS: What were the first 3 words you saw?

23 Comments to “Pumpkin Chili”

  1. I posted the first video on my blog too I’m seriously obsessed and just watched the video you posted of her on Ellen! She is too cute I can’t even deal!

  2. I have seriously wanted to make pumpkin chili since Fall started, it looks amazing!

  3. I saw those little girls on Ellen today, I was BLOWN away! She is awesome! I mean, its crazy how talented she is! I could not believe it! So cute too!!

  4. I saw “love,” “beautiful,” and “plop” 🙂 Pumpkin chili sounds like the best fall meal 🙂

  5. ummm, you pack my lunch if you want 🙂 I wouldn’t mind the cold if I had pumpkin chilli, either!

  6. yay for vegetarian meals and pumpkin!! i wonder if there is a pumpkin corn bread recipe…. hahaha you have my wheels turning! i got fat, broken and then i gave up. haha

  7. hmmm- ply, pit, and bin. Sounds like rubbish haha! The recipe looks good though 🙂

  8. Pumpkin chili looks and sounds delicious! I’m going to have to try your recipe. I love a good chili. 🙂

    I saw funny, broke, and love.

  9. omg I love her!!
    And I got funny, pretty and love..? Well I do love being pretty and funny… haaaaa jk 😉

  10. Ha, I saw (1) beautiful (2) plop and (3) nice. Plop? Really???

    The chili looks great!

  11. pretty, beautiful and epic, but it actually took me awhile to find three words, which is weird because I am usually a crossword puzzle rockstar!

  12. I stared at the tv for a good 15 minutes with a huge smile on my face as those girls were on Ellen. I kind of love them.

    …and I got fab, broke, and fat. well that’s nice.

  13. Funny, broke and fat…. accurate?

  14. The first word I saw was whore, and I decided I didn’t want to see anymore. LOL! Bummer!

  15. Yum! I love how there’s no meat and lots of pumpkin 🙂

  16. I want to make chili so much, but it was almost 100 degrees here today! Saving this recipe for a cool day 🙂

  17. There is officially a pumpkin version of everything now! 🙂

  18. I’ve seen that video of the little girl and it was the cutest thing everrr.

    I don’t know how I feel about that word find–I got lovely, whore, and broken. Yikes!!

  19. I had not seen these videos!! How adorable!! Your chili looks great!

Leave a Reply

