Sweet Surprise

I don’t know why I named this post “Sweet Surprise” because it’s no surprise I am baking something sweet AGAIN.

What did I make you ask?

Ingredients included: Dark Chocolate. Double Stuf Oreos. All wrapped up into a cupcake. I think I’m in love. Sorry, Adam.

The Easter Bunny knows me well… When he placed this beautiful can of Sprinkles cupcake mix in my basket this year I was brainstorming ideas on how to make them my own. I had leftover Double Stuf Oreo’s from some type of event a while back and thought this could be the perfect pair. Actually, I lied. Peanut butter would’ve been the perfect pair but my family might be sick of my PB & Choc combo? I’m only here to please you people.

These cupcakes were actually very simple.

First you have to buy one of these (or your favorite chocolate boxed mix)

Next follow the directions to a tee.

Bake them

Let them cool for 15 minutes.

While cupcakes are cooling you will prepare your filling.

Cookies and Cream Filling

Ingredients

  • 12 Double Stuf Oreo Cookies
  • 1 Cup Whipping Cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 Tbs sugar
Directions
  • Place Oreos in Food processor and chop. (If you don’t have a food processor – smash them in a bag)
  • Place whipping cream, vanilla and sugar in bowl and beat for 5 minutes or until soft peak forms.
  • Mix in cookie crumbs

  • Place in refrigerator until you are ready to fill.
  • Take a paring knife and cut a cone shape out of your cupcakes.
  • Fill cupcakes with mixture

  • Refrigerate for 10-20 minutes
  • Carefully spread frosting of choice (I used store-bought Triple Chocolate Fudge Chip) on top of cupcakes
  • Top with half of an oreo
Since I only made 12 cupcakes I had A LOT of extra filling left… What I didn’t eat by the spoonful went on a couple of the cupcakes as frosting.
Rumor has it the filling frosting was better than the triple chocolate fudge chip. Maybe I shouldn’t have eaten so much of it by the spoonful?
Neh, everyone got a taste of it on the inside. There’s always next time.
I’m a self-proclaimed chocoholic but I’m not a big chocolate cake lover… These were absolutely delicious though. Fluffy, soft, flavorful and just the right amount of sweetness. Kind of sounds like me.
You can find me at the gym. Happy Tuesday!

QUESTIONS: What is your favorite cupcake flavor!? Mine is funfetti…DUH

32 Comments to “Sweet Surprise”

  1. wow they look amazing and also like i might die of chocolate overdose if I ate one haha! My problem would be that I wouldn;t be able to stop at just one!!!

  2. These cupcakes are truly decadent! I would love one right now with a tall glass of cold milk!

  3. funfetti or french vanilla from TJ. i love the TJ one because it has vanilla bean specs in it!! soooo good!

  4. Those look incredible!!! I was always so intimated by cupcake recipes that called for filling, but you made it look pretty easy!

    My favorite cupcake flavor is red velvet!

  5. The best cupcake I’ve had is the pancake cupcake with maple frosting…so good. I’m going to make them one day 🙂

  6. Honestly I would eat like 10 of these!! I don’t think I’d be able to control myself! I’ve never made cupcakes b/c they kind of scare me haha, but I love eating them…funfetti and vanilla with a cream cheese frosting. So good!

  7. Ahhh Sprinkles cupcakes are AMAZING! This post is seriously making me drool.

  8. How about instead of NJ you move to PA, and like you can like, bake me all this wonderful stuff all the time. And that way I can have just one, instead of making them myself and eating the entire batch and collapsing into a sugar coma. You can totally live in our guest room, just feed me with sweets and we’ll call it cool.

  9. Those look amazing and would curb my craving right now but I am more of a white cupcake kinda girl. You said it perfectly with the funfetti cupcakes and funfetti icing!

  10. Now that is a super clever cupcake. I bet the Sprinkles around the corner from me would be rather jealous you were able to replicate something that people stand in line for! Very cute.

    My favorite cupcake is chocolate, although, I really only eat the frosting!

  11. My favorite homemade cupcake flavor is yellow cake with chocolate frosting. I’ve never been to a cupcake shop, but I’d love to try some of the flavor combinations they come up with.

  12. OhMyGosh your cupcakes look delicious!!!!! I need to try the cookies and cream filling!!!!

  13. Holy jesus, these are so wrong they’re right. I want one right now.

    Fave cupcake? Hmm, vanilla with coconut frosting or lemon.

  14. Wow those look incredibly fabulous! Nicely done, lady!

  15. Woah those look delicious! I love VCTOTW chocolate cupcakes or golden vanilla with vanilla buttercream frosting. I made chocolate cupcakes with black cocoa once, which is what oreos are made with, and then topped them with “cookies and cream” frosting. Oh man, those were good.

  16. My favorite cupcake was also funfetti until I saw these. I want one! (or four)

  17. Holy wow. These look awesome. I usually use the chocolate cake recipe on PPK’s website. It’s soo good and moist.

  18. Those look decadent… wow…. love the creativity!! you are a fabulous baker!!

    Here is the link for the spiralizer I purchased from amazon $30

  19. I don’t like chocolate cake much either but the filling looks diviiiine! Fun baking project!

  20. Those cupcakes look TO DIE!!! WOW!!!

  21. I think i’ve said this before, but I’m saying it again – you are the queen of delicious baked sweets!!

  22. Omg these look incredible!! Oreos are my favorite cookie so I am seriously in love with these cupcakes. You must come to Miami like nowww ;D

  23. Favorite cake flavor?! That’s like asking my mom if she loves me or my brother more. Haha. I don’t know. Funfetti, Strawberry, chocolate, german chocolate, dark chocolate. Girl, I’m vetoing this question. It’s too mean!! 🙂

    I’m making those. Sometime in the very near future, I am stealing those oreo bits of heaven. 🙂

  24. omg YES. PLEASE. these look bomb, you KNOW I’m a diehard chocoholic!! I can’t wait to make these babes!!

  25. Goodness this looks decadently delicious!

  26. Those look DECADENT!

  27. Oh, AMEN, sister! These just look like heaven 🙂

    All I know is that in my world, no cupcake is complete without sprinkles and a healthy dosing of frosting. Beyond that, it’s all relative.

  28. Cookies and creme is one of the best things ever. I love the cupcakes. I love the cookies. I love the ice cream flavor. I love the Hershey’s bar…

    I could keep going if you’d like? 😉

  29. annnnddd this is bookmarked. those look WAY TOO GOOD.

  30. I would of so ate all the leftover filling! Holy relish right here! I love fabulous cupcakes!!!!!

  31. GOD! they look so damn yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment