Wedding Weekend

Happy Monday! I’m still in New Jersey…my trip has extended a little longer than planned due to some sickness issues but I’m feeling A LOT better today.

I arrived Friday afternoon at Penn Station in NYC where my boyfriend picked me up aka help me with my ridiculous amount of luggage for 2 days πŸ™‚ We headed to express because I clearly didn’t bring anything to wear to the rehearsal dinner was being ridiculous and thought I needed another dress.

I ended up with this… I almost didn’t wear it and chose something I brought. Typical. In the end I was rushing to get ready so I ended up telling my boyfriend to choose and threw this one on. I never got a full length picture of the dress on me!

But you guys get the picture…

The rehearsal dinner was at an Italian restaurant in Morristown, NJ called Provesi. They brought out hot and cold antipasto appetizers to start

Followed by a small bowl of penne w/ marinara

and for my main dish I ordered Chicken Marsala which I loved..

Dessert was tiramisu but somehow I missed out on it. Whomp.

Saturday morning we woke up early to grab some breakfast and run last-minute errands. The wedding started at 3 but it was about an hour away and my boyfriend was the best man so he had to be there WAY earlier.

The bride looked SO beautiful. They both looked so calm and relaxed which was nice to see because I could tell they were feeling some last minute stress the night before.

They had their reception at a place called Waterside in Edgewater, NJ. Talk about the perfect view…

The room had a romantic feel and was absolutely gorgeous.

I was also proposed to that night…

by a 5 year old. So cute.

Every detail on the cake was amazing! I somehow missed out on this dessert too. WHO AM I!!?!?!?!

My boyfriend rocked his best man speech…

Proud girlfriend right here πŸ™‚

I loved my rent the runway dress. I will definitely order again!

Someone was sleepy…

We left around 12:30. It was definitely a long but fun day.

Sunday Morning we got up early and headed straight to the one and only Carlo’s Bakery. The line is SO long but since my boyfriend is a Hoboken resident we get to skip it πŸ™‚

We picked up some crumb cakes for mothers day…and a snack or two for ourselves. First one being a lobster tail.

The second being a cupcake…But not just ANY cupcake. A PEANUT BUTTER AND CHOCOLATE CUPCAKE.

To.die.for. and I almost died when I took the first bite out of it and my boyfriend accidentally knocked it out of my hand while riding the public bus onto the floor. I was almost in tears because I could feel my blood sugar crashing and I needed to eat something and now that perfect something was on the floor of an overcrowded dirty bus. Oh well… I got over it pretty quickly and ate the half that didn’t fall on the floor.

We headed to brunch with Adams family at a cute restaurant in Hoboken called Elysian Cafe. I ordered the Cinnamon Amaretto French Toast.

Unfortunately I ended up getting really sick at the restaurant, sweating, shaky and started losing my vision so I had to leave and wasn’t able to eat it. I was so embarrassed but there was nothing else I could do. My boyfriend and his parents brought it home for me and I did split it with him later and it was really good! I now know to never wait so long to eat again. Not pretty!

Since I wasn’t feeling well my boyfriend suggested he make dinner… Was I hearing this correctly? Or was I so ill I was imagining things? Nope..I heard him correctly. He used a recipe from Holly’s recipe pageΒ which was a Buffalo Macaroni & Cheese.

He only made one minor change. But it was a perfect comfort meal for a girl who wasn’t feeling so hot.

Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese

slightlyΒ adapted from Holly

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of chicken breasts, chopped into 1 inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup buffalo sauce
  • 2 cups broccoli, frozen
  • 1 box of velveeta macaroni and cheese
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 2/3 cup mexican four cheese, shredded
Directions
  • Spray your skillet with Olive Oil non stick cooking spray and on another burner start boiling your water for Macaroni and cheese.
  • Add chicken to skillet and cook fully for about 6-8 minutes.
  • Add 1/2 cup buffalo sauce and 2 cups of broccoli to chicken and let simmer for 5 minutes.
  • Drain your macaroni once fully cooked and add cheese sauce. Mix well
  • Combine chicken mixture with Mac & Cheese.
  • Pour into a casserole baking dish and top with breadcrumbs and then cheese.
  • Place under broiler for 5 minutes or until cheese is melted
  • Serve warm
SO SO good. I love Macaroni and Cheese and I adore buffalo sauce so this really was the perfect combination for me.
I should add that he also did the dishes… He’s slowly learning πŸ˜‰
He should be home any minute now so I should get up and pretend I did something today. See you guys tomorrow!

QUESTIONS: What is your favorite comfort meal? Mac and Cheese for me! What is your favorite part about a wedding? I like to look at the groom when the bride is walking down the aisle πŸ˜‰

33 Responses to “Wedding Weekend”

  1. All the wedding photos are so gorgeous, especially that cake! I love the dress you wore too! Lookin’ great, girl!

  2. I looove the rent the runway dress! I love browsing through there, but i’ve never tried it! I will have to! I’m going to my first out of 4 wedding weekends this coming weekend and your post got me excited! i may need to scope out a similar dress for one of my other weddings πŸ™‚

  3. Yay!! So glad you liked it. πŸ™‚
    Hope you continue to get better- sucks that happened 😦
    The wedding looks gorgeous- I LOVE that cake- soooo pretty!!
    And both of your dresses are beautiful!! I’m actually going to check express online- I like it so much! πŸ™‚

  4. I love your Express dress!! It’s too cute. Wow what a beautiful wedding and I adore the dress you rented, it looks amazing on you. You are gorgeous πŸ™‚

  5. There is so much going on in this post that I love!! The dresses, the wedding photos, the fact that your boyfriend cooked and cleaned for you…! πŸ˜€ It looks like you had a great weekend and I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  6. Oh how I love mac n cheese. I may just have to indulge in some very sooon (as in tonight)

    Fave part of the wedding is the checking out the decor/venue/dresses πŸ˜‰

  7. I have THREE weddings this summer and need dresses!! I bought one from forever21 but it was WAAY too short. Its a family wedding, I just would have felt too uncomfortable. I really liked it though 😦

  8. You had quite the busy weekend! I think you both looked gorgeous at the wedding! Glad you are feeling better

  9. What a beautiful wedding! And I totally get the having to buy a dress thing! πŸ™‚ I am SO JEALOUS you got to go to Carlo’s Bakery. So jealous, I’m practically green!!!! You are so lucky! πŸ™‚

  10. hope you’re feeling better πŸ™‚
    1.) that wedding cake is so freaking gorgey
    2.) bUFFALO MAC and Cheese nommmmmmmmmmmmm

  11. CARLO’S BAKERY!!!!! Oh my goodness, I love watching them on that show!!!

  12. You rocked that dress!!
    I am such a fan if buffalo sauce – and mac & cheese screams comfort food to me, so I think I’d love this!

  13. love the picture of you two on the floor. Classic πŸ™‚
    And you looked gorgeous! I need to rent that dress for something!

  14. my fav comfort meal is probably udon. & my fav part of weddings is the same as yours! i love that look of pure love, adoration, and wow that the groom gets when he sees his bride for the first time in her dress!
    ps – i HATE it if the couple smashes the cake in each other’s faces!
    hope you’re feeling better!

  15. I think I have to agree with the mac and cheese!! I really can’t think of a better comfort food!

  16. Oh, I love weddings! I haven’t been to one in a while, but I love to see everyone else’s πŸ™‚

  17. I have no idea of what my current comfort meal is…probably a grilled cheese or a fried egg sandwich.

    I absolutely love watching the groom! It’s just the sweetest thing, really.

    p.s. Your Rent the Runway dress was gorgeous! Love-love-love.

  18. So sorry you got sick! We will definitely reschedule though πŸ™‚

    Love that dress. I’ve heard of rent the runway but haven’t bought anything yet. I’ll definitely look into it!

  19. Chicken Marsala is my favorite chicken dish! πŸ™‚ good choice! P.S. you look so tan! Do you use lotion? whats the secret! LOL, my favorite comfort food is probably my mom’s avgolemono soup its a greek soup, so hearty and delicious!

  20. CUTE Express dress and GORGEOUS Rent the Runway dress! You looked stunning in both!

    I would have cried over the cupcake situation too, especially since it was a peanut butter-chocolate cupcake! I’m glad you were able to enjoy half of it though. πŸ™‚

    Adam was so sweet to make you macaroni and cheese! It’s definitely my favorite comfort food (followed very closely by cheese enchiladas and grilled cheese (see a theme here?!).

    I hope you’re feeling MUCH better! xoxoxo

  21. okay wow! first of all, your eats from the weekend look incredible! its totally okay that you missed the wedding dessert because the fact that you got to go to carlo’s is AMAZING! i totally want to go there soon!!! and i felt your pain when the cupcake fell, literally! secondly, my heart got so excited when you said you got proposed to, and then i scrolled down do see the ADORABLE fiance ; ) haha looks like you had an awesome weekend girl!

  22. Loved your dress! πŸ™‚

    My fav comfort food is mashed potatoes. Makes me think of Thanksgiving and cold weather.

  23. What an awesome wedding, I can’t get over that cake! And you look gorgeous, I love both the dresses!

  24. Aww looks like a fun weekend….sorry you weren’t feeling well towards the end though! I always seem to miss out on the cake at weddings too! IT goes so fast!
    Love both dresses!! Very cute!

  25. YEAH for NJ! I grew up in Medford, not too far from Morristown!

  26. theres so many good eats in this post I don’t know which one to mention first. So I’m just gonna say you looked DIVINE at the wedding…AND I WANT THAT CUPCAKE! haha always gotta shout out to the chocolate pb

  27. sorry to hear about you getting sick!!! you looked fantastic in that dress!! loved it!

  28. You look beautiful! Hope youre feeling better today. That recipe is going on my ‘Must Cook’ note. Not only does your man cook for you, but the dishes too?! You’ve got a winner there lady.

  29. I have to say I am sad I MISSED out on meeting you but am so happy the wedding was so fun!!! You had a fab weekend I see , minus the getting sick part : p I love the dress you wore for the wedding! so pretty! Rent the runway has great dresses!!!

    I hope you are feeling better today love!!! xoxo ❀

  30. uh, my favorite part of the wedding is… the cake. Which I can’t believe you missed! But I “forgive” you because of the cupcake later on haha. Looks like a fun trip!

  31. What a fun and busy weekend! I also love watching the groom’s face. It always makes me cry.

    And mac ‘n cheese all the way!!

    Hope you’re feeling better!!

  32. Oh my gosh, oh my gosh! First of all, you are SO cute! I love both dresses!!! Weddings are usually a blast! Fun stuff.

    Second, the PB Cupcakes and the monster french toast- woah. DELISH!

    Must. Make. Buffalo mac ‘n cheese. Must.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

