I scream, You scream..

We all scream for Ice Cream! I screamed after I successfully made my first Dairy-Free Ice Cream 🙂 My employers received an Ice Cream maker when they got married 8 years ago and have NEVER used it. I can’t believe they hadn’t even attempted one recipe from the manual when they first got it…So i took it upon myself to break it in. I was having very important guests over for dinner (My mom and Grandma) and thought they would be the perfect guinea pigs.

It started out with this… Side Note: I also did some research and found that these are relatively cheap – I definitely recommend shelling out the $45 for one.

S’mores Dairy Free Vegan Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 1 cup original coconut milk
  • 2 cup original soy milk
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 6 packets of stevia
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 3/8 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1 cup of crushed vegan graham crackers
  • 3/4 cup of vegan chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup of ricemellow creme

Directions

  • Place soy milk, coconut milk and stevia in a saucepan on Medium High heat until boiling.

  • Pour mixture into blender and add vanilla, xanthan gum and sea salt. (Be careful this will be very hot)
  • Blend for about 1 minute.
  • Pour into a covered bowl and chill in refrigerator
  • Add the mixture into frozen ice cream bowl.
  • Churn in Ice Cream maker for 20 minutes.

  • Add chocolate chips and crushed graham crackers – Let it churn for 5 more minutes.
  • Spoon in ricemellow creme.

  • Transfer to an airtight container and place saran wrap over top of ice cream so ice crystals wont form.
  • Freeze for an hour and a half

Mine had been sitting out a while when I finally snapped the picture. The consistency was great considering it was dairy free.

I stuck our ice cream in between graham crackers to make a smoreswich.

DEEEEEELICIOUS.

I have a lot of this left… I haven’t decided if that’s a good thing or a bad thing yet.

I feel ridiculous for saying this but it was a BEAUTIFUL day… 51 degrees out! It’s funny how our bodies adjust to the cold weather. When it was fall and 51 degrees I was completely bundled up. Now, I’m wearing my new workout capri pants, a long sleeve t-shirt and rolling down the windows like it’s in the 80s. Loving the new pants from target by the way…

Very comfy. It was a great day to run outside… So i did just that! 2 1/2 miles… and then did a 20 minute Jackie Warner video on demand.

Do any of you own the Reebok easy tone shoes? I wore mine yesterday and I definitely feel a difference in my legs today. I don’t have the opportunity to wear them for an entire day often but when I do, I love it!

and they’re orange…it doesn’t get much better than that 🙂

Meals for the day were a breakfast sammy

Egg whites w/ spinach, 2 pieces of candian bacon and organic light cheddar cheese melted on a whole wheat bagel thin. I haven’t had a breakfast sandwich in a while but Sophia had me craving one with her post!

Lunch was the last pumpkin enchilada 😦 I snacked on a protein granola bar, blueberries & some cinnamon almonds throughout the day.

Dinner was a Stacked Vegetable Lasagna that I prepared after my run. I had never made a lasagna without noodles so I was worried this wouldn’t turn out… I should stop doubting myself – it turned out perfect!

Stacked Vegetable Lasagna

Ingredients

  • 1 whole cauliflower trimmed and sliced through the diameter in thin slices
  • 1 whole eggplant trimmed and sliced lengthwise in thin slices
  • 2 medium zucchini trimmed and sliced lengthwise in thin slices
  • 4 large good quality high flavor tomatoes heirloom sliced into thick slices
  • 1 medium purple onion sliced and separated into rings
  • 3 Portobello mushrooms brushed clean and stems removed
  • 3 cups sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups low-fat mozzarella shredded
  • Sea salt to taste
  • Black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Prepare lasagna dish by coating with light olive oil.
Arrange cauliflower on bottom of lasagna dish.

Arrange eggplant on top of cauliflower

and mushrooms on top of this. Distribute half of the onion rings on top of mushrooms.

Next add the zucchini slices.

Arrange tomatoes slices on top of this.

Pour sauce over top. Add pinch of sea salt and pepper. Repeat layering process ending with tomatoes. Sprinkle one cup of mozz on top and remainder sauce over cheese. Bake for 60 min until hot and bubbly.

Place the rest of the cheese on top and place under broiler for 10 min.

Let sit for 10 to 15 min before cutting. (Notice my pretty lasagna dish 🙂 )

I loved all of the flavors combined together and it was ALL veggies so we had plenty of room for dessert 🙂

I may have had more dessert than lasagna… It’s cool though.

Today the girls aren’t feeling well so we are going to lounge around and watch movies! We are expecting more snow later – Yipee! If it doesn’t hit by 6 I’ll be attending Happy Hour with some girlfriends 🙂 Hope everyone is having a great Thursday – it’s almost the weekend!

30 Responses to “I scream, You scream..”

  1. Ice cream is my favorite dessert ever and your recipe IM SURE would not disappoint! You are quite the culinary genius!!!

  2. Hi there! I gotta admit, I’ve become quite fascinated by your cooking & writing talent. You’re doing a fantabulous job!

  3. S’mores ice cream is absolutely brilliant and the sandwich made me very jealous and very tempted to start drooling all over my laptop.

    I always look around around for a good veggie lasagna recipe and yours looks so simple and delicious. Love the step-by-step layering!

  4. Yay for dairy free icecream! 🙂

  5. I really want an ice cream maker! Yours looks yummy :).

  6. That ice cream looks (and sounds) so freaking good! Now you have me thinking about getting an ice cream maker! 🙂

  7. I have been wanting an ice cream maker for soooo long, but we just dont have any room for it right now! We are moving in march though, so I plan on going out on moving day and buying one! haha new place=more storage=more stuff for me to buy 🙂

  8. Stacked Vegetable Lasagna???? YES PLEASE!!!

  9. For being dairy-free, that ice cream looks pretty dang delicious! Yay for breakfast sandwiches! 🙂 Love lasagna too, yours looks so healthy! I would kill for 50-degree weather right now…it’s going to drop to the teens tonight in Chicago. Yuck!

  10. Of course you made my favorite flavor of ice cream! Love smores! Have you ever had Rita’s Ice? Their smores flavor is da bomb!

    I’ve never tried the Easy Tone shoes. Some of my coworkers wear those all day long.

    We got dumped on with snow today too, have a great weekend!

  11. I love your header btw. And I actually giggled while looking at your ice cream! Like I want some haha. It actually made me laugh at how good it looked! lol It was funny

    I just showed my Dad your lasagna bc we make a white one very similar but with ricotta cheese instead of sauce. Looks amazing though! Anddd I love your blog! I want a pair of those reboks!

  12. Your ice cream creation sounds so good! I pot for dairy free whenever I can.

    Confession – we got an old ice cream maker (hand crank) for our wedding over 2 years ago and have yet to use it.

  13. How funny I actually made ice cream yesterday with my boyfriend!

    Protein Ice Cream

    we love our cuisinart 😀

  14. I LOVE LASAGNA, looks like it was lasagna week this week lol 🙂 Also your shoes are really cute! keep up with those running workout girlie 🙂

  15. Hey Alyssa! That vegetable lasagna looks amazing – a good way to get in all those veggie servings!

    I got an ice cream maker as a wedding gift and have only used it twice, which is ironic because I LOVE ice cream. Your non-dairy recipe looks divine. I’m inspired to bust out my maker from the freezer now!

  16. The lasagna and ice cream were fabulous! Happy to be the guinea pig anytime!!

  17. that ice cream looks awesome! I havent used my ice cream maker in awhile but I cant wait to try this one!

  18. I think I have those same pants. I actually think they were from Target too!

  19. Love this! Question though: what kind of stevia exactly did you use for this?
    Thanks so much!

  20. I saw this ice cream on ohsheglows and just HAD to check it out! It looks delicious! I have all the ingredients…what am I waiting for!?!?

Trackbacks

Leave a comment