Pumpkin Picking and Cream Cheese

Yesterday we got up early and were ready to pick some big ole punkins!! Side note: my mom and my aunts call me punkin 🙂

Adam is such a good sport – not only did he go pumpkin/apple picking during football – but he also lugged this 40 pound pumpkin around the entire farm. It’s huge – and I love it! Even though there was no shortage of pumpkins to pick from, I feel like I found the vintage looking pumpkin I was searching for.

The farm also offered apple picking which I was excited for! I planned our entire menu for the week around them…

Unfortunately there was a shortage of these… Most of the apples were on the ground.

We did find a few usable Macintosh apples

But left with a lot less than expected.

I can still make a couple of the recipes though so it wasn’t a total disappointment.

Before we left for our farm adventure I made us a breakfast that would keep us fueled. Remember the bread I posted about Saturday? I took it out of the package to find this….

Bummmer… All the tops were broken off.  But I was not about to let that ruin my breakfast!

I whipped up some Pumpkin Cream Cheese and toasted the topless slices with this deliciousness.

It was extremely simple and tasted like Fall.

Pumpkin Pie Cream Cheese (Vegan or Regular)

Ingredients

  •  8 oz dairy free or regular cream cheese (i used this is not a tub of cream cheese from Trader Joe’s)
  • HEAPING 1/2 cup of pure pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • drizzle of agave nectar
Directions
  • Beat everything with mixer until combined
  • Spread on desired item (pumpkin swirl bread is amazing) or eat with your finger. I don’t judge.

Now I need to get back to those apples… Recipe for spaghetti squash lasagna will be tomorrow 🙂

QUESTIONS: What would you make with a bunch of apples? I have a lot of dinner recipes planned, but no dessert. Shocking, I know.

27 Responses to “Pumpkin Picking and Cream Cheese”

  1. pumpkin cream cheese.. yum! My roommate & I want to go apple picking but we can’t find a time that works for both of us. =(

  2. Applecrisp! it’s my hubby’s fave and oh so easy and satisfying 🙂

  3. Yay! Can’t wait for the recipe tomorrow. & thanks for the review of the bread 😉 I definitely need to pick some up now.

  4. Oh the pumpkin patch is so fun! I can’t wait to go to one soon!

    The pumpkin cream cheese looks amazing!

  5. mmmmm…. pumpkiny goodness. And Adam is a very sweet boyfriend, missing football for you 🙂

  6. I’d love to hear your dinner recipes cause all I got are baking recipes!
    Apple crisp, apple pie, pumpkin apple streusal muffins, apple cake…LOL

  7. Last year we went to the pumpkin patch and I LOVED it! Not sure if I’ll be making it out this time around… 😦

  8. Apple crisp, crumble, or cobbler. probably my three favorite words that begin with a C!

  9. That’s too funny you posted this – My family calls me Punkin, too because I was born on Halloween! 🙂

  10. I would make apple cake with cream cheese frosting! So good! or lots and lots of oatmeal with apples cooked into it! yum. apple recipes are pretty much my favorite!

  11. I would definitely make apple crisp–it’s one of my favorite desserts!

  12. That pumpkin pie cream cheese recipe looks great! I’ve never been pumpkin picking but the patch is so cute!

  13. i would hollow them out and bake oatmeal instide of them like inside out crisps! or oatmeal in edible bowls! 🙂

  14. I have never been apple picking but that is awesome. I baked some apples the other day 🙂

  15. I’ve never made my own pumpkin cream cheese before. I’m going to have to try your recipe. It looks delicious! 🙂 I love going apple picking. It’s so fun! You should make an apple crisp. They are pretty easy to make.

  16. Applecrisp is a pretty easy apple recipe, or Stonyfield has a delicious apple oatmeal quick bread recipe – mmmm.

  17. Pumpkin cream cheese! That is one of the best parts of fall, forreal.

  18. Macintosh apples are the best for apple crisp, definitely my favorite apple recipe!

  19. I really hope to visit a pumpkin patch soon. They always bring me back to my youth!

    I like apple pie, but I usually use green apples for that. Perhaps an apple cake would be good.

  20. Make Apple Crisp – Its delish!

  21. baked spiced apples OR apple buckle! UGH, so good!

  22. Hahaha is it really called “This is not a tub of cream cheese”?? That’s hilarious. And that looks SUPER Tasty!

  23. I would agree with a lot of people here and say apple crisp! It is a truly favorite dessert of mine 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a comment