Egg-citing Friday!

Happy Friday!!!! I am enjoying an unexpected paid day off 🙂 No better way to start your weekend then with that type of news!

Sunrise

I made myself a quick breakfast…

Cinnamon Raisin Bagel Thin w/ PB and 1/2 a banana on one side, Sugar Free Strawberry Preserves on the other and Chia seeds sprinkled all over top. I love the added crunch!

I’ve already thrown dinner in the crock pot…

BBQ Pulled Pork sandwiches (forgot about the whole no meat thing on Fridays)

Prepared a smaller (healthier) version of my Overnight French Toast Casserole for tomorrows breakfast…

It’s layered 3 times…Think that’s enough for two people!? 😉

and made some “Reese’s” easter eggs…

um, hello peanut butter and chocolate =)

Speaking of Reese’s Eggs WHY do they taste so much better than the cups?? Is it because there are no ripples? more peanut butter? or am i being tricked to overeating them because it’s Easter and on Easter you eat candy…right? Either way, they are my absolute FAVORITE Easter candy.

This morning the radio station was talking about What your favorite easter candy says about you… Reese’s wasn’t one of them but I guess it could be counted as the last one? Here is their list.

Jelly Beans:  You are a kid at heart.  You have to dig deep thru an Easter basket to get them, you big kid!!

Peeps:  You always hope for the best.  A never say die optimism.

Chocolate Bunny:   Fans of these guys, maternal feelings run very high.

Cream Eggs: You are a deep thinker, maybe because you have to dig in there to scoop out the cream.  YUM!

They also had some Easter facts I thought you might be interested in..

How do people eat their Chocolate bunny? 74% Start at the bunnies ears, 13% the feet and 10% go for the chocolate bunnies eyes. 90 Million bunnies are made for Easter every year.

Jellybeans didn’t become an Easter tradition until the 1930′s.  Kids say their favorite jellybean is cherry.  Young girls are more apt to eat jellybeans by the handfuls!

More than 50% of kids get up before or at dawn to check out their Easter baskets.

Favorite Easter tradition: the sunrise at church, followed by..Easter egg hunt, and coloring eggs.

I still get up before dawn to check out my easter basket. I’m a kid at heart 🙂 Even if my favorite easter candy isn’t jellybeans!

Yesterday the girls I nanny for gave me an Easter basket filled with my favorite things – Reeses, Cadburry mini eggs, Lindt hollow bunny, godiva chocolates, a headband we saw in the store the day before (how cute?) and a $50 gift certificate to a new store in the mall. They spoil me! I don’t hate it.

I also brought them Easter baskets filled with toys and planned an Easter Egg hunt…It was a good day 🙂

I was going to wait to post the Reese’s egg recipe until I made my Egg Shaped Funfetti Cake but I’m not a tease – No matter what my friends think 😉

(I was presented with the tease mask at the bachelorette party this past weekend)

So here it is! You can thank me later… Actually, thank me now – you might hate me later when your pants are tight. Kinda like mine. Right now.

PB & Chocolate Shaped Eggs

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of Peanut butter
  • 1 (16 oz) bag of powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • Unsweetened Almond Milk (for consistency – i used about 2 tbsp)
  • Chocolate for dipping (I used Wilton’s)
Directions
  • Mix everything in bowl ( I suggest doing this with your hands!)
  • Scoop with an ice cream scooper and shape into eggs
  • Freeze for an hour
  • Melt your desired color of chocolates and dip each egg into them.
  • Sprinkle immediately
  • Let chocolate harden in fridge
These are for Sunday’s family party but I may have taste tested 1 or 2…or 4. I had to try every color. Clearly. They are GOOD. Make these for your family – They will love you forever.
I’m picking up my boyfriend in about 6 hours and I’m VERY excited. We haven’t seen each other since Key West. Ugh yeah, that’s 7 weeks! Our plans include dyeing easter eggs ( he doesn’t know about this one yet ), hiking at Great Falls, trying out a new Vegan restaurant in DC, maybe an O’s and Yankees game if the rain holds off and of course church and slipping into food coma’s on Sunday!
OK, time for a big veggie lunch so I don’t feel so guilty for eating my weight in PB eggs today. Have a wonderful weekend with your loved ones!
3 cups of romaine lettuce, 1/4 cup black beans, 1/4 cup white corn, 1/4 of an avocado, 5 flax tortilla chips crushed, 4 grape tomatoes halved and a drizzle of enchilada sauce.

QUESTIONS: What are your plans for Easter? What is your favorite Easter Candy? Do you make anything for your family? Feel free to share the link!

40 Responses to “Egg-citing Friday!”

  1. 😦 hate this rain! it ruins everything! let me know if you want me to grab your address so you can get a package in the mail! that always brightens my day!!! FB it to me!

  2. I will not make those peanut butter eggs…. too hard to resist!!! lol Have a great Easter!!! I am going to a Milwaukee Brewer game on Easter with a bunch of family, normally we do a big dinner but this year it was so late in the month we switched it up. I am making someone to bring for our tailgate party…. not sure what yet… possibly homemade salsa.

  3. I could never ever ever make these because I would eat every single one. They’d never stand a chance.

    And you are in fact correct- peanut butter eggs > peanut butter cups
    Happy Easter friend 🙂

  4. Jesus your posts always leave me so hungry for pb and chocolate!! I love your shaped eggs! I’ve never had Reeses pb eggs before 😦

  5. I am so in love with this post — it brought a huge smile to my face.

    As for the candy..of those listed, I’m jelly beans. I bought 3 bags just for myself this year and I mean, no sharing! I do the same with candy corn around Halloween and candy hearts on V-day 🙂

  6. What a neat post! Since it is Easter, why not have fun with Art for the entire family? Check this out : http://segmation.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/exciting-easter-eggcitement-art-crafts-www-segmation-com/ and thanks for allowing my comment.

  7. Thank god you posted that Easter egg recipe…I was beginning to wonder. The girls got you a pretty sweet basket! I never woke up at dawn to check my basket, but I always woke up at like 3 am for Christmas.

    For me, Sunday will involve a fancy brunch buffet with a chocolate fountain!! I’m pumped about it!

  8. Talk about a super healthy lunch! Totally cancels out the millions of pb eggs you probably ate today! 🙂 Reese eggs truly do taste SO much better then the regular reeses!!! I don’t know how they do it! haha and I totally wake up at the crack of dawn for easter (still!) too. Gotta get me those peeps Asap!! haha andd I love that most of the world eats their bunnies starting at the ears too, thats totally me!

  9. Yum! I am not too sure if I will be doing the traditional thing this Easter or breaking out from the usual to hang out with my bro and sis in law.

  10. I watched an episode of “Unwrapped” that had the holiday Reese’s featured on there. They are actually made in a completely different factory than normal Reese’s! They have whole factories dedicated to making the pumpkins, easter eggs, etc.. all year long! They also use about 1/3 more pb than the normal ones. That’s why they’re so darn delicious 🙂 Just thought you might wanna know!
    And your easter eggs look yum! Are they better tasting than Reese’s?

  11. Great minds think alike, I’m making your French toast casserole for breakfast tomorrow 🙂

  12. I love the Peanut Butter easter eggs way better than the cups… I know they are way worse for me, too. Thank goodness they only come out during the holidays. Cadbury mini eggs are my absolute favorite easter candy. Me and my daughter stock up while they are on sale 🙂 DId you get a Charming Charlie’s gift card?? That is one of my favorite stores. I could get lost in there.

  13. YUM, my mom and I were actually just talking about reeses pb eggs today. They used to be my favorite too!! 🙂

  14. We are like the same person! I love Reese’s eggs!! The choc to PB ratio is PERFECTION 🙂
    I want your reeses eggs though! The ingredient list looks a lot better and I can make a batch just for myself 😉

  15. I like to make my family vegan treats to introduce them to new things. I always bake them more decadent things than I eat myself because they have “normal” sweet tooths while I eat my food plain!

  16. I think Reese’s eggs taste so much better because there is a bigger peanut butter to chocolate ratio 🙂

  17. I love cadbury creme eggs – guess tha tmeans I’m a deep thinker?? 🙂

  18. I love cadbury creme eggs – guess that means I’m a deep thinker?? 🙂

  19. I love these eggs, so cute! My favorite candy is peeps. I never knew it had a special meaning though 🙂

  20. easter is a time for CHOCOLATE in my family!!! we are big chocolate lovers and as soon as lent is over, the goodies come out! although [they were never out of the question for me being that chocolate would be impossible to give up]. this easter im making these sinfully delicious homemade brownies for everyone!! http://innerpeacehealthytreatsrunningfeet.blogspot.com/2011/03/warning.html

  21. Those eggs look RIDICULOUSLY good. YUM!!

  22. Those PB eggs you made look amazing!!! I want some now!

    love reese’s eggs and cadbury eggs!!! I was craving a deep fried cadbury egg yesterday ; )

    Happy Easter love!!!! xoxo

  23. My favorite Easter candy would be Reese’s Eggs and ironically, I did a homemade batch this year as well…Um, unholy? I absolutely LOVED them. I highly recommend freezing them – you won’t be disappointed! Have a wonderful Easter!

  24. heya! I come from the land of Cadbury’s so I gotta say that cream eggs remind me of happy childhood days 🙂 nowadays I like dark lindt with sea salt…..mmmm!

  25. I thought I was crazy to think that the easter eggs reeses taste better. But they TOTALLY do. I’m def bookmarking this recipe cause I will need to resort to it pretty soon.

    Have fun with your boy this weekend! 🙂

  26. Cadbury mini eggs = more addicting than crack.
    Peanut butter eggs = they DO taste way better than the cups.
    Jelly beans = I still eat by the handful
    Peeps = better stale!!!

    I love this post! So great. I can’t wait to try making my own peanut butter eggs! Enjoy the weekend/holiday with your boyfriend. 7 weeks is a long freaking time!!!

  27. An unexpected day off? Paid? Why yes, I’ll take a few of those please!

    Happy Easter…hope your long weekend is going fabulously!

  28. Reece’s peanut butter eggs are BY FAR my favorite Easter candy! Followed by Peeps. When I was little, it was the other way around. 🙂 I’ve never been able to eat chocolate bunnies because I feel bad about biting off their body parts! Seriously! I prefer to admire their chocolatey cuteness. 🙂

    Aren’t the perks of nannying wonderful?! Love the goodies you received! What new store is the gift certificate for?

    Your peanut butter eggs look heavenly! I wouldn’t be able to stop at just one either!

    HAPPY EASTER!! xoxo

  29. omg, i LOVE the Easter facts & homemade “reeses” PB eggs! Yum!

  30. Jane told me about your blog–love it! And I can’t believe you’ve gotten Adam to a vegan restaurant. way to go 🙂

  31. Those facts are so fun & your baked goods/treats are always so colorful and pretty. My favorite easter candy is definitely dark chocolate PB eggs.

  32. What a fun post – I love the Easter facts! And those PB eggs are SO CUTE!!! 😀
    I made Katie’s Hot Cocoa Fudge Babies yesterday! They were delicious!
    My favorite Easter candy is definitely Reese’s eggs. You just can’t go wrong with PB and chocolate 😀
    I hope you had a wonderful Easter!!

  33. Happy Belated Easter friend!! Those homemade PB eggs look incredible! I agree that the eggs taste better than the cups! Why oh why? lol The world may never know…but they are insanely delish! Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  34. You are a genius! These look DELICIOUS! 🙂 I will have to try making these for sure!

  35. While the PB eggs look beautifu/incredible…they taste EVEN BETTER!

  36. What a cute Easter dessert!! The girls look adorable with their Easter baskets! I spent the day with my wonderful family. So nice and relaxing!!

  37. I hope you & the boyfriend had a great weekend!!
    I LOVE peanut butter eggs– so true that they DO taste the best out of all of the Reese’s 🙂
    I LOVE Cadbury eggs too..best part is that now they are on sale! woop woop! I just picked some up..since we didn’t have any for Easter. Figured I had to get at least one this year 🙂

  38. Reese’s eggs are my fave! I need to try this recipe! OMG!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment